This Day In Music: A must-have book for music enthusiasts

As you might have noticed by now, I am a bit of a music enthusiast. I love music, and own far more albums than I do books (a fact which shocks some people), but I also love knowing about the musicians and albums, and I love music trivia.

If this sounds like you, you’ll probably get a kick out of the book This Day In Music: An Everyday Record of 10,000 Musical Facts by Neil Cossar. The book is divided into a page a day, and on each page are listed all the musicians who were born on that day, and all the interesting events and facts that occurred on that day as well, all accompanied with photographs, newspaper clippings, and other various visual material.

It is true that there is also a website for This Day In Musicfrom which the book was first born. In fact, you can now follow this on Twitter, Facebook, and of course there’s even mobile apps for it for people who feel a particular need to look something up while on the go. But personally I love flicking through the book, which I feel is presented in a nicer and warmer manner, and which I have noticed contains slightly different facts to those on the website – they seem to have taken some out and put new ones in – so you’re not getting the exact same information anyway (though for all I know they may have reprinted the book with different facts). The only drawback to the book is that the facts stop around 2005, when it was printed, but it is still fascinating all the same.

For a bit of fun, here are some facts from today, May 6 (it’s May 6 when I write this, not when it’s scheduled to publish…but then it’s always tomorrow here in Australia):

Born on this day: 

1945 – Bob Seger, US singer, songwriter

1967 – Mark Bryan, guitar, Hootie & The Blowfish

1971 – Chris Shiflett, guitar, Foo Fighters

On this day:

1973, Paul Simon set out on his first tour without partner Art Garfunkel, using The Jesse Dixon Singers as a back- up group on stage. Simon’s tour of America and Europe was recorded and released as ‘Live Rhymin’.

1977, The Boomtown Rats played their first gig in England when they appeared at Studio 51, London.

1995, Oasis scored their first UK No.1 single when ‘Some Might Say’ went to the top of the UK charts.

Of course, this is just a tiny portion of the facts for each day both in the book and on the website, so if you want more, buy the book or check the website, or even better – do both!

Are you a music trivia lover like me? If so, what’s your favourite piece of music trivia?

10 thoughts on “This Day In Music: A must-have book for music enthusiasts

  1. I’m a fan of ‘The Oldies’, having grown up with music from the 60s & 70s. We have a radio station now called FAB which only plays songs from these eras, so I can sing along with all (most) of them.

    This book would be perfect for a friend of ours. He’s in a band, so has researched a lot of music for his band to play and knows the songs’ names, the artists, and the year their hits came out. Whenever we play Trivial Pursuit, he always gets the music questions. On second thought, if we’re going to have an edge in the game, I should buy it for myself! lol

    • Ahh, that would be an awesome radio station! We don’t seem to have too many radio stations around here that play older music from the 60s and 70s…so I just bought a lot of it on CD instead haha. I love music from those eras as well, although I love a lot of newer music too. But I mean, I’m listening to Led Zeppelin as I write this… 😛
      Haha, I was just thinking this, as you were talking about your friend – buy the book for yourself first, beat him at Trivial Pursuit with it, then give it to him! I am the same, I always do well with music trivia. Books like this help, but I think I am also just a bit obsessive sometimes 😛

  2. Interesting! I think you would like Black Vinyl White Powder by Simon Napier-Bell, the man who managed the Yardbirds and discovered Marc Bolan. It tells the history of British popular music from 1950 through 2000, and it is filled with fascinating tidbits and stories about bands/musicians like the Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, David Bowie, etc. It’s kind of boring once it gets into the ’90s and the Spice Girls become popular, but the majority of the book is really interesting!

    • Oh wow, that would be really interesting to read, especially from a man with the sort of experiences he had in the music world! I will definitely have to look into that, thanks for the recommendation! 😀

What do you think?

