30 Day Music Challenge Day 14: Favourite movie soundtrack

There have been some amazing soundtracks in our lifetime – there are some with songs almost universally known (particularly musicals such as Grease). But I guess for me to decide this, I need to think about the soundtracks I actually own, and which ones I listen to the most, and on that note I find one stands out of the crowd.

Sing-a-longs and Lullabies for the film Curious George, which is credited to Jack Johnson and friends (though mostly written by him), is an album that has often returned to my playlists in the several years since its release. The “friends” include the likes of G. Love, Matt Costa and Ben Harper, and the songs are mostly original compositions, though with a few covers thrown in and re-interpreted. Most impressively, it debuted on the Billboard charts at number one – an impressive feat for a soundtrack.

What I love about this album is that although it does have a more childlike feel – particularly with song titles such as “The Sharing Song” and “The 3 R’s” (as in, reduce, reuse and recycle) – it still retains that trademark Jack Johnson sound, the beach-evoking mellow vocals and guitar for which many the world over adore him, and so you don’t have to be a child to enjoy this soundtrack, because it kind of just sounds like another one of his albums anyway.

For me, this is actually one of his records I have listened to the most (although, to be honest, all of his albums have spent considerable time on rotation in my house and especially in my car (I like to sing in the car, what can I say)). Listen and watch the cute clip for the first song, “Upside Down”, and maybe you’ll see why I’m so fond of this particular soundtrack:

Have you heard this soundtrack before? What are your thoughts on it?

What’s your favourite soundtrack?

17 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 14: Favourite movie soundtrack

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge – The Beginning! | wantoncreation

  2. This music post really resounded with me. While I like music, I don’t know much about it. I just know what sounds I like. I don’t usually buy whole albums from one artist because many times, I will only like one or two songs. But soundtracks are different. I have many soundtracks I love. You mentioned one “Grease.” I liked the “Sex and the City 1” soundtrack. I also have several soundtracks of period films: “Sense and Sensibility” “pride and Prejudice.” Then there are the musical soundtracks which I have a lot of. πŸ™‚ Great post.

    • There are some great musical soundtracks, I have to agree. Actually, though it’s a bit dorky, and almost “cheating” with the topic, I really loved the soundtrack to “Across The Universe”, which was all Beatles reinterpretations of course. I also like people who specifically compose for movies…I think it’s Hans Zimmer (or a name very similar to this) who composed the soundtracks for a lot of Christopher Nolan’s films, like the newer Batmans and Inception – that guy is a genius!
      Glad you liked this post! I think soundtracks often remind us how important music is in films, and how much our emotional connection to that film, after viewing it, can be renewed just through the music. πŸ™‚

      • Across The Universe would have to be my choice. Although Hans Zimmer comes very close – for Inception, The Dark Knight and The Lion King. πŸ™‚

        • That main sort of theme that Zimmer wrote for Inception (that crops up several times during the movie) is just amazing – I have only seen that movie once, but have never forgotten that piece of music.

  3. My all time fave movie soundtrack is Moonstruck – especially while I’m cooking Italian. I also love Pulp Fiction-maybe cause I loved the movie and like to do the batman dance. There’s one more The Big Chill- great to sing to when I’m painting. Cheers

    • Ah yes, Pulp Fiction and The Big Chill have great soundtracks! And for some reason that reminds me of another film, The Dish – that had a really good soundtrack actually. It had the song Classical Gas on it which I love.

  4. I hadn’t heard this before and that video, although almost too cute for sanity, had me grinning like an idiot. A lovely mellow sound though and I do enjoy an acoustic guitar.

  5. What an adorable movie clip! I LOVE anything to do with Curious George! I will definitely have to pick up the movie and the sound track for my grandson. I think my daughter would enjoy it, too. πŸ™‚

    In order to get a better feel for his music, I stayed and listened to some of the other music of his that popped up at the end of the video. He really does have a great sound.

    As for my favourite soundtrack from a movie… the only one I actually own – and it is a RECORD, mind you – is the one from Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Neil Diamond. It’s obviously been a long time since I actually bought music other than compilations of ‘oldies’ songs, unfortunately. There are a lot of music from movies that I like, but for the life of me, I can’t pinpoint any specific ones, except the obvious ones, of course. πŸ™‚

    • The soundtrack is lovely, my mum actually borrowed it for the childcare she works at! πŸ™‚ And Jack Johnson is great – it’s simple music, and with each album you know what you’re going to get, and yet it’s a good thing. I will probably always buy everything he releases.
      Ahhh yes, that Neil Diamond one is an absolute classic! πŸ™‚

  6. Such a great soundtrack! Even though I love Jack Johnson, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from it, but it’s so good! The movie is pretty adorable too πŸ™‚

    Some of my favorites would have to be Garden State, Across The Universe, The Big Chill, Remember the Titans, and The Lion King! Also, even though it’s a TV show, Supernatural has an awesome soundtrack as well.

    • Yeah, I think this soundtrack did receive mixed reviews, but I personally love it, and rate it with some of my favourite albums of his. πŸ™‚
      Across The Universe is a great soundtrack, and I keep hearing Garden State has a good one as well!

What do you think?

