Bookish nerdiness

So, as you may have guessed from the general theme of my blogs, I like books. So I thought I’d post a few quick pictures up of my book nerdiness, to show off just because I can, and because I like to share this kind of thing with fellow book nerds and bookworms!

The Great Gatsby Mug

This is my awesome mug based on the Popular Penguin edition of The Great Gatsby, one of my favourite classic novels. I was using this at the school I teach at quite a lot towards the end of last year.

Bookshelf 1

This is one of my bookshelves. As you can see, quite a lot of classic books and anthologies reside on this bookshelf. I’ll award super smartie points to anybody who can actually tell what these books are without zooming in (and more so if you happen to own them). Towards the bottom of the bookshelf are my collection of books on neurology, and a number of books on history, music and other things.

Bookshelf 2

This is my other main bookshelf. This one tends to hold more modern literature. The fantasy books are on the top shelf, comedy is mostly in the middle shelf, history on the second bottom shelf. Again, points to whoever recognises any of these books as being in their own collections!

I have more books and more nerdy bookish things than this, but many of them are away in boxes somewhere. I will dig them out one day soon.

Anyway, that’s all for now! Happy reading/writing/someotherthirdthing. πŸ™‚

23 thoughts on “Bookish nerdiness

  1. Haha love this post! I have books all over my shelves as well, just not as many. But I can’t buy so many books ’cause they don’t fit in my room, though as soon as I move out – wazzaah! Books books everywhere! πŸ˜›
    When I saw that mug I was like, hmmm. I recognise that penguin symbol.. then realised I have the frickin’ book πŸ™‚ And even more important – I haven’t read it yet! So that will be my next book to read, I’ve wanted to read it for so long but’ve managed to forget about it everytime. Thanks for reminding me! πŸ˜€

    • Hahaha, yeah, I used to buy too many books before I moved out, I had piles of them everywhere, it was a nightmare. One of the things I loved most about moving out when I finally did was being able to spread my stuff everywhere! πŸ™‚ I plan to have a private library eventually, but then, you already know this πŸ˜›
      Hooray! Yes, I meant to remind you, because I’m telepathic and knew you needed reminding πŸ˜›

  2. I wish you didn’t restrict it to not zooming in only because there are so many different covers to different books. It is difficult to tell by a faraway glace of the binding. Grr I wanted to guess, but my eyes aren’t good enough! Regardless, I love the post and the pictures. Great Gatsby is also one of my favorites. It was one of the first classic books I read as a budding reader in middle school πŸ™‚

    • Hahahaha oh go on then, zoom in! Hahaha. Turns out the pictures were better quality than I thought actually, if you click on them and then zoom in on the page they pop up on, you can actually make out the title of just about every single book on my shelves. That’s kind of cool. Mind, they are missing a few of my favourite books I have loaned out to friends…oh well.
      That’s cool that you read Great Gatsby so young, I didn’t read it until I was in my early twenties I think?

      • Well, I didn’t understand the details until later, but I knew what a good book was and that was it. I can’t say that for all classics, though. I have a love/hate relationship with many books people swear are amazing and I just don’t see the enjoyment you get out of them. Analysis, yes, but good enjoyable story, not always. I’ll definitely have to check out the picture and comment on the books I see πŸ™‚

        • Yes, I know what you mean! I find I don’t agree with certain books everybody thinks are amazing, and vice versa, and especially in the classics. I have never really been much of a fan of Austen, for example, though so far I don’t mind Dickens (though I haven’t read everything of his yet, so maybe my mind will change). But I like F.Scott Fitzgerald, there is something beautifully melancholy in a lot of his writing that just grabs me.

          • I feel the same. I loathe Wuthering Heights and as much as every girl should love romance stories I hate it! What would provoke a writer to name all the frickin’ characters the same! You need a map just to navigate the first chapter. It’s a terrible idea to confuse the writer consistently throughout the book and never un-confuse them.

            Also, I took a better look at the pictures of your bookshelves. I love the complete collection of Poe. To me, he is one of the best and appropriately rated author of all time. He just does so much for his genre, developing sub-genres, and the craft in general. ❀

            On the second one, I knew you would have LOTR on the top shelf. πŸ™‚ Are you excited for the Hobbit movie? And I was looking at the cool covers of the other fantasy novels. What can you tell me about K. J. Parker? Those books look right up my alley. What are they about does he have different series or just one.

            Furthermore, down on the fourth shelf I see a very interesting Egyptian book. What is that about? I want to add titles to my list πŸ™‚ I also want to ask how difficult it was to get through the Iliad and Odyssey? I assume you've read them cover to cover if they're on the shelf of you bookcase. I have heard they are on many people's lists of books to finish by the end of your life, but are incredibly hard to read.

            Sorry this is so long, I was just very excited to look at your collection πŸ™‚

            • Ahh cool, glad you enjoyed looking at my collection so much! πŸ™‚ I love sharing my joy of books with people!
              I am very excited for the Hobbit movies, though annoyed they are both so far off (the first one isn’t out until the very end of the year). But I think they will be good. K.J.Parker is a really interesting writer, and one shrouded in mystery (not only is the name a pseudonym, but the gender of this writer isn’t revealed in any of the books, or on the websites, which I find kind of interesting – there is apparently something on a French fansite which suggests Parker may be a she, but we just don’t know). Anyway, Parker writes fantasy that keeps to the fantasy settings, such as medieval kingdoms and empires etc, but the characters are very much human, and there is no magic involved in any of the stories. But the writing is quite clever and humourous at times, and the stories are deeply human, and driven by things like love, family, desires, that kind of thing. Day 7 of my book challenge actually looked at one of Parker’s books, Devices and Desires, the first one I read and the first one I would recommend reading. He/she has written three trilogies (Devices is the start of the third one, and probably the best), and has since written three stand alone novels, all of which are awesome too. They tend to put out a book a year as well, very productive writer.
              The egyptian book is the Oxford History of Ancient Egypt, which I bought because I sometimes have to teach Egyptian history, but I only learned Greek and Roman history at uni. A lot of those books on that shelf are also British history, something I never learned at school here in Australia, but which, being a brit myself, I wanted to know about, so I’ve taught myself. The Iliad and The Odyssey I read ages ago at uni, and haven’t reread these editions on my shelf, but yeah, they are quite hard to get through just because, well, they’re 2700 years old πŸ˜› But they are great stories, despite this! If you’re determined, I say give them a read.
              Anyway as you can see I get quite excited about my own books, too πŸ˜›

              • well I will definitely check out K.J. Parker. Your description reminds me of Arthurian stories and I love those! And that’s so interesting that you didn’t get to learn a lot about your own history in Australia of all places. I will definitely have to wait until I have more time to tackle those two classics. Thank you for the book suggestions πŸ™‚

  3. Hi, my name is Sue and I am a book-a-holic! It’s nice to know there are more ‘Book Nerds’ out there, too! I like that your shelves look like mine. I wish I had the space for a real library with all the walls filled with bookshelves. That’s always been a dream of mine. I have too many books that I have bought with every intention of reading when I finally get some time to do so. I am hoping my subbing days will be reduced so I can read – and get more writing done, too. Loved your blog.

    • Hahahhaa, yeah, turns out there’s quite a few book nerds out there, which is one of the nice things I have found in my short time blogging so far.
      I agree, I’d love a library like that, in fact, one day I am determined to have one. But for now, these two bookshelves and the few boxes of books I have elsewhere will have to do.
      I have the same issue with time, there’s at least a quarter of the books in those pictures I haven’t yet read, and I have just had 13 more turn up in the mail these last couple of days (I, erm, get carried away buying books online sometimes). But I will get there slowly, as long as I am continuously reading and writing, that’s my main goal for now.
      Thanks for the comment! πŸ™‚

    • Hahaha, on top of this, I have a few boxes of books elsewhere, plus 13 books turned up in the mail this week, plus I have a wishlist on the site I buy from that is about 200 books long. I think I have an addiction πŸ˜›
      And thank you for the comment too! πŸ™‚

  4. As I stare at it, it looks less and less likely – but is it American Gods, by Neil Gaiman, there, up in the first shelf of your fiction bookcase?
    Got it, lent it, but never read it!
    Hope I get to have big, filled bookcases like you when I move out :P. At the moment they are mostly piled or mixed with my parents’ books – it’s no good, they get jealous of each other.

    • Interesting – no I don’t have American Gods, though that is on my wishlist. I have only just finally started reading Gaiman, starting with Stardust (also not on the shelf because it’s next to my bed). I wonder what book it is then you were looking at? Hrmmm…
      It is a nice feeling to have so many books like that. They are both in my loungeroom – I find it makes the atmosphere more relaxed and cozy. πŸ™‚ Trust me, it was the first thing I did when I moved out, buying those bookcases. They were delivered before my new bed, hahahaha.

      • Now that I’ve looked at my copy, they are veery different indeed (http://goo.gl/iL5G0) – just golden/yellowish bit at the top πŸ™‚
        I’ve never read Stardust (though I should, since I loved the narration in the movie), I started reading Gaiman through Sandman, which was a big surprise because I am not the graphic novel sort of person, but I got hooked – that guy is seriously creative. His short stories are fun too.
        Hahah! Certainly fitting for a English teacher (: My lit teacher was depressed for a month when he moved and his books were, quote, trapped in boxes, unquote, ’till the shelves got installed πŸ˜›

        • Ahhh yep, I can see now.
          I am just about to finish Stardust (might do that right now actually, I only have 20 pages left…who stops reading with 20 pages left? I’m weird), I have quite enjoyed it. I got into him simply because I kept hearing about him, and thought “well, I’ll probably like him, why not,” which is essentially how I have gotten into most authors hahaha. But yes, he has an awesome imagination.
          Oh yeah, I was depressed with my books being in boxes for like a few days. I was more excited about putting my books up than I was about moving in the first place. But yes, I guess it is quite fitting hahaha πŸ˜›

  5. Pingback: Return of the Book Nerd: 13 More Books I Just Bought That You May Want To Read | wantoncreation

    • Hahaha yeah, this is one of my earlier posts, hidden in the depths of…the January archives, I suppose! πŸ˜› But thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed this one. I actually have a second mug like that one now, only for Nineteen Eighty-Four by Orwell. Also, those bookshelves have A LOT more books now, which is scary because this post is only 2 months old.

What do you think?

