The 100th Blog Post!

It’s hard to believe it really. Five months and six days after I started this blog, I am writing my hundredth blog post. From extremely humble and unsure beginnings, my blog has evolved into an equally unsure manifestation of many of my interests. But with over two hundred followers, and pageviews and comments more than ten times that which I was getting back in my first couple of months, I find myself humbled and stunned, and I’m forever grateful for my awesome readers.

So, with this in mind, the first thing I want to do is thank you all, once again, for continuing to return here to read my ramblings about books and (increasingly) other things. This has been an amazing journey so far, and I have met some downright incredible people through blogging, people who inspire me and give me reason to keep blogging, to keep writing, to keep reading, and to keep some other fourth thing.*

I thought I’d share a few interesting stats from my first hundred posts. Firstly, my most popular post in terms of comments is (perhaps unsurprisingly) my About page, but only by one comment. This is very closely followed by my post “What Do You Mean You Haven’t Read THAT?” in which I discussed books I haven’t read but people assume I have, and this is followed by my “For The Love Of Reading” post, my “Do You Listen To Music While Writing” post, and “Where’d All My Bookmarks Go?“, in which I admitted my habit of starting more books than I finish.

When it comes to pageviews, my post “What do you think makes a good ending?” is the most viewed (by a huge amount, in fact). This is followed by the “Do You Listen To Music While Writing” post, my About page, and oddly enough, my very first “On Poetry” post – something which initially didn’t receive a strong reception, but seems to have performed well in the long run.

If you haven’t seen these posts, they seem to be the most popular so far, for one reason or another, so maybe they’ll offer something for you? Or maybe not.

Now to talk about the future of this blog, something I am personally quite excited about. I will continue to write about books and writing, and am going to try and write at least one post about books each week, whether it be a review of a book I have just finished, or a discussion of one of the other books on my shelves that I think is worth sharing and possibly persuading many of you to add to your own collections and lists of books to read (muhahaha). But I also plan to introduce, from next week, a weekly post on music. Many of you have probably noticed I love music almost as much as I love books, so I am going to write more expanded posts on what I am listening to each week, probably on a Monday. I try to write three to four posts a week, so the other one or two posts each week will just depend on what I feel like, but will likely be about writing or books, or whatever other nerdy thing takes my fancy.

Thank you for putting up with me for the first hundred posts, and I hope to see you all at the end of the next hundred.

Happy blogging!

*It just felt like a fourth thing belonged in this list.

35 thoughts on “The 100th Blog Post!

  1. Congrats on your 100th and here is to wishing you continued success (I just floated my coffee mug in the air)! I am really looking forward to your posts on Music. Truth is, that post from you sticks out for me. Amazing how much your blog has grown in such a short period of time (has it really only been 5 months?!). Congrats again! If you write, we will read…

    • Thank you so much! It sounds like a lot of people are keen on the music posts, so I am looking forward to starting those. It does completely astound me how much my blog has grown in such a short time. I never expected it to do so. And it does feel strange when I realise it’s only 5 months old…I feel like I’ve been doing it for years (but in a good way (actually, this year has been very slow, and it’s rare I find myself saying that)).
      Thank you again for all your support over the last few months! 🙂

  2. Congrats for making it this far in just a couple of months! I’m excited to read more of your blog posts in the future. Keep on writing!

  3. Good for you! I have been remiss in blogging lately, but your post has inspired me to continue. Good job on the 100th post. I’m sure the 200th will come up sooner than you think. 🙂

    • I know how you feel – there are some weeks where it is just a lot harder to blog, especially when the rest of your life becomes busier (this has been my biggest challenge the last month or two, at any rate). I think I’m feeling rejuvenated though right now, and feeling like I’m going to try and put more effort back into my blogging. I think I’ll get to my 200th before the year’s end, probably! 😛
      Thank you! 🙂

  4. A hundred! *whistles*
    You know what? I’m not surprised. I look forward to your posts – you’ve increased my to-read list by fifty, at least, and I love your taste in music (heh heh), so keep ’em coming! 🙂

    • Hahahaha, mind I’d feel awful if in a few months time people start coming back “Oi Matt, you said these books were good? Are you insane? I’m never taking your advice again!” Hahahaha. Fingers crossed that doesn’t happen!
      Will be good to do the music section, I think a lot of people are looking forward to that one, and it will be fun to connect to people on a different level too! 🙂

      • Ah, it’s okay. See, I know our tastes differ on some accounts. I didn’t really like The Kite Runner, whereas you seem to have loved it. So I won’t throw (virtual) stones at you, don’t worry. 🙂
        And I know our music tastes overlap quite a bit, so it’s brilliant that you’re deciding to expand on the music section. I’m pretty sure I’m going to gobble up every new band that you recommend!

        • Hahahaha okay then! 😛 But yes, I doubt anybody shares their tastes completely with mine (it’s part of the reason why I flitter between wildly different books on this blog, to try and cover a range of different people I suppose). But it is nice to see other people’s tastes, and interesting to hear why they might like something that I don’t really, and vice versa. 🙂
          Yeah, it looks like our music tastes are quite similar, although I am very very open minded about my music listening…maybe a little too open minded hahaha…but we’ll see! I’ll be writing that post tomorrow at some point, and I already know a couple of albums I plan on talking about. 🙂

          • Yes! And I’ve picked up a lot of books that I wouldnt have otherwise (Haven’t read them yet, but that’s another “so many books” story :P).

            Music is something I have very fixed ideas about, unfortunately. I will never voluntarily listen to Lady Gaga or Justin Timberlake — but if it’s the Blues, or.. you know, things I like, I’ll lap it up.
            Anyway. Have you listened to The Derek Trucks Band? 🙂

            • Hahahaha I know what you mean. I don’t listen to that kind of ‘pop’ music, but I am still pretty open minded about music.
              And no, I haven’t heard of the Derek Trucks Band, are they good? 🙂

              • Yes! I heard about them because of the 2007 Crossroads Guitar Festival, and then I tracked down an album – Roadsongs, I think it’s called. Derek Trucks plays the slide guitar, and honestly? You should see him up on stage playing with Clapton and Doyle Bramhall II. I grin like a maniac every time I watch the DVD. 😀

  5. How time flies! Congratulations on achieving your 100th blog post. To celebrate, would you like to be my next interviewee on my blog next Sunday? Let me know and I will send you my email address and questions to answer. 🙂

What do you think?

