30 Day Music Challenge Day 4: A band/artist you’d recommend to someone new to your favourite genre

As we established in yesterday’s post, my favourite genre of music is, overall, rock music. Now, if you’re somebody who is new to the rock genre, I have one key question to ask you:

WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN FOR THE PAST FIFTY YEARS? LIVING UNDER A ROCK? Oh hey I didn’t even mean that pun.

Anyway, I guess there are some kids out there who are under the illusion dubstep is actually a type of music and not just an arrangement of screechy sounds (uh oh, I’m starting to sound old aren’t I?), so I guess there may be some people unfamiliar with rock.

Firstly, there are some bands you definitely want to avoid if you’re new to the genre of rock music. Don’t listen to Nickelback, as rock music is not this repetitive and soulless, I assure you. Also, any band fronted by the Paddle Pop Lion should be distrusted immediately. Actually I just wanted to take a cheap swipe at Nickelback in this paragraph, so I’ll move on now (this has to be the least serious blog post I’ve ever written).

Okay, so when it comes to rock music, it has evolved a lot over the ages. It had its beginnings in the fifties and particularly the sixties, with many bands and artists famously “going electric” or turning to rock music during their careers, most notably The Beatles and Bob Dylan, who had lasting influences on the genre. Through the seventies, eighties, nineties and beyond spun such sub-genres as metal, punk, ย and grunge music, all with fans who remain hardcore metalheads, punks, or fans of grunge to this day.

My best advice if you’re new to the genre? Go back to some of the great rockers from the sixties and seventies, and use this to find your way to more recent rock. Listen to The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Who, The Doors, Deep Purple, Pink Floyd, Queen, Led Zeppelin and more. For me, you can’t go past Led Zeppelin for that classic rock sound, particularly songs like this live rendition of Immigrant Song:

Who are your favourite rockers from the days of classic rock and from more recent decades?

Who would you recommend to somebody new to the genre (if such a thing exists)?

15 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 4: A band/artist you’d recommend to someone new to your favourite genre

  1. I have to be honest and say that the sixties was my era and although I do love some of today’s bands, Noah and the Whale, Scissor Sisters, and so on if it was the old desert island scenario I would have to take my Beatles stuff, some Stones, The Who, The Doors yes, and on and on. I suppose all teenagers believe that “their” music is best but actually I think it was ours in the sixties that had the greatest impact and continues to even today.

    • I must confess, I think you could be right about the sixties era of music, and this is coming from somebody born in the eighties. There is great music around today, but it all owes its existence to the music of the sixties, without a doubt. I find I play just as much older music as newer music, and they probably share equal shelf space in my collection too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge – The Beginning! | wantoncreation

  3. I agree with you completely. I think starting with the The Beatles is the best way you could possibly go about it because the range of genres they’ve covered is so vast that they give you a way to discover what sound appeals to you the most. They’re the perfect way to ease into any rock-based genre. From what I’ve seen, bands like Floyd and Zeppelin take time to appreciate (especially if you haven’t grown up listening to them), but The Beatles, and Deep Purple, and to some extent even Queen, are instantly likeable.

    Hahaa, your Chad Kroeger jab cracked me up. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Yes, I agree actually. The Beatles are a good place to start, and I think with Deep Purple and Queen it’s best to start with their Greatest Hit collections – with Queen focusing on their first Greatist Hits which was all their best songs from the 70s, before they went all pop (although with time I have grown to appreciate their 80s sound more, but I definitely prefer them around their “A Night At The Opera” period…such an amazing album). ๐Ÿ™‚
      Glad somebody laughed at my random Chad Kroeger/Nickelback jab. I couldn’t help myself. ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. I think you are absolutely right about your choices, although if you’d ask my daughter, she might give you a different answer. I remember heading out to the cottage one day (she was about 13, into Backstreet Boys & N’Synch) and she forgot her CD player and headphones so had to listen to ‘our’ music. We slipped in a Beatles’ tape and played it all the way, despite her protests! Was she ever mad at us by the time we got there! lol Granted, it was one of their older albums with some of their more experimental stuff, but we really enjoyed ‘torturing’ her! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Bahaha, that is a funny story! I don’t think I was ever embarrassed by my parents’ music tastes…well, Dad’s anyway. Mum was into 80s stuff (she has Duran Duran and Culture Club records) but Dad has a lot of 70s rock. But I always liked older music…even as a young teen I was embarrassed more by the stuff that was popular, like Backstreet Boys etc. Wonder if it’s a boy thing, actually.

      • I think Daughter now has a better appreciation of the music from that era than she did back then. She got into Chicago after one of the songs was incorporated into a school musical in which she and her now-husband performed. I think musical taste, like a fine wine, must be aged. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Ah wow, now that is a cool story, I like that! I agree, it is definitely something one appreciates more with age (it didn’t take me much age to appreciate fine wine, I will confess – I am in serious danger of becoming a wine snob now…oh well ๐Ÿ˜› ).

    • Actually, just to add onto my last reply to this comment, I think it’s gone the other way with my parents! I had them over my place for my Birthday a couple of months ago, and I was playing Paul McCartney’s latest album in the background (which is an awesome covers album of songs that he grew up with), and they loved it so much they wanted it! I never thought it’d turn that way around but there you go! I must have good taste ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. Just don’t start at Nickelback is good enough advice for anyone.
    There are plenty of Best of lists (Rolling Stone magazine, 1001 albums to hear before you die) but I would start at Revolver, Exile on Main St, Bringing It All Back Home and Ziggy Stardust, The rest will take care of itself…

    • Hahaha, that is very true! ๐Ÿ˜› Great album choices too – Revolver is one of my favourites by The Beatles (though my favourite is Abbey Road, but it’s definitely weirder than Revolver), Bringing It All Back Home is one of my favourite Dylan albums, and Ziggy Stardust is probably my favourite Bowie album too (maybe tied with Hunky Dory).
      By the way, just thought I’d let you know that for some reason this comment found its way into my spam folder – I have no idea why because I can tell it’s not spam, but it’s something to keep in mind because it could be happening when you comment on other blogs too.

What do you think?

