30 Day Music Challenge Day 25: Favourite vocalists

There are so many great voices that spring to mind when I think of this one, so I am going to include three who I have not yet discussed during this challenge.

Jeff Buckley has long been one of my favourite singers, and it really was a great loss to the music world when he passed away before even seeing the release of his unfinished, second album. If you haven’t heard his cover of the song “Hallelujah” (which is preferred by many to the original), you really must, but I am actually going to link to one of my favourite songs of his, a song he had written for a potential second album called “Everybody Here Wants You”.

Stevie Wonder is another one of my favourites, despite the cheesiness of some of his songs. For me, he was at his peak musically in the early to mid 70s, particularly with the albums Music of my Mind, Talking Book, Innervisions and Fulfillingness’ First Finale. I’m sure most people would agree on his vocal talents, but for a quick reminder, I thought I’d include one of my personal favourites of his.

Rufus Wainwright has an amazing blend of classical training and pop music sensibilities to produce some of the finest songwriting and singing out there. His recent albums have varied from darkly intimate music with just him and a piano, to his newest album Out Of The Game which is a triumphant return to a more pop-oriented sound. The following song, one of my favourites, is an older song from his album Want Two, called “The One You Love”.

What do you think of these singers?

Who are your favourites?

7 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 25: Favourite vocalists

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge – The Beginning! | wantoncreation

  2. Yes Jeff Buckley – only discovered him in the last couple of years mainly due to my daughter who is a fan but I really like him. Not so much Stevie Wonder although I can see how people do and Rufus Wainwright yes another like from me

    • I think it’s very hard not to be blown away by Jeff Buckley’s voice. I love his father’s music too, Tim Buckley, who was a bit folkier but released a lot more music back in the 60s and 70s, despite dying even younger than Jeff did, at only 28. A very sad legacy really, but at least they both left us with some amazing music. 🙂

  3. I love Stevie Wonder, our first dance (if youcan call it that) at our wedding was to “For once in my life” by good old Stevie. Even if you don’t like him, you’ve got to admire his talent.

  4. Jeff’s voice really is amazing! Such a shame he is no longer able to share it with the world. This is the first time I’ve heard him, but I will remember his name next time I’m looking for music.

    I’ve always liked Stevie Wonder. Rufus Wainwright has an interesting sound, too.

    As for my favourite voice(s), it would have to be Neil Diamond, overall, I think. I also liked Karen Carpenter. She had a voice I could easily sing along with. Too bad she’s gone now, too.

    • Ahh, well Jeff only had one album released during his lifetime, “Grace”. But a second half finished album was released later, as were several live albums and rarities albums. But Grace is a great album, one of my favourites.
      Neil Diamond has a good voice, though I haven’t heard as much of his stuff as I perhaps should have!

What do you think?

