30 Day Music Challenge Day 27: Favourite musical instrument

My beautiful semi-acoustic guitar. It sounds amazing, and I love the black and gold design (although the lighting in this picture doesn’t show it very well). One day I will put more effort into learning to play so I can do this guitar some justice.

Now this is a tough one to decide! The only instruments I have actually played (and not played very well, mind you) are guitars (of which I own three, one of which is really nice and I really need to play it more), a harmonica, a little stone ocarina and bongo drums. And although I like all of these in different ways, none of them are really my favourite instrument.

I love pianos, as my previous post might suggest, and I am really determined to learn how to play the piano. I also love the sound of the saxophone, an instrument which my dad plays, and so I have grown up listening to and loving  it (artists who use a lot of saxophones, such as Supertramp, Gerry Rafferty and Dave Matthews Band, I like specifically because of this love of the instrument).

But for me, the instrument which really just commands my attention, and makes me drop what I’m doing just to listen to it, is one which I very rarely hear in music – the cello. It just sounds so deep and melancholy, and I absolutely love it. Listen to this Nick Drake song, “The Cello Song”, and you’ll see why I love it so much.

What’s your favourite instrument?

5 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 27: Favourite musical instrument

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge – The Beginning! | wantoncreation

  2. My friend’s children are all very musical and now her daughter teaches the cello, as well as piano and violin. I love to hear her play. Her son, too, took up the cello when he was small. When my son was very little, maybe 2 or 3, we went there for a visit and her son (a few years older than mine) sat my son down and showed him how to hold the child-sized cello and play it. One of my best memories, so I appreciate you bringing it up.

    I do love the sound of the Sax, too. 🙂

    • Oh wow, that is really cool you can play the bagpipes though! Although not everybody agrees, I do think there is a certain beauty to the way they sound – they’re very evocative. But yes, saxophone is right up there for me, thanks to Dad playing it when I was younger.

What do you think?

