You Are My Sunshine (Award)

I’ve found over these last few months in which I’ve been blogging that even when the rest of my life feels pretty crummy, for whatever reason, I always enjoy sitting down to write a blog, reading other people’s blogs, and connecting with fellow bloggers. For me, this is that little bit of sunshine that helps me get through some days, and there are many blogs and bloggers who help with this, whether they realise it or not.

A few days ago, I found myself nominated for the Sunshine Award from fellow blogger and writer, Susan from mywithershins, a lovely, intelligent and talented woman with a fantastic blog that I recommend you check out if you haven’t done so before. Thank you Susan for the award, it really is lovely!

As with other awards, the Sunshine Award has a few rules – to include the award’s logo in the post, to link the person who nominated you, to answer the 10 quick questions that will be below (before I even answer them I bet I’m going to find a way to answer each one in far too much detail), to nominate 10 other bloggers, linking them on your post and of course letting them know by commenting on their blogs.

So, on with the questions and my more than likely excessively long and rambling answers:

10 Questions:

Favourite colour:  This has changed a lot over my life. As a young child, it was yellow, for reasons which baffle me now (I mean, it’s a nice colour, but a bit bright). For most of my life, my favourite colour has alternated between purple and blue. Even now, I’m not entirely sure which it is. Maybe my favourite is blurple?

Favourite animal:  I’d say probably a big cat, like a Lion or a Cheetah. This can be blamed on The Lion King.

Favourite number:  7, 25, and 625. 625 mostly because it’s 25 squared, something I figured out at a ridiculously young age, and it stuck with me. I have always liked the number 7 since I can remember.

Favourite non-alcoholic drink: Coffee. Closely followed by juice, tea (all kinds), water. Things like soft drink place a lot lower on the list.

Prefer Facebook or Twitter?  As time goes on, I find myself preferring Twitter. Facebook is getting annoying, and they like to change it every time we blink, in ways that suit them, not the FB users. At least Twitter can be quite entertaining at times.

My passion: Writing, without a doubt. It has been since I was very young, though of course with this comes a passion for reading, which I imagine the general theme of my blog has by now suggested. But I am passionate about many other things – friends have pointed out that I have an addictive personality, so I become passionate and get addicted to many interests and hobbies, much to the detriment of my time and sanity.

Prefer getting or giving presents:  Giving, of course. Getting was fun as a kid, but as an adult I get much more excited trying to find presents to give to friends and family, and love the feeling when you find something that you know they’ll love.

Favourite pattern: Pattern? What a strange question. I guess, stripes?

Favourite day of the week:  All the days that end in ‘y’. Oh okay, Saturdays. I am a bit like Garfield…I strongly dislike Mondays, but then, who doesn’t, really? (Probably people who have Mondays off, I imagine).

Favourite flower:  Again, odd question. I don’t know my flowers very well so I’m just going to broaden this to “favourite plant/tree/thing”, which for me would probably be the palm tree. I think this has something to do with the fact that I have spent the last twelve years of my life living quite remarkably close to several beaches.

Glad I warned you all (and warned myself) that I was going to ramble.

Now, to nominate some other bloggers who bring some sunshine into my life on a regular basis. Some of these people I have nominated for an award before, some I haven’t, and as I have said with awards before, this list is not exhaustive – I have discovered dozens upon dozens of blogs that I enjoy reading on an almost daily basis, so if I haven’t mentioned you here, but have commented or clicked ‘like’ on your blog before – you have definitely made me smile as well! 🙂

The blogs I am nominating for this are (click on each one to visit their blog):

gotmybook

Roshrulez’s Weblog

Storyteller in the Digital Age

The BookBimbo Chronicles

Amydot’s Imagination

green paw-paw

Free Page Numbers

Victoria-writes

peasoupandlove

Obscured Dreamer

Many of these blogs are about books and writing, but some are more personal blogs, some are more broad while others more specific, some include writing tips while others include awesome recipes. One thing all these blogs have in common is that they are fantastic, and I always enjoy reading them, so rather than listen to me talk about them, go and check them out for yourselves if you haven’t already, and enjoy them in all their bloggy goodness!

Happy reading and happy blogging everybody, keep shining!

19 thoughts on “You Are My Sunshine (Award)

  1. Thank you, again. 🙂
    Just wish I could nominate you back or something, I love your blog.

    And you get bonus points for actually going out and getting Lunatic Soul. 🙂

    • Not a problem, I love your blog, so I was more than happy to nominate you for this award. 🙂
      I think you can nominate me back? I didn’t see any rules that couldn’t, and I’m sure with a previous award I won 2 or 3 people nominated me back. I mean I won’t be rewriting the award post hahah, but last time I had enough people nominate me again that I wrote a post just to thank the all 😛 Point is, you can nominate whoever you like, regardless of whether they have won it already or nominated you (I nominated someone only to find they almost simultaneously nominated me, for this).
      And thank you for recommending me Lunatic Soul, you were spot on with that one, and I definitely will listen to your recommendations in the future! 🙂

  2. You are more than deserving of this award – and I don’t mind the rambling! Thanks for sharing the Sunshine. It’s fun to visit recommended blogs to see who else are out there. 🙂

    • Thank you very much for that, you’re much too kind! 🙂
      And I was thinking that last night, as much as I do love these awards posts, and do love passing the awards on – it really is quite time consuming, isn’t it? But still, it’s worth it, and awesome to come across so many new blogs through the whole process.
      Thanks again! 🙂

  3. Pingback: A little bit of sunshine « Victoria-writes

What do you think?

