30 Day Book Challenge Day 29 – A book that makes me cry

There is only one book that has ever made me cry. A couple of books have come close, and have certainly stirred deep emotions within in me and have made me consciously fight to hold back the tears, but only one has left me with that raw sensation of feeling hot tears roll down my face – only one has played with my emotions that much. That one book, I have to admit, is Catch-22 by Joseph Heller.

Catch-22 had only one scene that caused this reaction in me, and it is one of the most stunning, beautiful and heart-breaking scenes ever in literature, so far as I’m concerned. What I am about to tell you doesn’t really spoil the story, because the story shifts back and forth throughout the book anyway. It is revealed quite early on in the book that a character called Snowden has died, and that his death had a tremendous effect on main character Yossarian. As the book goes on, more and more is revealed about both Snowden’s death, and also how Yossarian reacted at the time and as the days went by afterwards. But it isn’t until the very end of the book that a full chapter is devoted to the moment that Snowden loses his life, and it is a dramatic scene, in which you know the outcome, and yet the wording of it plays with you as a reader, leads you on into thinking different things, before continuously knocking you back. The dozen or so pages of this chapter really muck around with your emotions, and I imagine this is the desired effect, and by the end of this chapter I was absolutely crying my eyes out, so much so that I had to put the book down and just let myself cry for a few minutes. I half suspect that no other book will ever move me this deeply, but I guess time will tell.

Is there a book that makes you cry? Do you find that despite this, or perhaps because of this, you love that book?

4 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge Day 29 – A book that makes me cry

  1. I’d be hard-pressed to find a book that DIDN’T make me cry, at some point! Then, again, I’m the weepy sort of person to cry at commercials when the long-lost relatives show up on the doorstep or the ones for sentimental Hallmark cards.

    During the launch of my second book, I chose to read a section where the grandmother is dying but couldn’t finish reading it. All of a sudden, the image of my father on his death bed came to mind and my voice gave out. I have not tried to read that scene to audiences since then. Just call me an old softy!

    • Oh wow. Mind, I think that’s a good thing in some ways, that you can be so emotionally connected to your own work, and even other people’s works. I admit I cry easier during movies, but with books, even though I enjoy them more and I think I connect to them more, for some reason I can hold back the tears easier. I very nearly cried though at the end of The Book Thief, so very almost.

    • Yeah, apart from this book I don’t cry with books really, though I have come close. But movies I seem to more often, which is odd as I prefer books and feel more emotionally connected to books.
      Definitely read Catch-22, it is an amazing book, and my all time favourite too.

What do you think?

