30 Day Music Challenge Day 8: A song/album that makes you happy

To pick just one song or album that makes me happy is impossible. A lot of music makes me happy – some of it because it’s connected to happy memories, some of it because it’s simply upbeat, and in most cases because it’s music I like to sing out loud, much to the annoyance of anybody within hearing range. So here’s a few of my happy songs:

Banana Pancakes by Jack Johnson

This is off Jack Johnson’s third album, In Between Dreams, which has always been one of my favourites, and this is probably my favourite song off that album. Just listen to the lyrics as the song plays – it is impossible not to smile at this.

Runaway by Jamiroquai

I absolutely and unashamedly love Jamiroquai. This song was a new single written for the release of their greatest hits album High Times which they released a few years ago (before their latest studio album). I dare say this is one of the funkiest, most danceable songs they have ever written.

Fishies by The Cat Empire

This song is off The Cat Empire’s fourth album, So Many Nights. This amazing Aussie band is so full of energy and so upbeat, and are much loved over here for their amazing live shows. This song is bound to get you dancing or moving in one way or another.

Don’t Worry Baby by The Beach Boys

For me, anything by The Beach Boys is connected to childhood memories, as my parents would often play their music in the car when I was little. As an adult, I find myself blown away by their stunning harmonies, and I still connect this music to the beach, which for me is always a happy place.

What songs or albums make you happy? Why do you think they make you happy?

18 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 8: A song/album that makes you happy

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge – The Beginning! | wantoncreation

  2. I love banana pancakes – and the song is great, too! lol

    Runaway made me flashback to the disco era. I half expected the astronaut to take off in a rocket at the end. The accordion solo reminded me of my friend’s dad who used to play it when I was a kid.

    You’re right about Fishies, I couldn’t help but move too that one and the trumpet solo at the end was fantastic!

    You can never go wrong with the Beach Boys. I love singing along to them, too! 🙂

    • That’s the only problem with that Banana Pancakes song – it makes me want them!
      I think that’s what I like about that Jamiroquai song but also a lot of their songs – they are very disco-ey, but they are also very talented and Jay Kay is a great singer (and dancer). I wish there were more bands like that.
      All of The Cat Empire’s songs sound similar to that one, they’re just a very fun band! And I agree, The Beach Boys are always great. Having said that…I don’t know how much I want to hear their new album. 😛

  3. I am totally banned from singing (quite rightly I hasten to add – totally tone deaf) but when I’m mowing the grass with our very noisy lawn mower of vacuuming then yes I let it rip. Ah yes the Beach Boys !! Didn’t recognise the others but they were fun to listen to.

    • Hahaha, that reminds me of a man who used to mow our lawns at my parents house back when I lived there, he used to hum and whistle all the time when he mowed the lawns, and I often wondered if he wasn’t allowed to do so at home! 😛

    • Yep, it’s one of those songs that I think can even make you happy when you’re in a really crappy mood! I still haven’t seen Jack Johnson live, but when I do eventually get around to it I really hope he plays that song!

    • He’s pretty amazing, isn’t he? Even though his music doesn’t change much between albums, I actually like this – I don’t think I will ever be disappointed by anything he ever releases, to be honest. 🙂

    • Oh, I just don’t beliebe you said that! 😛 So any of his two songs make you happy? Hahaha okay I’ll stop teasing now! It’s cool you like him, to be honest – I always respect people’s musical tastes, because we all have our own at the end of the day! This comment of yours totally made my night, by the way. 🙂

      • Haha, just wait, someday you’ll become a belieber yourself 😉 just watch the movie! 😀 anyway, its not like i just listen to bieber.. I like alot of different types of music, but hanson and michael jackson is my favourites. I think.. Too much to choose from!! I’m probably spelling like crap right now, but i’m really tired haha i’m right now on my 25 hour long shift at work. So yup, sorry about my crappy english! ;D

        • Hahaha, maybe I will, maaaaybe I will. You three will have to work on me for some time to make that happen though 😛 I think it’ll take more than the movie, you’ll have to ease me into it, make it a smooth transition!
          Michael Jackson was pretty cool, definitely nobody like him today. But I can definitely sense a trend in the sort of music you like – upbeat dancey kind of stuff that you can sing too loudly on car trips, at parties, etc? 😉
          I dunno how you do those 25 hour shifts, that’d be so exhausting! But your English is just fine, especially considering that! So don’t worry about it, honestly! 🙂

          • Haha, i like all sorts of music 😀 it just depends on what mood i’m in wich music i listen to 🙂 you should listen to Markus Krunegård, a swedish artist that i’ve hated for like 5 years but florian loved him and just now a few months ago i could see why haha, he’s awesome!! My favourite song by him is “askan är den bästa jorden” its in swedish though so you wont know what he’s sayin but.. Anyway, listen to it!

            • Hahaha, yeah, sounds like me! But I guess this doesn’t surprise you, you saw my music collection the other day 😛 Bahahaha.
              That name rings a bell, that Markus guy….I wonder if Linnéa has shown him to me before? She shows me a lot of music, especially Swedish music. I will have to check him out…and as for the not understanding thing…I will learn Swedish soon enough! 😉

  4. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge Day 9: A song/album that makes you sad | wantoncreation

What do you think?

