Book Haul #(Insert large number here)

After banning myself from buying books for several months due to several unforeseen circumstances (and also because I have so many already on my shelves yet to be read), the cravings became too much this last week, and I ordered a bunch of new books. All but one of these have arrived now, so I decided it’s time for a book haul post! Let me know if you have read/want to read any of these (many of these I have bought because of recommendations from other bloggers and readers).

The Night Circus I’ve actually borrowed off my Mum, which might be the first time this has ever happened (we have vastly different tastes in books usually). Miss Peregrine’s caught my attention just from the title and cover, let alone the idea behind it. And I have read a few really good reviews of Ready Player One and decided it was time to give it a go.

About Love is a collection of short stories by Anton Chekhov, who I have studied many times before but, bizarrely, I owned none of his books until now. The Midnight Palace is Zafon’s second book from nearly two decades ago, but has only recently been translated into English, which is great as he is one of my favourite writers. The Sense of an Ending was the 2011 Man Booker Prize winner, so I want to find out why.

All three of these are books by the hugely popular John Green, and all three I have read reviews of in other book blogs, so I wanted to find out what all the fuss is about!

Two more medieval history books. The first one, Medieval Intrigue, focuses on medieval conspiracies, which should be really interesting!

What books have you bought recently?

28 thoughts on “Book Haul #(Insert large number here)

  1. First Astarteia, now you. I want to do a book haul post!
    I really do need to read The Fault In Our Stars. All the amazing reviews it’s receiving is making me unbearably curious.

    • Muhahaha. I did it on purpose just to annoy you! πŸ˜›
      Yeah, The Fault In Our Stars is definitely up there, one of those books I had to buy because I’ve read so many reviews about it lately. I hope it is actually good hahahaha.

      • Okay, that’s it. I’m putting up a post with my books….soon. I have a feeling you’d like quite a few of them. πŸ˜›
        I’m going to decide whether to get it based on your review. So you have to be brutally honest okay?

  2. Quite an interesting variety of topics you have there! The medieval history books look like something I should investigate for a fantasy story I’m working on. I’ve heard some excellent reviews on Fault In Our Stars, although I’ve been warned to have a box of Kleenex handy while reading it. I regret I haven’t been in a bookstore in a long time and the last time I actually bought books was at a used book store several months ago where I bought some kids books for my grandson and a series of books on Native Americans – The People series (People of the Lakes, People of the Earth, etc.) Happy reading! πŸ™‚

    • That is typical of me actually, to branch out to a lot of different topics (I do the same with large music hauls, too, where I’ll buy music from several different genres…guess I just have eclectic tastes?). The Medieval Intrigue book is by Ian Mortimer, who wrote a lot of those books I reviewed in that Medieval history post I wrote a month or so ago. I’ve heard the same thing about The Fault In Our Stars! I must admit I’m not in bookstores all that often, as I buy far too many of my books online these days.

        • Ahhh, see the bookstores in Australia aren’t great, so a lot of the books I want just aren’t stocked here. And when there’s a site in the UK which ships books to anywhere in the world with free shipping….it’s hard to argue with it. Saves me so much money too that way. Haven’t gotten into the e-books thing yet though.

  3. The medieval conspiracy book looks amazing. I’ve ready Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I enjoyed it and thought the book itself was a bit peculiar in a delightful way. The Fault In Our Stars was breathtakingly tragic and utterly fantastic. I had to buy it. I understand Green’s Looking For Alaska is glorious but TFIOS beats it hands down. I haven’t read any of the others so keep us posted on what you think of them.

    • Medieval Intrigue does look good, and the main conspiracy, one surrounding Edward II, directly relates to a novel I’m writing, so I’ll be curious to read that one. The others I am all excited about, and will definitely post on them once I finish them! πŸ™‚

  4. The Night Circus is sitting on my Kindle waiting to be read, as for the others I have heard of some but that`s it ….
    Books I have bought recently, The Hunger Games Trilogy, The Bang-Bang Club (photographers in South Africa during the end of Apartheid), Quiet (Susan Cain, on Introversion), The Pyschopath Test (Jon Ronson). Working my way through Quiet right now, but not reading as much as I should be.

    • Ahhh, they are some awesome books you have bought recently. Have just recently read The Hunger Games Trilogy and am now teaching it (which is so awesome in itself). I haven’t read The Psychopath Test yet, but I went to a lecture by Jon Ronson at the Festival of Dangerous Ideas in Sydney last year, where he discussed that book and his research for it, was absolutely fascinating. I know how you feel…I am not reading anywhere near as much as I should be, though during a couple of weeks I have off work in July I intend on rectifying this.

  5. Wow! That’s plenty! I want new books too! Who cares if you finished reading what’s already on the shelf – it’s your birthright to buy more and more of ’em! πŸ˜›

  6. LOVE the look of the Mediaeval conspiracy book!

    Did you know that The Night Circus started out as a NaNoWriMo novel? I haven’t read it, but it’s on my list πŸ™‚

What do you think?

