30 Day Music Challenge Day 3 – My favourite genre of music

Not too long ago, I watched a documentary about Hugh Laurie and his recent dabbling in blues music with his album titledΒ Let Them Talk. When the topic of genres came up, he quite simply said “I don’t see the point of genres – there’s only really good music, and bad music, and that’s all you need to know.” Or something to that effect. And I must confess that this point of view does resonate quite strongly with me.

However, I should give a proper answer to this topic, so I’m going to keep it simple. My favourite genre is…

ROCK!

There, that was easy, wasn’t it? Yes, I love rock music, and all the various sub-genres that fall under it (I mean really, almost every genre in contemporary music owes something to the rock genre).

To fully appreciate the power of rock music, and how it can save the day in a range of situations, watch the following clip (yes I know it’s from a cartoon movie…and the song doesn’t start until a couple of minutes into it…but the first time I watched this I laughed so much I cried):

Rock on kids, rock on!

What’s your favourite genre of music?

What are your thoughts on Hugh Laurie’s (rather paraphrased) statement about genres?

13 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 3 – My favourite genre of music

  1. 100% wth Hugh Laurie there. Have to go and have a lie down now, I am in shock after watching that strange, singing piece of bath equipment – walks off looking bemused πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge – The Beginning! | wantoncreation

  3. Well that made me laugh πŸ™‚ as for which genre depends on the mood and i probably wouldn’t know even if you asked me, which is of cause what you are doing; Lonestar, Jack Johnson, Meatloaf, Ingrid Michaelson, sometimes a bit of classical too.

    • Hahaha, that movie is surprisingly good, actually! David Hasselhoff is really in it, probably the best role he’s ever had.
      Ahhh okay, so you listen to a mixture of genres by the looks of things! I do love Jack Johnson, and I remember listening to Meatloaf a lot when I was younger. And I often try and find some time for classical too πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge Day 4: A band/artist you’d recommend to someone new to your favourite genre | wantoncreation

  5. Haha! I must say, that’s the first time I’ve actually watched Sponge Bob for more than a second before flipping the channel! That clip was pretty funny, though! My niece is always telling me how much she loves Sponge Bob and she will be 30 this year! Whatever keeps us young, right? πŸ™‚

    I suppose my favourite genre is classic rock because I know the songs so well, I can sing along. (After listening to them for over 40 years, they are a comfort!) I do listen to other genres like classical music, newer rock as long as it’s not head-banger stuff, even old show tunes because Mom & Dad used to listen to them a lot when I was growing up.

    • Spongebob is actually quite often clever, I think – I find it can genuinely make me laugh, and the movie especially made me howl with laughter at points. I think I particularly like it because I grew up with some of the very first Nickelodeon cartoons, such as Ren and Stimpy and Rocko’s Modern Life, and I find Spongebob reminds me of those shows (though it’s nowhere near as questionable in content as those shows were, and much less likely to get banned).
      I do really love classic rock, it’s hard to beat some of those classic bands from the 60s and 70s. I wish I had been around to see those bands back in the day. Maybe one day we’ll discover time travel. :p

What do you think?

