30 Day Book Challenge Day 13 – My Favourite Writer

I think I have reached that age, in my mid twenties, where your all time favourite writers and books are pretty well cemented, and are unlikely to change, only to be added upon. I know for me, my favourite book (which isn’t by my favourite author, and so won’t be revealed until Day 30), will probably never change. Back to the topic though, my favourite writer is pretty set in stone for the time being. I have many that could be considered, such as Douglas Adams (who I discussed on Day 2), Carlos Ruiz Zafón (who I discussed on Day 1), Patrick Rothfuss (Day 1 again), and several others, such as P.G.Wodehouse, Oscar Wilde, Roald Dahl (who I discussed yesterday), and so on.

However, my favourite author is one of the only authors where I can proudly say I own all his books. His stories have been set in various places all over the world, and in fact he is somewhat known for his stories abroad. They have often looked at the human condition under various trying times, such as wars and conflicts, love and loss, changing times, politics, and more. Who am I talking about? This guy:

Louis de Bernières

Don’t worry, I was surprised when I first realised what this writer looked like. This is Louis de Bernières, my favourite writer. Don’t be fooled by his appearance, his stories are exciting, hilarious, charming, devastating, and ultimately beautiful and poignant.

He began his novel writing career in1990 with a trilogy of Latin America novels (which I discussed here in a bit more detail), and in 1994 published his most famous novel, Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, a beautiful and funny story set in World War Two, which went on to win The Commonwealth Writers Prize for 1994. Since then he has published numerous short fiction works, as well as the play Sunday Morning at the Centre of the World, before returning to novels with Red Dog in 2001 (which has just been turned into a film), the magnificent World War One set Birds Without Wings in 2004, A Partisan’s Daughter in 2008, set in 1970s London, and Notwithstanding, in 2009, which is a collection of short stories all set around a fictional English village called Notwithstanding.

Louis de BernièresIf you’ve never had the pleasure of reading Louis de Bernières, I would suggest starting with Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, and then going from there. But all his novels are great, and I am eagerly awaiting his next book! Tomorrow I’ll explain which of his books are my favourite, and why.

What’s your favourite author? Have you read all their books? Do you think they’re likely to ever ‘lose’ their position as your favourite author?

5 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge Day 13 – My Favourite Writer

  1. I have heard of ‘Captain Corelli’s Mandolin’ when it came out as a film. I doubt Nicholas Cage & Penelope Cruz did it justice, though. I always like to read the books that movies are based on because they have to be superb for anyone to consider making a movie out of it! I will have to check this one out, too.

    • Ah yes, I haven’t seen the film but I have heard it is pretty bad, especially when compared to the book. I definitely did not imagine Captain Corelli as Nicholas Cage, hahaha.
      It’s an interesting way of liking books, but you have a good point! I can definitely recommend this one, it is a really good book. I have loaned it out to several friends now, and every time it comes back a little more tattered, worn and loved than the last time – all of my friends have loved it as much as I did. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge Day 14 – Favourite Book by my Favourite Writer | wantoncreation

What do you think?

