A boxful of Wodehouse (the biggest delivery of books I’ve ever received)

As my last post probably suggested, I thoroughly enjoy reading anything by P. G. Wodehouse. This is likely a good thing, considering he has close to a hundred books published under his name. However, up until now I have only owned (and read) about 6 or 7 of his books. An arrival in the mail today will help me make a much more significant dent in the complete works of Wodehouse:

This didn't exactly fit in my letterbox...don't let this picture fool you, there's 20 books in this package.

For some odd reason, a lot of his books were being sold for ridiculously cheap from the website where I often purchase books (maybe it was a warehouse clean-out). So I had to take advantage of the opportunity, because, well, it was my duty, right?

Here are the books I bought, which I have attempted to group up according to the various series that Wodehouse wrote.

These books all form part of the Jeeves and Wooster series of stories, perhaps the most famous and loved series Wodehouse wrote. Most of my reading thus far from this author has been books based around bumbling Bertie Wooster and his ever brilliant butler Jeeves.

 

These books form part of the Blandings series, perhaps the second largest series of books Wodehouse wrote after the J&W books. What ties these books together is the setting of Blandings castle, and its various kooky inhabitants.

 

This picture includes books from some of the smaller series Wodehouse wrote, including the Uncle Fred series, the Golf series, and the Ukridge series. All of these remain untouched by me until now, but I have no doubt I will enjoy them.

 

These are all stand-alone novels, but all along similar themes to everything else Wodehouse wrote, as the book covers suggest. The covers also are a bit shiny, hence the slight glare on them. I haven't yet read any of Wodehouse's stand alone novels, so I am looking forward to seeing if they are still enjoyable without the familiarity of the characters (I am sure they are).

 

And lastly, some more stand-alone novels.

 

So there we have it, my massive Wodehouse book haul, in which I have probably gained close to a quarter of his total collection. I still have a lot left to collect, but this should tide me over for quite a while.

Are there any authors with extensive collections of books that you are trying to collect? Do you intend to read all of them or is part of the fun just owning them all?

21 thoughts on “A boxful of Wodehouse (the biggest delivery of books I’ve ever received)

    • Oh awesome, that is something I have been thinking of doing recently actually, collecting hardbacks of my favourite books. I just need to find somewhere good to get them. I know there are a few good places online that do it…I will have to look into it more!

  1. Wowee!!! Have fun with those! I don’t collect as such; I just love reading and buy whatever takes my fancy. Do you use ‘The Book Depository’? Free shipping! 😉

    • Yep, I use the Book Depository, it’s just so much cheaper than everywhere else, and considering the amount of books I buy, it saves me a lot of money in the long term (and short term, for that matter…to buy these 20 books cost me $80 in Australian, where if I bought them from a shop here, they would have cost me $400-500 easily. I mean, you can’t argue with that kind of difference, really. I do buy books every now and then from bookstores, though, but not often.

    • It is fun, I love it when they scatter the delivery of the books, it feels like it’s my birthday every day 😛 And you’re right, these books will definitely be the books I turn to throughout this year when I need something uplifting and fun! 🙂

  2. I absolutely love Hot Water which tempted me to start reading P.G.Wodehouse..I have read and loved Bertie-Jeeves series..Damsel in Distress is not as good as Hot Water

    • Ahhh okay? Maybe I will try Hot Water sooner, I did want to try some of the other books outside the usual Wodehouse that I have read! 🙂 It’s awesome to find other Wodehouse readers.

  3. If its possible, could you please list the names of the wooster-jeeves collection that you got, other than those in ur pic.. I would like to know whether I have left out any book.. Thanks 🙂

    • Sure, the Jeeves and Wooster books that I already had and so aren’t in these pictures are Thank You, Jeeves (the first novel to include these characters), The Mating Season, Ring For Jeeves, Jeeves and the Feudal Spirit, and I am currently reading Much Obliged, Jeeves. There is also Right Ho, Jeeves, Carry On, Jeeves, The Inimitable Jeeves, and Very Good, Jeeves – I believe some of these are short story collections though, and if you get The World Of Jeeves (which I do also possess), this contains ALL of the Jeeves and Wooster short stories (it’s massive, about 7-800 pages by memory).
      There may have even been more, but this is all that has been reprinted so far over the past few years. You can also get (if you can find them) the Jeeves Omnibuses, which I think there were 5 in total which covered all of the J&W novels and stories. 🙂

  4. Which Wodehouse would you suggest starting with? I’ve been toying with the idea of reading one of his books for a while now but don’t know where to start

    • I would definitely recommend starting with a Jeeves and Wooster novel. I personally started with Thank You, Jeeves, which was the first novel to feature the two characters, and I found it to be quite enjoyable from the start. I must admit though, one of my favourites is Jeeves And The Feudal Spirit, because it intertwines several storylines really well, and Bertie Wooster’s storyline is so ridiculous it’s hilarious – he has committed the “heinous offence” of growing a moustache, which Jeeves deeply disapproves of, making relations between the two quite stretched for much of the book.
      So I would say start with either of those two books, and then go from there. I certainly haven’t read any Wodehouse I disliked yet, they are all enjoyable and addictive. 🙂

    • Haha, I agree, he is a genius! I am not reading all these Wodehouse books at once, but rather stretching them out, to enjoy them slowly over a long period of time! They really are wonderful!

      • That’s good. 😀 You should read Small Bachelor. You will love Garroway. It’s set in New York, like some of his books are. That was my first Wodehouse, followed by Hot Water.

What do you think?