30 Day Book Challenge Day 2 – A Book I’ve Read More Than 3 Times

The second challenge of the 30 Day Book Challenge is to find a book I’ve read more than 3 times. Now I must confess, I am not the sort of reader who tends to reread books all that often. I know some people who love their favourite books and read them time and time again, and while I don’t have any problems with that, it’s just not for me. I think this could just be because I buy books so much faster than I read them that I constantly have this backlog of books that I feel guilty about having not read yet, and so if I try to reread a book, I eventually am distracted by something I haven’t read yet.

However, of course, there are a couple of exceptions to this rule. The one which comes to mind first and foremost is The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams, which I think I have read through fully either 3 or 4 times now (I can’t quite remember). I have probably also read through the first couple of sequels to this a couple of times as well, though the later parts in the series, not so much. For anybody who hasn’t read this at some point in the last few decades, whether it be because you don’t think you’d like his sense of humour, you’re not a sci-fi fan, or you’ve seen the movie (never be put off from a book by its film adaptation, we all know the books are always, always better), I strongly recommend you sit down and read this, its four sequels, and the other books Douglas Adams has written. They are hilarious, deeply insightful, and some of the most intelligent writing ever to grace this Earth (which hasn’t been destroyed, unlike the Earth of THGTTG).

For me, I keep coming back to this book because it just makes me laugh, every time. It is a book I enjoy for escapism, but at the same time it makes me think, and I always come away thinking about the book, struggling to put it out of my mind entirely, which I think is the sign of a powerful book. On top of this, I think Douglas Adams’ style of writing is inimitable. Sure, people try to write like him, and people certainly have similar senses of humour to him, but nobody can tell a story quite like he could. It amazes me to think that he actually disliked writing – he was one of these painful writers who would take all day just to write a couple of sentences, because he’d want it absolutely perfect. No wonder he’s famous for the quote (and I may misquote this) “I love deadlines. I love the whooshing sound they make as they go by…”

6 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge Day 2 – A Book I’ve Read More Than 3 Times

  1. The book I can reread over and over again are Harry Potter series, Angels and Demons by Dan Brown, Veronica decides to die by Paulo Coelho and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen!

    I’ve never read The Hitchhikers guide!

    Kitchen Mixer Reviews

    • Ahhh, I have Veronica Decides to Die on my shelf but haven’t read it yet, but after hearing this, I might move it up a few notches on my “to-read” list. 🙂
      The only Coelho I’ve read so far is The Alchemist (which is probably always the first Coelho book people read).

      • Yup! Alchemist is read by almost everyone! Veronica is like the most amazing model written by Coelho, and you should also read ‘The winner stands alone!’

  2. I love this book! And you addressed my topic about movie books too 🙂 I have the same problem re-reading favorites because I have too many on my list right now. I seriously think I have almost 100 books on a makeshift list inside my head. That’s not including ones for school and suggested by others. AHHH So much to read so little time! I look forward to reading your posts on your reading journey!!

    • Thanks for the comments! Yeah, my backlog of books is ridiculous – about 100 unread on my shelves, plus another 200 on a wishlist that I intend to buy over the next couple of years. If I had more spare time I’d read more, but getting to 50 a year is really a push already…
      I look forward to reading more of your posts too 😀

  3. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge Day 13 – My Favourite Writer | wantoncreation

What do you think?

