What do you mean you haven’t read THAT?

I have a secret. In fact, I have a few secrets. Many people who regularly read my blog will know I love books. Even if this is your first time stopping by my blog, you can probably tell I like books. Because of this, many people assume that I have read particular books, books that are insanely popular, perhaps topical, books that everybody should read. And in a lot of ways, I can understand this. But the simple truth is, there are many books that I haven’t yet read, which cause people’s eyebrows to raise so high as to touch the ceiling, which cause their jaws to shatter the ground beneath their feet, and which cause them to gasp so much as to very nearly implode.

You might be surprised by some of these books I haven’t read, but hopefully you won’t judge me too harshly on my reading misdeeds – I swear I’ll get around to reading these one day. Without further ado…

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I thought I’d mention this one first as it has really come into the spotlight recently with the release of the movie adaptation of the same name. This book, and the other two parts of this trilogy, have received nothing but rave reviews from critics and the masses alike. The story sounds interesting and thought provoking. Why haven’t I read it yet? I have no idea, actually. But I have finally bought the books, and intend on reading the first one tonight after I write this blog post. So there will be reviews on this very soon. I just hope it’s good, because I have heard so many positive reviews that my expectations have grown to quite enormous proportions, to be honest.

The Harry Potter SeriesΒ by J. K. Rowling

Yeah, yeah, I know, how on earth have I not read this series, considering I have had fourteen years (which is scary, but these books are really that old) now in which to begin reading it? I think with this series, it was just a matter of being the wrong age at the time of release. It was released as I started high school, and while it appealed to some of my female friends, oddly it just didn’t appeal to me or any of my male friends in the slightest. If we had’ve been even just a couple of years younger, maybe it would have grabbed me. But instead, I had no interest in reading it until the last few years, despite my tendency towards fantasy reading during my teenage years. Anyway, I will get around to reading this, and watching the movies, one day.

Anything at all by Stephen King

Stephen King is one of those authors that everybody should try at least once. To be fair, I did try once, several years ago. I started readingΒ The StandΒ only to lose interest about a hundred pages in (it’s well over a thousand pages), because the story was just dragging on. Maybe I was too young to stay interested in it, or maybe I was in the wrong frame of mind. Anyway, I am yet to finish any books at all by King, but I plan on trying again this year, because I want to find out why so many other people love his work.

 

I could name a lot more, but I think I might stop there for now, and possibly do a second blog of this nature a bit further down the track.

Are there any books you haven’t read that cause people to gasp in shock upon this discovery? Is there a particular reason that has prevented you from reading these books?

90 thoughts on “What do you mean you haven’t read THAT?

  1. Go you for admitting it – I haven’t finished Harry Potter either. It’s a secret I like to keep under wraps though because I have a few CRAZED HP fans.

    • Hahaha, I know exactly what you mean. I think Harry Potter is the one I most cringed about when writing, because people are genuinely stunned by that one. I might make it my goal to read them this year sometime – they can’t take that long I imagine… πŸ˜›

        • Oh, bummer. Summer just ended here. Actually, for Australia, we just had a pretty lowsy summer anyway πŸ˜› But I might try that next summer if I still haven’t read them! πŸ™‚

          • Haha I was in Australia for last summer and it was HOT HOT HOT. But, I’ll be home for this summer. Maybe I should read some Aussie fiction to relive some memories.

            • Hahaha yeah last summer was insane, I remember a week where every day was over 40 degrees (celcius). The top temp this summer was 35.6 I think, and it rained four times as much as usual, so we’ve had a summer of floods instead of a summer of fires. I love this country… πŸ˜›
              So you enjoyed Australia then I take it, when you were here? Funnily enough, a lot of my favourite Aussie author tend to set their stories abroad. I know Markus Zusak wrote a book before The Book Thief called The Messenger, and I’m pretty sure that was set in Sydney, where he lives. Tim Winton normally sets his stories in Australia too.
              Anyway I’m just rambling again now… πŸ˜›

  2. I never read anything from my English reading list in my final year of school, or from half my courses in uni. I have also neglected Hunger Games.

    I’ll lend you King’s Different Seasons one day. Surely you can’t get bored with 4 novellas…

    • There were definitely some courses at uni where I didn’t read the books (and often they were the ones I achieved higher marks in).
      I’ve heard about that book of King’s, actually – it’s supposed to be quite good. I think they made movies out of at least one of the novella’s, too, didn’t they? Anyway, that would be awesome, and possibly a better way to get into him as an author, too.

  3. There are so many books out there, it’s hard to get around to them all. And some of them… you just know you should read, but you don’t have sufficient interest yet. Sometimes it’ll take the movie, a good trailer, or listening to a friend rave about it. And sometimes, listening to them rave will turn you off to the book. It’s a mixed bag.

    I was working in a book store, when the 2nd or 3rd Harry Potter book came out. Our store had parties, and midnight releases (but I never had to work those). But I, along with most of the people I worked with, was generally turned OFF to whatever books happened to be popular. These crazy children came in and bossed their parents around (not the way to make me happy), in order to get those books. It took me at least four years before I finally read them all.

    Of course, now I love them, but nobody was going to get me to read them, before I was ready to do so. Hunger Games, likewise, I hadn’t heard of, right away, but my cousin AND her husband were fighting over who got to read them next. That got my attention, so in that case, it was the right person needed to recommend them.

    And though you didn’t mention them, and I don’t know where you stand on Twilight (only just came across your blog), I found them on a bookshelf, all on my own, read the blurb, and bought it. Got hooked, and read the first three within the next 4-5 days. I’m not Twi-hard, but I love the books, and enjoy Meyer’s fantastic world, which is ours, but with a few “changes”.

    Don’t be ashamed that you haven’t read these books. You’ll read them when YOU are ready, and not a day sooner. Oh, and I’ve never touched a Stephen King book, because I don’t like horror. So, no one’s ever been able to convince me to touch one. Not yet, at least. : )

    • Hmm that is very true, and a different way of looking at it! But you’re right, I probably haven’t read a lot of books because I personally haven’t been ready to, and I think in a lot of cases the hype around them puts me off as well!
      I am very reluctant to read Twilight, because it just sounds so…not my kind of book, I suppose. And the films just look awful. But I can kind of see why so many people have been mesmerised by those books, they do have something that draws people (well…girls) into them. And they probably brought a lot of younger people to reading who had not previously been readers, which is always a good thing!

      • The films aren’t the greatest, but I enjoy them. As for the books, I try and remind people to not judge, until they’ve read them. So, I have a friend (girl) who was anti-Twilight for so long, who has just read them, and she told me she didn’t hate them. : ) On the other hand, after reading only a few paragraphs of book 2, my military guy cousins go off on how much the books just “drool over the guys”.

        And finally, my brother, who prefers to read Roman history, sat down and read them, when none of us were looking. He said they were ok, or alright, or something like that. Coming from a man of few words, that was a compliment.

        Anyway, my point is that these examples still show that you have to be willing to give them a chance, and decide to read them on your own. My Marine boys just read enough to make fun. It’s a mixed up world, with too many books, and not enough time! Enjoy your reading!

        • Haha, I agree. At first I mocked Twilight, but I’ve restrained myself in recent times for exactly that reason – I need to read them before I judge them properly. I don’t think I’ll ever love them but I might not hate them either – one day I’ll find out.
          And yes, there are far too many books. If I read at an average of 50 books a year, I’ll be lucky to get through 3000-4000 books in my life, which might sound like a lot, but it really isn’t considering how much I want to read. I bet if I thought about it I could already list over a thousand I want to read off the top of my head…. oh well.
          Thanks for your insightful comments! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: To All The Books I’ve Loved Before — Four Rainy Day Reads « The Tiger's Eye

  5. Don’t feel too bad, I haven’t read the Hunger Games, yet, either – although it is on my to-be-read list. I only read the first of the Harry Potter series and part of the second book, reading it to my kids before bed. Then time got away from me, the kids got older and didn’t want to be read-to anymore, so I’ve just watched the movies. I’m not a fan of horror, so I’ve never even started to read a Stephen King novel. I also have not read a lot of the classics (Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre, etc) that many of my friends have read and are surprised that I haven’t. I know I need to set aside more time devoted to reading, but there you have it. πŸ™‚

    • Hahaha, glad to know it’s not just me! πŸ˜› I think the classics are a big one for a lot of people – a lot haven’t read many of the classics. I have read a fair few, but particular authors and styles. It would take me years to get to the point where I feel I am on top of the classics, and in a way I don’t want to get to that point in a hurry because I want to enjoy them slowly, between more modern books. I think there’s no point reading if it’s forced or unenjoyable, because then it just becomes a chore, which is sad.

  6. This is why I decided to do my challenge as there were so many books or authors that I should have read but never had. I had never even heard of The Hunger Games until I saw the trailer for the film but I have read all of the Harry Potter books several times despite being a teenager when they were first published. I had a younger brother who read them so I had easy access to the books. I had spurned the books for years though as I didn’t want to follow everyone else but I was bored one day so decided to give them a go and loved them. I too haven’t read any Stephen King but I have The Stand coming up on my list. Hope I can get through it! Looking forward to your review of Hunger Games.

    • Yeah, I think that can be so much of it, not wanting to follow everybody else. Both my sisters read HP though, and still have the books, so I might borrow theirs soon so I can read through it finally, just to tick it off and say I’ve read it.

  7. I had my interest in literature assassinated by a useless English teacher at high school – he managed to reduce everything to boring, including Catch-22 and One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest. I picked up my interest in such matters only as an adult. Curiously, the same teacher also told my parents that I’d fail at anything I did, especially in English. I’ve published coming up for 50 books since, published by Random House, Penguin, etc…I love irony.

    You’ve not missed much with Harry Potter. Rowling is a competent and capable writer, but I wouldn’t call her books great literature. The last four in the series needed much heavier editing than they got – way too long for the stories. Can’t fault her for getting a new generation inspired to read, though.

    Matthew Wright
    http://mjwrightnz.wordpress.com
    http://www.matthewwright.net

    • Urgh, that is horrible hearing about teachers who kill the joy of books for people (Especially Catch 22 – that’s my favourite book! He must have been an awful teacher). But that is awesome that you have published so much after what he told your parents, as you say, a nice little piece of irony (and perhaps karma) there!
      I have heard this opinion from a few people about Harry Potter, that the story is great which is what has drawn so many people in, but the writing is a bit average at times. Which might also be what has put me off reading it, because I suspect I will be somewhat critical of this. But I agree, the fact that she inspired a generation to read against the odds is definitely a good thing. And at least it’s not Twilight….

      • Thanks. I might post on my own blog about the experience – the guy wasn’t evil or anything. Just useless. But the positive side was that my parents sent me off for proper writing courses, under someone else – and I never looked back.

        • That’d be great, I’d love to read to a blog post about that experience. And it is funny how something so positive ultimately came out of that – the world works in funny ways sometimes.

  8. I know what you mean – I’ve read Harry Potter but not the Hunger Games or Stephen King, but people assumed that I’d enjoy Twilight because I’m a girl and liked Buffy when it was on – on that basis I resisted reading it. (And still do). One of my friends still gets shocked when I say I don’t read something and asks why – especially all the vampire stuff thats out. I’m a huge Harry fan though but don’t mind if people have a different view. We can’t all read and like the same books.

    • Yeah, I have friends who liked Buffy and read Anne Rice when they were younger, and people assume they’d like Twilight when often they hate it for that very reason.
      But I agree – if we all read and liked the same books it would make it very boring. It’s nice to have some books to share with others, of course, but ultimately whether a book is popular or not popular doesn’t have as much of an influence on whether or not I read it as it might do for some people. It’s much the same with films, television and music as well, I feel. πŸ™‚

      • Definitely. I only read Harry Potter after a friend talked me into trying it. But with popular things like that, I have to come around to it in my own time. I don’t like being boxed in or told what I will like. I often don’t read something just because its in either – I’ll read it because I want to even if it takes me a while to pick the book up.

  9. Hunger Games. I went out and got it, and now it’s just sitting there on my shelf. And.. I haven’t read The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, either. And (cough) The Picture Of Dorian Gray.
    There’s so many more that I can’t remember now. I make lists, sometimes even get them, but never get around to reading all of them. There’s so many, and I feel extremely guilty when I go out and get new books without finishing these off.

    • I think by the sounds of things, everybody does this, buying books when they still have unread books on their shelves! I figure we’ll get around to reading our books when the time is right to read them! πŸ™‚
      I can personally say though that The Picture of Dorian Gray is a great book! Definitely read that when you get a chance.
      Also, while I’m thinking about it, was it you who recommended Lunatic Soul to me? I bought their first album a week or two ago – just wow! I absolutely love it, and have to get my hands on their other two albums now. I think I prefer LS to Riverside actually, which surprised me.

      • Yeah, I’ve made it a point to sit down with Dorian Gray over the summer. πŸ™‚

        And, yes. I’m glad you liked Lunatic Soul, though, of course, I knew you would. πŸ™‚ I liked their second album better than the first, and I haven’t given the third one the time it deserves, seeing as Heritage came along shortly after I got it. And I agree, I like Riverside quite a lot, but Lunatic Soul is something I can never ceased to be amazed by.
        If you liked them, you should definitely check out the other two – Ephrat, Les Discrets. Really good stuff.

        • Awesome! I need to read a lot of the rest of Wilde’s works – I have his complete works so I should take advantage of that sometime. So many things to read, not enough time… πŸ˜›
          It’s funny when that happens, when an album comes along that steals your attention away from other good albums. I do that sometimes, but it is nice when later on you re-discover those albums you didn’t pay enough attention to initially.
          I will definitely check out the other two! Thanks for the recommendation! πŸ™‚

          • Didn’t Zappa say that? – “So many books, so little time.” πŸ™‚

            Yes. πŸ™‚ But I don’t like forcing it. When my attention is diverted, I take my time getting back, listen to other stuff, find new bands..But then, when I finally come back, I hit my head for not listening to it sooner, but that’s how I like it. When you’re excited about a new album, it’s hard to listen to something else, no matter how great you know it’s going to be. So I’d rather listen to other stuff, and work my way up to the greatness. πŸ˜›

            Let me know what you think about the other two. I’ll have more waiting for you if you like them. πŸ™‚

            • Hahaha, that does certainly sound like something Zappa would say. πŸ™‚
              That’s very true. And I find there are times where there isn’t as much great new music (when I say times I mean periods of like, a couple of weeks, haha), and it’s often during these times I go back and rediscover albums.
              I will definitely let you know my thoughts on the other two when I get them. I have to buy them online because they are too difficult to get here in Australia, so there is always that annoying wait for them to arrive. But I will get them! πŸ™‚

              • Exactly. I still go back to all the old bands – Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young (I LOVE THEM), Fleetwood Mac, every band that’s responsible for what I’m listening to today. Even the new ones, every few months I go back and listen to a band I discovered a little while ago and they’re all I can listen to for a while. Again. πŸ™‚

                It’s the same here. I’ve got to badger the people at the music store until they finally realize that it’d be easier for them if they just shut me up, so they get the album for me. But, hey. It’s music. You gotta do what you gotta do. πŸ˜›

                • I love CSNY too, such an amazing sound. I love so much music from the 60s and 70s, and even the 80s is growing on me more now (for a long time it made me cringe, maybe because it’s my decade of birth…who knows).
                  And that’s exactly right – whatever it takes to get the music you wanna listen to! πŸ™‚

  10. I actually haven’t read The Hunger Games either, despite all the hype. For some reason it strikes me as another Twilight, so I admit I’m rather hesitant about approaching it.

    But Harry Potter I can vouch for – really good books. The story is just fantastic. Sure it might not qualify as great literature, but I believe JKR makes up for that by her characters and her plot. =D

    • Hmmm well from what little I’ve read so far of The Hunger Games it seems far more intelligent and dark than Twilight, so I definitely don’t think it’s of the same nature at all.
      Yeah, thats the general feeling I get with HP, that the story is good, but the writing is nothing life changing. I’ll see when I get around to reading it one day… πŸ˜›

      • I’ve not yet read Hunger Games because a) It just never jumped out at me in my local Dymocks b) It seems like its one of those books lots of people read and usually by that standard, I either take a while to want to read it or resist completely just because I don’t want to follow everyone else and c) When I read about the plot it didn’t spark me.

        Another book that was popular that took me ages to read was The Hobbit. But that was only because on my first attempt I struggled with it and it took me 15 years to give it another shot.

        • Hahah, that’s another one on my list to read, The Hobbit. I’ve read LOTR, though. I will read The Hobbit before the first of the two films based on it is released at the end of the year… And I guess The Hobbit is kind of different because the book is seventy to eighty years old.

  11. I hadn’t even heard of Harry Potter until I left college in 2000, and I saw one of the interns at our office reading it. When I saw her reading it, I thought I was probably too old to read it, and it never caught my attention. Fast forward to 2007, and my wife, whom I was dating at the time, was interested in seeing The Order of the Phoenix in the theater and I don’t like seeing movies before reading the books, so I finally broke down and read them. I enjoyed them pretty well, especially The Order of the Phoenix, it’s actually my favorite of all the books.

    Stephen King I began reading a bit in high school and I’ve only read a few of his books. I’ve heard a lot about 11/20/63 and how I should read that, and I think I might tackle it later on this year.

    Hunger Games… I’m getting ready to purchase the trilogy of the books for my Kindle. I agree, there’s definitely been quite a bit of hype about these books, and I’m definitely hoping they meet the extraordinary expectations that have been set by everything I’ve read.

    • Interestingly I’ve heard a lot of people say that The Order of the Phoenix is the best of the HP books. A few people say the last couple of books drag on a bit.
      I’ve just borrowed a King book off a friend actually that has some of his shorter stories, including The Shawshank Redemption (I love the movie of that), so I will be intrigued to see how I go with it.
      That is my worry with The Hunger Games, that the hype maybe has raised my expectations too high. So far, so good though…

    • I have heard so many people speak of The Stand so highly, I do want to try that book one more time, perhaps at least out of a sense of duty. I remember when Under the Dome came out, and the blurb on the back sounded interesting as well, so I might try that one down the track. πŸ™‚

  12. I’ve read the Harry Potter series and one novel by King. Other than that, I’m in the same boat. Good luck with reading the Hunger Games before the movie.

  13. I was just looking at The Hunger Games today to see what all the hype is about – but I really don’t think this is my cup of tea. I haven’t read most of the classics, the Tolstoys, and Steinbecks and such like. The size of their books gives me a headache and I wonder whether anyone that needs more than a 1000 pages to say whatever it is they want to say, truly knows what they want to say in the first place πŸ˜›

    My Booker Project has me reading a lot of distinguished authors for the first time like Coetzee, Atwood and Banville!

    • Hahaha, yeah, some of those epic classics are just enormous. I tried reading War and Peace and gave up because it was too long and drawn out, it just bored me.
      There’s definitely been some interesting Booker winners though, at least the ones I’ve read so far – I would like to try and read more. πŸ™‚

  14. You know I’m automatically going to convince you of what King books to read, but there are lots of books that people will be surprised their friends haven’t read. For instance, I haven’t read Catch-22 and it’s supposed to be an amazing book.

    Also, it probably makes sense that you didn’t read HP when it came out. It is a great book that revolutionize young adult literature. So, just because it’s great for young adult literature doesn’t mean you HAVE to read it, but I suggest you do sometime in the future.

    Of course, now I get to Stephen King. First, he’s not JUST a horror writer. He writes, horror, fantasy, mystery, science fiction, and a bit of historical fiction-ish. He received a reputation for horror because he brought our horror and fears to life. People shy away from horror because they don’t want to be grossed out, but like most famous authors he’s misunderstood by his reputation. At the same time, the comments about him being deep and complex are true. If you’re a first time SK reader, you have to know which ones to read first. I haven’t read The Stand knowing I have to work up to it. Starting with his short stories can be beneficial, but you can get the wrong impression from one short story. Here are my suggestions:

    On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft- Read it to understand him as a writer as well as learning great tips from a successful writer, who has captivated millions for over 40 years.

    Under the Dome-It is a great, recent piece that is low on the “scary horror” and high in the human psychological experiment. My favorite King book to date.

    Carrie-It is his first book, and completely underrated because it is a testament to how an author struggles to get inside the head of a character that is completely foreign to him.It’s a short read, which is good to start off with for King books.

    The Cell-King’s version of zombies, which details a perfect end of the world scenario caused by cell phones!

    After all of this, reading one of these books will no doubt introduce you to the easy to love side of King that many “constant readers” as he calls us have come to adore. I want to know when you have finished reading one of these, so please update me πŸ™‚

    Sorry for the super long post btw!

    • Hahaha yeah…you HAVE to read Catch 22 some time. It’s my fave book, it’s pretty much to me what King is to you…except I don’t like all of Joseph Heller’s books…and he didn’t write that many anyway. But you get what I mean!
      Some interesting recommendations there. I have wanted to read his On Writing book actually because I always find it interesting to read about writers like that, especially prolific writers such as he is. Under the Dome likewise sounded really interesting when it came out, so I might have to try that one sooner rather than later. I think you’ve recommended Carrie to me before actually, as well!
      I will definitely update you when I have read some King, which will be in the next month or so hopefully! He sounds like somebody who, once you’re hooked, you’re hooked.
      And no need to apologise for the long comment, I love all comments however brief or detailed, and as you can see, this blog has taken on a life of its own with the comment thread πŸ˜› I had a feeling you would have a lot to say on this post so I’m glad you commented! πŸ™‚

      • Haha well thanks! I couldn’t really comment on Hunger Games cause I haven’t read it, but there are just too many other books on my list and they’ve just been added to it. I’m not huge fan of dystopias, which I think that series is set in one, so it will have to wait until a later time to be read. I’m currently just trying to finish Orson Scott Cards books in the Enderverse–there are 14 of them πŸ˜› and he has taken up my life in a good way. Good luck reading all your new books!

        • Yeah, the Hunger Games is set in a dystopian North America actually, but the dystopian aspects of it don’t seem to be as heavily explored as in other books from the genre, though I have only read the first quarter of the book so maybe this will change.
          I’ve noticed you’re reading those books, wow, I didn’t know there were 14 of them! That will keep you busy! πŸ˜› Enjoy reading them! πŸ™‚

  15. How haven’t you read harry potter AND the hunger games. **I gasp theatrically in shock** It’s ok- the hunger games book is excellent and the film is absolutely mindblowing, so I’m looking forward to your thoughts on the matter! πŸ™‚

    • Hahahahhaa πŸ˜› That’s part of why I wrote this post – I knew it would shock people that I haven’t read those books. I am reading The Hunger Games at the moment (alongside 2 other books, mind), so I will certainly have a review of some sort for it in the near future, but I might see the movie and try and do a review of both if I can get myself organised. πŸ˜›
      By the way I totally imagined that theatrical gasp, along with dramatic music!

  16. Oh God, I thought I was the only one on the face of the earth that hadn’t read Harry Potter yet. Please don’t out me to my friends yet, I don’t think they could take it.

    • Hahahaha, nah, it turns out there’s a few of us who are yet to read Harry Potter. Actually I enjoyed admitting I haven’t read it, it was kind of…liberating? πŸ˜› Maybe you should admit it to your friends too…and film their reactions!

  17. I haven’t read Harry Potter or the Hunger Games either. I do own the Hunger Games and bought it before it got insanely popular with the movie release. I have yet to buy Harry Potter because I can’t find a box set for some strange reason.

    But Stephen King? REALLY? I don’t think I’ve come across anyone that hasn’t read at least one of his books. I wouldn’t suggest starting with The Stand though. I read King regularly and have yet to make it through that one for some reason…and his historical novel that just came out but I think I mentioned the reason for that in an earlier comment somewhere…

    Anyway, Carrie, Cujo, Thinner, Gerald’s Game, Under the Dome, Cell or any of his short story anthologies (Everything’s Eventual, Just after Sunset, Full Dark/No Stars and others I can’t remember right now) are a good jumping point. Work your way up to The Stand, IT and the Dark Tower series, it helps. Which reminds me, I have to restart the Dark Tower series. I began it before I could get my hands on the last two books and failed to pick it up when they did come out.

    Anyway, I’m glad I’m not the only one out there who hasn’t read Harry Potter or Hunger Games and I eagerly await your review on Hunger Games.

    • Have you tried looking at online bookshops for the HP boxset? I imagine Book Depository would have it?
      Hahahah I know, it’s pretty bad of me to have not read any King, but I think I just started at the wrong place. I’ve had lots of recommendations of where to start with his work, but a friend has just let me borrow Different Seasons, which was one of his short story anthologies, so I’ll see how that goes! πŸ™‚
      My review of Hunger Games should be up within a week or so, hopefully! πŸ™‚

  18. Pingback: Not another blog post about The Hunger Games? a.k.a. The Inevitable Blog Post | wantoncreation

  19. When I started reading this, I totally identified with what you mean. I love books and reading but there are many classics I haven’t read or classics I did read but didn’t enjoy (*cough* Jane Eyre *cough*).

    BUT HARRY? How can you not have read Harry? I think it is the great love of my life. Haha maybe that’s too far, but seriously, I have so much love for Harry Potter.

    I only recently read The Hunger Games (I really enjoyed it) because I wanted to know what everyone was talking about. And I have only read two Stephen King novels (Under The Dome and 11/22/63) and started only 2 years ago. The main reason I avoided King is I have a very over-active imagination and scare quite easily and IT gave me nightmares for weeks, so I wanted to read a non-horror novel. Under The Dome was long (over a thousand pages) but really good.

    • Hahaha, I love the way people react when they discover I haven’t read Harry Potter. As I said, I’m not entirely sure how I missed that one, my sisters and my mum were all into it, but I was otherwise occupied it seems. I will read it soon though, I want to read them sometime this year, I think! πŸ™‚

      As for the classics, I agree. I think people feel a sense of duty to enjoy them or like them, which is silly. I feel no shame in admitting that I don’t like Jane Austen, at least from what I’ve read so far. I want to try liking her one more time, because some good friends love her and I want to know why, but yeah, so far, no good. But I do love some classic authors, like Dickens, Fitzgerald, Waugh, Woolf and so on.

      I am only just plodding my way through The Hunger Games now (up to the second book), but it has been a pleasant surprise for the most part.

      Interestingly I have heard good things about both those Stephen King novels you mentioned, and they both sound interesting, so I will probably give them a try. The horror aspect of King’s work has never bothered me, it’s just the overwhelming length of most of his books hahaha.

  20. You’re in good company. I’ve not read these either, but I’ve read other good books as I’m sure you have too. Interestingly, I was thinking of purchasing the Hunger Games as well.

    • It’s good to know there’s plenty of other people out there who haven’t read these books yet! πŸ™‚
      I now have all three of the HG books, and am about halfway through the second book…they’re not too bad actually. Not life changing either, but I can see why they are so popular.

  21. I know what you mean. There are books I can’t get through myself. I have, I am happy to say gotten through the Harry Potter books (more than twice) which I’ve only read as an adult and Hunger Games. Although I prefer Harry Potter, I really like the Hunger Games. Most recently, I have read “Under the Never Sky,” by Veronica Rossi, and “The Seven Perfumes of Sacrifice,” by Amy Logan. Both worth the read.

    Sue Bock
    http://bestlifeafterbreastcancer.com
    http://couragetoadventure.com

    http://couragetoadventurecoaching.wordpress.com

    • I am now about halfway through the Hunger Games and on the whole I’m enjoying them, though there is a little narky critical side of me starting to kick in now during the second book. I will definitely get around to Harry Potter later in the year.
      Those two books you mention both sound intriguing just from their titles, so I will definitely look into them! πŸ™‚

  22. Great post!

    Stephen King is arguably one of the best storytellers of our time, but that doesn’t mean he will appeal to everyone. If you’re looking for a good King book to get you started, may I suggest either Different Seasons or The Green Mile. Different Seasons is a compilation of short stories/novellas, including The Body and Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption (both of which were made into movies). These stories lack the supernatural element King is known for, but I think they’re great, regardless. Also, since the stories are shorter, they are paced quicker and (in my opinion) they “grab” you sooner. The Green Mile was one long story, but was published in separate installments, which made it a little easier for me to get into. By the way, I have never read any HP books, either. Also never read any of the Twilight series. Never really felt compelled to try them.

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚
      Interestingly enough, a friend has let me borrow a copy of Different Seasons, so that is most likely the first Stephen King book I will be reading, when I get around to it! I am looking forward to it, as I loved the movies that came from that book.
      Ah, glad to know I’m not the only person alive who hasn’t read the HP books haha. I only feel compelled to read Twilight so that when I say how bad it is, people can no longer turn to that argument “but you haven’t read it so don’t judge it if you haven’t read it” and will just have to admit that I am right, and that it really isn’t that great! πŸ˜›

  23. Pingback: Writers' Bloc

  24. Pingback: The 100th Blog Post! | wantoncreation

  25. Oh my God, itΒ΄s true, you havenΒ΄t read Harry Potter!!!
    Okay, I get it, you were a couple of years older than the target market, but I was a couple of years younger, so IΒ΄m not taking that as an excuse!
    Freaky that it has been 12 years already. It was such a big chunk of my life.
    But anyway, I just wanted to check that after the mention on WritersΒ΄ Bloc.
    Did you also manage NOT to watch any of the movies? It was kind of hard to miss them, itΒ΄d be impressive. Like avoiding all of the Twilight movies.

    • Hahaha oh yeah they mentioned it on Writers’ Bloc didn’t they? Bahaha. Mind, I have now read the Hunger Games series so that part of this post is no longer true! πŸ˜›
      But yes I haven’t read the Harry Potter series, but it looks like this year is set to rectify that. I saw the first two movies, and recently saw the fourth or fifth movie too? Generally I don’t intend to watch them, they just come on and I happen to be sitting there, hahaha.
      And for the record I completely avoided the Twilight books and movies. I read about two pages of one of the books, burst into laughter, and put it down. Just awful. πŸ˜›

      • Whoa. I couldnΒ΄t do that. Skip the Twilight movies, I mean. It was everywhere. On every channel. On every movie theater. On every coffee shop tv thingie. I thought you could only avoid it entirely if you lived without a TV or internet. In a cabin. Away from civilisation and the screams of fan girls all over the world.
        Though, admittedly, I read them all. And had a pretty fun time too. It was like a world book club, everyone was reading it, even the friends who up until then had been allergic to it. But yeah, itΒ΄s baad. I reread it with a friend after the frenzi and we shared notes on all the bizarre bits.
        IΒ΄ve never read The Hunger Games! HadnΒ΄t heard of it until a couple of months ago. Might I ask, is it as violent as the movie? Yeah, I know, they fight Β΄till they die so thatΒ΄s a given, but is it horrible, in that sense?
        A bit scared of them.

        • Oh they were everywhere, the Twilight movies, but I just refused to watch them. I feel absolutely no desire to watch a love story about a teenage girl with no personality falling in love with a sparkly vampire who is far too old for her. It’s interesting now, a lot of the teenage girls I teach hate it and think it’s ridiculous – I think it appeals only to some of the people who were caught up in the initial craze, and now people are realising how crap it is. Truth be told, Twilight will eventually slip away from our memories, and from the best seller lists. Harry Potter won’t, however.
          I haven’t seen The Hunger Games movie yet (I was a bit financially overwhelmed at the time), but the books are a bit violent. The second and third are probably more brutal than the first (especially the third one), but they are also deeper in their exploration of the themes of politics, warfare, revolution, etc. They are good books I think, certainly nothing to be scared of as the points they raise make them worth it. I can see why they’re so popular. And they’re an extremely easy read. πŸ™‚

  26. Pingback: To infinity and beyond! « theurlthingie

What do you think?

