Poetry Writing Month begins! Oh fine, I’ll show you my first poem too…

As we begin the month of April, many writing challenges around the world are beginning. Most notably, Script Frenzy, the script writing sister event to NaNoWriMo, has begun, an event in which I partook last year, and ended up completing in the space of a week, instead of a month, because I am both a lunatic and a severe procrastinator.

But this year, I am giving Script Frenzy a miss to try my hand at NaPoWriMo, which I recently blogged about here, and in which I am to write 30 poems in 30 days. I plan to post a weekly blog about my progress, rather than write about it every single day, and in each of these weekly blogs I will perhaps include my best and worst poems of the week. On top of this I will also try and continue my On Poetry blogs, looking at different blog forms to provide ideas for those of you taking on this challenge with me. I will also write my usual blogs about books here and there, and, believe me or not, despite how behind I am on my 12 Novellas in 12 Months writing challenge (1 finished, 2 half finished), I intend on having the first 4 novellas completely finished by the end of April, and if I can achieve this, I will blog about this as well.

Phew. I am going to pass out from writing, aren’t I?

Anyway, I don’t plan on showing all my poems, as I have said, but as I have just written my first poem, for today, I might as well show you this one. I haven’t written as much poetry these last few months, and so I wanted to ease myself into this challenge. With that in mind, I decided to write a chain of haikus, just four of them together, capturing four moments of a particular event. I also decided to start off with a simple and more upbeat theme. This poem is silly really, and I wrote it almost spontaneously, without thinking about it, but oh well. Hope you all like it, anyway.

The Frog

A little green frog
sits upon a big, green tree.
Then rain! And he’s gone.

Washed down the river,
bubbles and foamy water
mask the small frog’s fate.

The deluge now ends,
the stillness interrupted
by one final drop.

A splash on a leaf.
The leaf quivers, and out jumps
the little green frog.

So there we have it, the first day is done. In the next few days I am going to dive into some of the harder forms, and of course some free verse, to try and shake myself firmly into this challenge. But for now, I have started, and that’s the main thing.

Good luck to those of you doing this challenge. And for those of you who are not, good luck reading all my awful poems that will no doubt grace the pages of my blog in the coming weeks.

19 thoughts on “Poetry Writing Month begins! Oh fine, I’ll show you my first poem too…

  1. Pingback: More Sunshine | mywithershins

  2. Nice, I like it very much. Simplicity is always a good place to begin. When I was in high school and even early in college, I over-thought my poetry soooo much. I go back and read it now and it’s a struggle to read because I tried too hard, haha.

    Also, I love frogs.

    Favorite line: Then rain! And he’s gone.

    • Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree, it’s good to start simple. I think I made the same mistakes with poetry when I was younger, and in fact I think most people do because there is this false belief that poetry is supposed to be complex and over-thought, etc, when really it’s not. Now I realise that even when using complex forms, poetry should never be forced, because if it is it usually shows.

      I love frogs too – we have 3 little pet frogs at my house, and one of them, Charlie, looks exactly like the one in this picture, except Charlie is only about a centimetre big (and about a year old). He is adorable though, and is getting this really funny personality – he shows off when he realises someone is looking at him.

      I liked that line too. It was when I wrote that line I realised I wanted to know where he’d gone, so I decided to write more haikus to tell the story, hahaha.

  3. I’m glad the frog was okay! Cute picture to illustrate your poem. I love little frogs. I have an army/colony/knot ( I looked up frog group names here: http://www.writers-free-reference.com/172groupnames.htm ) of frog-related garden statues.

    I liked your frog poem and look forward to reading more of your poetry. I’m cheating and will be posting poems I like from various sources maybe once a week. BTW, I did mention the challenge on today’s blog and directed folks here. Hope you don’t mind.

    • I agree, I love little frogs too – we have three tiny frogs at home as pets, and they’re all smaller than a centimetre each. One of them, Charlie, looks just like the frog in the picture. Apparently they are all only going to grow to a few centimetres big, so they’ll always be cute.
      Thank you, I’m glad you liked it. I look forward to seeing some of the poems you post, as well! And that’s fine mentioning the challenge and linking here, doesn’t bother me at all! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I have what some call a hunch, that I won’t be having to FORCE myself through god-awful poetry submitted by you. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Quite a nice poem to kick start the challenge I must say. It is a good thing it is not a competition lest I feel I would drown in “…Then rain!”

  5. I like the frog picture and I liked the poem too (not a great poetry reader though). Simple, effective and the frog jumps and that should always happen!

    • Thank you, glad you liked it! That’s what I was aiming for – people underestimate the power of the haiku, and seem to lump it in with limericks as a joke poem, when actually the haiku is a poetic form built around simplicity and sharp images. And you’re right, the frog should always jump – the poem definitely needed to end on that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I won’t be forcing myself to read your poems if they’re all as wonderful as this. That was cute.

    My most recent poem was something I wrote last month and I struggled with it so much but I was probably trying to hard.

    Also I applaud your dedication (or shall we call it insantity? ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) at taking on such huge challenges this month. I’d send you some wonderful caffinated beverages if I could.

    • Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ™‚ I must confess I enjoyed writing that one, it was very spontaneous. I don’t even know where it came from, I think I was just thinking about frogs. I guess I do have pet frogs so…

      Yeah, that’s the thing with poetry, although it can be hard work to play with the words and get them just right, you should never be forcing it or trying too hard, and if you do, that’s the time to walk away for a little while and return to it later with a fresher mind. I have moments like this with poems, and it can often take a couple of weeks to realise what I’m doing wrong. I have had poems before that go for pages, and when I’ve got them right, I’ve cut them down to just a few lines. Sometimes I’m miles off.

      And thank you, hahaha, I think I will be drinking quite a bit of coffee this month. At least I won’t be working to much, initially due to illness, but then I am on holidays for 2 weeks anyway after this week. That has certainly been well timed ๐Ÿ˜›

What do you think?

