30 Day Music Challenge Day 15: Best concert you ever attended

This one is tough to decide, because I’ve been to many amazing concerts. Back in 2006 I saw Ben Folds perform with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra. In 2002 I went to my first stadium concert and watched Red Hot Chili Peppers play some of their classic songs from the 80s and early 90s (which they very rarely perform now). Last year I saw Foo Fighters (who were amazing and so full of energy) at a huge stadium concert, only weeks after an amazingly intimate show by Paul Dempsey in a hotel which could only possibly have held 400 people. At the start of this year I saw Incubus and System of a Down, two bands both on my bucket list of bands I have to see.

However, my favourite concert of all time (so far) is when I saw The Finn Brothers at the Sydney Opera House, in either 2005 or 2006 (can’t quite remember). In 2004, Tim Finn (older brother, frontman and co-founder of Split Enz, member of Crowded House briefly, and successful as a solo artist) and Neil Finn (younger brother, frontman of Crowded House, member of Split Enz, founder of the 7 Worlds Collide projects, a solo artist and most recently the band Pajama Party) released their second album as The Finn Brothers, titled Everyone Is Here. It was nearly ten years in the making, and I would go so far as to say it’s one of the most beautiful albums I have ever heard, with both of their amazing songwriting talents shining as strong as they ever have.

This show at the Opera House has always stuck with me. There was something special about it, from the moment they…erm…walked onto the stage dressed in a pantomime horse, confusing everyone for about thirty seconds until revealing themselves and starting the show, to asking the entire concert hall to hum along to parts of the song “Gentle Hum”. They performed songs from all their various bands, and the fans there adored them as much as I do – there is something very powerful about a room with thousands of people all singing together.

I’m going to include three live clips of The Finn Brothers taken from around the time I saw them, because I couldn’t decide between these three. The first two are songs from the album Everyone is Here, titled “Won’t Give In” and “Part of Me, Part of You”, and the last song is a Crowded House song that they co-wrote back in the early 90s, called “Weather With You” (this was (and still is) a hugely popular song in Australia). Enjoy!

What’s your favourite concert? What made it so special?

7 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 15: Best concert you ever attended

  1. The Finn Brothers have a fabulous sound. I can see why they are your favourite.

    Other than our friend’s band and my niece’s band, I’ve really only been to a few concerts and it’s hard to say which was my favourite. As a teen, it would have had to be the Bee Gees. About 10 years ago, Hubby & I got to see Pink Floyd, which was a much flashier show than the Bee Gees, with lasers and flying pigs, etc. Most recently (last Friday, in fact) I went to a charity event for the families of 4 security guards who were killed in a robbery in Calgary, Alberta a few weeks ago (the same security company that will be providing security for the Olympics). A friend works for the same company here in Winnipeg and organized ‘Bud, Spud & Steak’ fundraiser (you buy tickets that include your meal – beer, potatoes, steak, etc – and entertainment) Several bands volunteered to play for it, one of them being Harlequin. I was really impressed. Not only do they play great music, they have a great community spirit. 🙂

    • Glad you agree that the Finn Brothers sound great – I think part of it is that they’re musicians for the sake of the music, so their music seems very genuine and heartfelt, it’s not trying to be anything other than honest.
      Wow, I am so jealous of so many of your concerts. The Bee Gees would have been great, and of course I would have given ANYTHING to have seen Pink Floyd. I have often noticed that bands give great performances at charity events, actually. When that huge tsunami hit Indonesia a few years ago, we had a charity concert here which we called Wave Aid, and a much loved Aussie band, Midnight Oil, actually reformed to headline the event, which also featured lots of other huge aussie bands such as Powderfinger, Silverchair, Nick Cave, The Finn Brothers, and so on. It was such a great atmosphere, the whole show. 🙂

  2. The Finn Brothers… that’s really nice stuff, there. I had to sample them if only because you rank them above the Foo Fighters as a transcendent concert experience. SOAD, too, are fiancée’s favorite band, so when Serj Tankian opened for the Foo’s a few years ago, we flew to see it. Speaking of that pairing, I don’t know how much you like punk, but I think you’d very much like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUJrt6E6ki0

    • Yeah, The Finns are great. I’ve seen them many times in all their different bands and they never fail to please. But the Fooey’s were pretty up there, I definitely won’t forget that concert any time soon!
      I didn’t know Serj opened for FF a few year’s ago, that would have been around the time he released his first album too, would have been awesome to see him. I have been listening to his new album all this last week, actually!
      And that youtube clip was awesome! So good to see them perform together like that (I definitely have a soft spot for punk…I listened to it relentlessly in my teens…actually I just went through a metal phase, then a punk phase, then I just kind of flung the doors open on my music tastes).

  3. I’ve seen a lot of bands in the past local and overseas but funnily enough I have to go with you – it was the Finns but as Split Enz- early days and I can’t remember the venue (too much of a good time!) but they were on with The Sports. Close to that was the Rolling Stones.

    • Ahhh awesome, that would have been great to see Split Enz back then. I saw them on their 2006 reunion tour, and they were amazing then too. I think I was the youngest person in the crowd by a good decade or two. 😛

  4. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge – The Beginning! | wantoncreation

What do you think?

