30 Day Music Challenge Day 26: Favourite classical composer

I cannot pretend to know a great deal about classical music, because I really don’t. However, I do enjoy it, and among the composers who can be found in my collection are the likes of Tchaikovsky, Mozart, Bach, Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, Mendelssohn and many more.

However, the one that stands at the top for me is Beethoven. I love everything I have heard by him, although I must confess to not having heard everything yet. But although I love all the huge sweeping pieces he wrote, what I really love is in fact something much more intimate – the piano sonatas. I have always admired any composer who can create such a powerful atmosphere, tinged with such strong emotion, using only a single instrument, and I have always felt Beethoven’s sonatas really bring the piano to life in this manner.

As The Moonlight Sonata is my favourite piece of classical music, I thought I’d link to that. This particular clip has all three movements, and although the first is the most well known, I have always loved the third movement, which starts approximately halfway through the clip just after the 8 minute mark (one day I want to learn piano just to play this movement – it just blows my mind).

Who’s your favourite classical composer, and what’s your favourite piece of classical music?

10 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 26: Favourite classical composer

  1. Mozart is at the head of the list for me, followed by Handel and then Vivaldi. Beethoven possessed such an intensity in his works; my dad played the moonlight sonata and it is one of my favorites. Sometimes though, I crave a lighter touch for expressing my mood, which Mozart offers.

    • I must admit I do love Mozart a lot as well. It’s only recently I’m starting to understand how the music changed throughout the periods, and I’m starting to see how this affects the difference in sound and approach by some of the composers, too. But yes, I think it’s the intensity of a lot of Beethoven’s works which lures me in. 🙂

  2. Hector Berlioz, every time. The Symphonie Fantastique gives me chills. Bbeautiful and creepy, haunting & sad, majestic & epic. The best performance I have heard was with Leopold Stokowski conducting. Just chillingly awesome. For movie buffs, you will recognize it around the 42 minute mark, since a variant was used at the beginning of Stanley Kubrich’s Shining and also in Sleeping With The Enemy.

    • Oooh, I’m not too sure I’m overly familiar with that piece, but the way you describe it makes me think I need to get my hands on a copy of it and find out what I’m missing out on! 😀

  3. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge – The Beginning! | wantoncreation

  4. This one has always been a favourite of mine, too. My parents were fans of Victor Borge, a Danish pianist who, when he came to do his North American tour, made a few blunders with his English and eventually incorporated these verbal faux pas into his routine, making him a bit of a comedian, as well as an accomplished musician. We have his record (yes, record – 33 rpm long playing record). On one side it has his comic routine and the other his renditions of the great composers. I think it was this record that first introduced me to some of the great classical composers and his version of Beethoven’s Fifth was top of his hit list, too. 🙂

  5. I posted a list of a few of my favorites on my blog. No Beethoven on it (although, if you haven’t Norrington’s Coriolan Overture I recommend it-riveting!) but maybe some other composers you haven’t considered.

What do you think?

