You beauty! (The Beautiful Blogger Award)

Continuing the awards catch up, I have been nominated twice in the last month for the Beautiful Blogger Award, once by Literary Tiger from The Tiger’s Eye, and the other time by Heather from Bitsnbooks. If you haven’t been to these two lovely ladies’ blogs, you’re missing out, so hop over there now!

Thank you both so much for the nomination, it means the world to me that you would think so highly of my blog.

Now, as always, there are rules for this award, but as I am finding with a lot of awards, they seem to be changing depending on where I am reading. As usual, you’re supposed to link it back to the givers of the award, as well as passing it on to other bloggers, but in some cases this is all you have to do, whereas others have specified that you’re supposed to reveal things about yourself. So I’m going to twist it for my own purposes, and reveal five things I think are beautiful in the world.

Five beautiful things:

  1. The sound of the ocean. There is something infinitely beautiful about that sound, something which reaches into the very depths of our souls, and which stirs us in powerful ways. While we might often return from the beach covered in sand and grit and needing to wash desperately, I always find myself feeling cleansed in other ways from a good trip to the beach. I think I would struggle living too far away from a coastline, no matter where in the world I live in the future.
  2. Waking up before the sun on a day off.Β Don’t get me wrong, I love sleeping in, and I struggle to function in the mornings without my coffee. As we head into winter here in Australia, I am naturally waking up before the sun most days anyway for work, and some mornings I strongly dislike this fact. But every now and then, I like to wake up just as early on a day off as well – enjoy the start of the day, relaxing, and making the most of the whole day. You soon forget about the sleep-in once you’re enjoying the morning.
  3. The first few moments of starting a new book.Β You hold it in your hands (a real book), breathe in its smell, as your mind whirls with the possibilities contained within. The excitement that I feel when I start a new book is an amazing sensation, incomparable to much else in life. It’s also amazing when you can’t put the darn thing down!
  4. The aroma of coffee permeating the air in a cafe. This smell alone perks me up, and I do that thing where I stop where I am, close my eyes, and take a deep breath, before letting out a resounding “ahhh.”
  5. Relaxing with family and friends. Yes, I know this is somewhat predictable. I’m at a point in my life where I essentially live alone, and am quite busy most of the time. I also am vaguely aware that the next few years of my life will no doubt bring profound change to my life. With all this in mind, lately I have really been enjoying just spending time with my family and my friends – it doesn’t matter what we are doing, it’s just being with them that counts.

And now for some beautiful blogs:

mywithershins

Perfect Nostalgia

J. Keller Ford, Young Adult Author

A. J. Jenner

embracingthegeek

Arab Writer Chick

easyondeyes

These blogs are all beautiful, and of course they are only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to beautiful blogs – there are many I didn’t mention (the list could have been many times longer), and all the blogs I have mentioned before in awards posts (I generally try and mention different ones each time to try and share the blog love) are also beautiful in their own ways! So if you want more ideas for blogs worth checking out, have a look at the posts in my Awards category from the right-hand menu.

Now, time to crawl into bed with a cup of tea and a good book.

31 thoughts on “You beauty! (The Beautiful Blogger Award)

  1. You deserve an Amazing List Award. There, I’ve just given it to you. πŸ™‚
    May I add to it, though? Six : The few seconds of silence that precedes the first note of your favourite song.

  2. Thank you for including me in your award list! I really appreciate it ^_^ I enjoy reading your blog entries. Keep it up and power to you!

    • Hahaha, gotta love typos! πŸ˜› Not a problem about including you, you write great blogs too! I’m glad you enjoy my ramblings (though I really must get back to actually talking about books). πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you for the award and for revealing the things you find most beautiful in the world. I too, love the sound of waves crashing against the shore and although I live in a land-locked province, lake Winnipeg is like an inland sea. Now that our cottage has sold, I will have to make a few day trips to a nearby public beach in order to get my ‘wave fix’ – or listen to my wave CD. πŸ™‚

    • I imagine I could probably live near a large lake if I wasn’t near the sea – I guess being near water is probably the main thing. And there are some beautiful lakes out there too. If I wasn’t so close to so many beaches I definitely think I would need to have a wave cd or something similar. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ And glad to hear you agree – it actually took me a while to think of them. I mean, I can think of lots of beautiful things, but I was really trying to capture 5 things that mean a lot to me, that I can relate to, and I wanted to limit myself to just 5 (because let’s face it, I can ramble on a bit when I let myself πŸ˜› ).

  4. Love love love your list! Especially the second point; I love waking up at that magical time when the sun isn’t up yet, but the earth is shrouded in a soft gray light and the birds are waking up and singing their morning songs. It’s so peaceful!

    • Yes, exactly! πŸ˜€ You captured what I was trying to say a lot more poetically than I ended up saying it (I was sleepy when writing this post…at least, that’s the excuse I’ll use). But yeah, there is something incredibly peaceful about it – I once saw in the new year that way. Interestingly, it was a very peaceful and soul-discovering kind of year. πŸ™‚

  5. Congratulations on the award and thank you for thinking of me. I’m so with you on the sound of the ocean and the aroma of coffee in a cafe being beautiful things. I love both.

    I’m off to explore more blogs, now. TTFN

    • Hahaha, I always have lots of things about myself I’d like to tell the world (hey, you gotta have something good to talk about, right? :P). But I thought I’d change it up for a bit of fun. At some point soon I need to stop talking about myself and get backs to books and writing. πŸ™‚

  6. Congrats and thanks for passing on more good blogs to read! I’ve recently received the One Lovely Blog award and am passing it on to wantoncreation. Now you can claim a beautiful and a lovely blog among the other accolades – love the blog, keep the good reads (books and blogs) coming!
    (I think we met via Reading Today so just a heads up that it’s at my alter-ego blog http://frifflethoughts.wordpress.com).

    • Oh, thank you so much! πŸ˜€ Yes I think you’re right, we did meet at Reading Today (I know I follow that one), I don’t know I realised you had an alter-ego blog so I shall check that out! Thank you again! πŸ˜€

  7. Pingback: Beautiful Blogger, Lovely Blog | mywithershins

  8. Perfect – I came by as I hopped across the blog-world and you deserve this beautiful blogger award because I love the way you twisted the rules! You made it beautiful with your creativity! Congrats anyway!

    • I only just found this comment now – this comment went into my spam for some reason? (Which is odd, because you left another comment elsewhere on my blog which didn’t have this issue?) Anyway, thank you so much for your comment, what a lovely thing to say! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

