12 days down, 354 to go! So far, still sane (I think).

So, just under two weeks ago I posted a blog about my New Year’s resolutions, in which I listed 12 goals which, when combined, show me to be an overly optimistic and stupidly ambitious silly person. So, 12 days into the year (okay, I didn’t mean the last 12, that was just a coincidence I swear), how am I going? Because let’s face it, if I’m not on track already, I could be in trouble…

Actually, overall I’m going okay. Some goals, like the writing groups and paying off my debt, are hard to measure or won’t really be important until later in the year. But the measureable goals I have, for the most part, made a start on. Here are some tidbits on some of those goals:

Reading Goals: To read 50 books this year

So far, I am on track for this goal. I have finished two books so far this year, Spike Milligan’s interpretation of Frankenstein (it was quite short, to be fair), and For One More Day by Mitch Albom. Milligan’s book was as ridiculous as you would expect, but roaringly funny the whole way through, and perhaps one of the more entertaining retold stories he wrote (he rewrote many classics for a laugh). Mitch Albom’s book was much like his other books, with the same melancholy vibe as Tuesdays With Morrie and The Five People You Meet In Heaven, but also with that uplifting view of life that shines through the many cracks of the characters and story.

I am very close to finishing a book about the art world by Steve Martin (no, really – he knows a lot about the art world, actually), called An Object of Beauty, and am also nearing the end of Stardust by Neil Gaiman and Hemingway’s Chair by Michael Palin. All of these I will likely finish in the next week, which would push me a couple of books ahead of schedule, which would be nice.

Viewing Goals: To watch 100 films this year

On track with this goal, too, as I am currently sitting on 4 films so far this year. I started the year with watching an older Simon Pegg film, How To Lose Friends and Alienate People, which was fairly classic Pegg, though perhaps not my favourite film of his. This was followed a couple of days later by seeing the film The Iron Lady, about Margaret Thatcher, which was a brilliant film, in particular Meryl Streep’s fantastic portrayal of Thatcher, not to mention being interesting for me as that was the period of England I was born into (and which I left as it ended, at the young age of 4). Earlier this week I watched the football hooligan film Awaydays, which was a lot better than I expected it to be, and has only just been released in Australia now, 2 years after it’s initial release. Finally, over the last two days I watched Scorsese’s epic documentary film, George Harrison: Living In The Material World, an amazing 2 part, over 3 hour long film using unrivalled and in some cases never before seen footage and interviews to cover his entire life, both musical and personal, and I must confess this just blew me away (to be fair, The Beatles are one of my favourite bands).

I have many more films I plan on watching in the next couple of weeks, so hopefully I can push ahead on this goal too.

Health Goals: To become healthier, fitter, and eat better foods

Okay, this goal is a bit hit and miss so far. I haven’t been running and going to the gym as much as I should be, but I have been going a little, so the ball is rolling I suppose. I have been trying to eat better, however, keeping a lot of junk food out of the house, keeping a lot more healthy food in the house, trying to cook with fresher foods. I have also been experimenting with different recipes, with varying levels of success. Tonight I created an awesome spinach based pasta meal which was actually a lot tastier than it sounds and looked (and someone else tasted the meal to verify this)! So I have a way to go on this goal, but I am slowly making the changes.

Writing Goals: To write (among other things) 12 novellas

Okay, this goal has hit a brick wall. It’s not writer’s block (personally I don’t like that phrase – I don’t believe it really exists). The problem is that I don’t like the story of my first novella, and I especially hate my protagonist. I was attempting to write a comedy, but it is easily the least funniest thing I have ever written. So I have decided, nearly halfway through the month, to scrap this first novella and start over – and still try and finish before the end of January. Am I completely insane? What in the world am I going to write about now? Any ideas for something I could write a comedy novella about in about 18 days would be greatly appreciated!

 

And that’s it so far. I am mostly on track with my goals, though more with some than others. But this is the easy part of the year – the true tests will come later in the year when I become busier with work and other areas of my life. But for now, I’m on track, and I’m loving 2012 so far! Bring on the remaining 354 days!

2 thoughts on “12 days down, 354 to go! So far, still sane (I think).

  1. Please please please write a novella with a carnie protagonist… Could be a comedy or a tragedy or for that matter, a Sci Fi…
    Sounds like you have made a great start…. I’ll send you some details on a new walking/talking group which is beginning next week in our area…. For all like minded people,which i suppose to some degree, is everybody.

What do you think?

