A lovely blog award

One word which could quite easily describe my blogging experience thus far is the word ‘lovely’. This very same word could also be used to describe many of the bloggers who follow me, and who I follow back; it could also be used to describe the often insightful and entertaining posts by many of these same bloggers. And it most certainly can describe how I felt to be nominated for the One Lovely Blog award twice fairly recently.

RebeccaV nominated me on her wonderful blog Friffle Thoughts, and a few days later I was nominated again by Coach Sue on her inspiring The Courage To Adventure Blog. Thanks ladies for the nomination – it really is appreciated, and it’s always great to have these awards posts to connect to other blogs too!

Now, the rules are fairly similar to other awards – link back to the person who nominated you, write seven random facts about yourself, nominate a bunch of people and remember to tell them. So, on to the facts (are you guys bored of my random facts on these posts yet? Considering I gave you 26 more of them on my personal timeline post recently too…):

1. The longest word I know how to spell is pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis. At 45 letters long, this word is 11-12 letters longer than supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (some versions of this word omit one of the last vowels, the ‘i’ I think?), and 17 letters longer than antidisestablishmentarianism. Sadly, I knew how to spell all three words by the age of 8. Why? I have no idea.

2. When I was younger I had a fear of swimming, a fear of heights, and a fear of spiders. My fear of swimming I eventually conquered by learning to swim, my fear of heights I think I beat when I realised that the view was worth the climb in most cases, and my fear of spiders has just been rationalised down to the question “is it dangerous?” (Which, in Australia, the answer is often ‘yes’, though my general fear has gone and I definitely don’t leap away with fright anymore – I can take care of getting rid of a spider if need be).

3. I’m right this minute wearing an old red sweater that I have owned for over 10 years, since I was a pimpley teenager (this is a lie, I never had trouble with pimples). My weight has gone up and down like a yo-yo over this time, yet, no matter what size I am, this sweater always fits just perfectly. I wish I knew how it did that. And I wish my other clothes would do that.

4. I’m good at sudoku. Really good. Frightfully good. Magnificently good. Maybe ever gooder than that (I’m heaps gooder at English though (gooder is totally a word (okay, maybe it’s not))). Speaking of sudoku… this week I’ve been decorating a little classroom that is mostly used for extension mathematics groups with different groups of students, some of which I run myself at the school at which I work. The kids had an awesome idea – we’re going to create giant sudoku posters, laminate them, put them up on the walls, and that way students (and teachers, for that matter) can use whiteboard markers to play the games, over and over again! As I said, this was one of my student’s ideas – I was very impressed.

5. While we’re on the topic of maths, I happen to be freakishly quick at basic arithmetic. I’m pretty good at maths on the whole, but for some reason I have always been able to crunch numbers in my head really fast, often quicker than the time it takes people to punch these numbers into a calculator (there are limits to my abilities though of course). I forget every now and then in front of my students that I can do this and that it’s not quite normal. An example: the other day I heard one student, while working out a bigger problem, ask her friend “what’s 7.5 times 25” and without the slightest hesitation I blurted out “187.5”. When the room fell silent, I turned around slowly to find the students staring at me in disbelief. I just told them if they keep working things out without a calculator one day they’ll be able to do this too (maybe).

6. I’ve just found out I have quite bad sleep apnea, and have realised I’ve probably had it for a while, which would explain a lot of other health problems I’ve had, not to mention being really tired all the time. It’s kind of funny though – it’s had me thinking about how we sometimes trick ourselves into thinking that the way we feel, physically, mentally, emotionally, is perfectly normal and healthy, that it’s how everybody else must feel all day, when it’s not. When things like this happen, I am torn between sadness that I have been struggling without being aware of this fact, and also excitement at the thought that if I can do as much as I have been doing with this, imagine how much more I can do when my health is sorted out and I’m sleeping normally again!

7. I prefer Winter to Summer. This is probably because I live in Australia, where our Winters are often the same temperature and climate as most of the world’s Spring or Autumn (if not as warm as their Summers), and our Summers just become scorching and sweltering and make everything uncomfortable and exhausting. Sure it’s great to go to the beach on those hot days (and I do live near some stunning beaches), but it’s just not the same as wrapping yourself in extra layers, sitting by a fire or heater drinking hot chocolate, and indulging in other clichéd wintry pastimes.

Now for the people I would like to nominate for this award (I have tried to nominate lovely blogs that I am pretty sure I haven’t nominated before for an award, but knowing me my memory will have failed me (I know I could go back and check my old awards posts, but…but…)):

Writer’s Block 

Embracing The Geek

The Preeminent Litterateur

Robin Coyle

Mediaeval Musings

Tracy Loves History

Lea At Sea

Throwing My Weights Around

Write, Aubrey, Write

Words Can Break Hearts

All of these blogs are fantastic, and blogs which I regularly visit, so make sure you drop by each one, as you’re bound to find something you like there.

I actually think for the first time in months I have caught up with all my awards posts! Coming up later this week, I’ll review The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes, and write some other post I haven’t thought of yet.

Happy reading!

10 thoughts on “A lovely blog award

  1. So, that long word you can spell? That’s nuts. I can’t even read it properly – all those letters keep running together. And what does it mean? I get you on the item of clothing that fits no matter how much you eat. All my cardigans always fit me, well, aside from not being able to button up like they used to. But they still look damn good!

    • Yeah, it’s a pretty crazy long word, think it’s the longest word in the Oxford English dictionary? Something like that. It’s a type of pneumonia actually, and for me the way I memorised it at such a young age was by breaking it down into smaller words (there’s a lot of smaller words or fragments of words within it, if you look carefully – the word ‘volcano’ appears in its entirety towards the end of the word (hahahaha “towards the end of the word”….how ridiculous)). I think the way I memorised those words, and the way my mind does maths (often I don’t work out the maths, the answer just kind of appears) reveals something about the way my brain works…but I can’t quite figure out what. Oh well. 😛
      I do love that about winter actually – I swear I look better in winter clothes! Maybe it’s just easier to hide how unhealthy I really am in winter under all these clothes – I can give the illusion I am healthy bahaha.

    • What is pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis, you ask? A type of pneumonia, to cut a long story short. Also the longest word in the Oxford English dictionary, or some similar publication, can’t remember for certain. 😛
      And no problems about the nomination 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for the nomination. It is, as I mentioned on my side, my first nomination for anything. Ever. (If you don’t count junior school general knowledge quizzes.) I am now driving my family mad, running about the place telling them that I have “one lovely blog”. They might not thank you, but I do. Twice.

  3. Congrats on the award! You are one great speller! Any idea what that word means? 🙂

    I wish I could see numbers in my head as well as you! That’s probably why you’re so good at Sudoku. I’m lousy at it – even the easy ones! lol

    I, too, like stretchy clothes that fit no matter what size you are. 🙂

    Good luck with your sleep apnea. Dealing with it will help you get the sleep you need. And yes, it is funny how you can go through life thinking everyone feels as you do instead of admitting there’s a problem. Take care. 🙂

    • That word is, essentially, a kind of pneumonia. I always was a freaky speller. Still am…I kind of can feel how a word would be spelt, even if I haven’t seen it or heard it before. It’s odd, but there you go.
      It could be why I’m good at sudoku, yeah. I find my head just seems to see patterns in things very easily. I don’t really understand my own mind, to be honest, it functions in really odd ways. Because there are some things I should be good at that I utterly suck at, hahaha. 😛
      Thank you, I plan on getting control of my health again now, I think the sleep apnea has been a much needed wake-up call – I’m 26, so I should be healthy and fit like a 26 year old. The second half of this year is going to be an enormous health kick. 🙂

What do you think?

