30 Day Music Challenge Day 28: Favourite band/artist of all time

Those of you who read my post on my favourite ten bands will probably find this post somewhat pointless, but I guess this music challenge wouldn’t be complete without this question.

Really, two bands battle it out for the top spot in my collection. The pop music side of me ultimately goes back to my love of The Beatles, but the rocker in me owes its passion to having grown up listening to Led Zeppelin. Both bands I own everything by, including a number of other things such as clothes, posters, even pencil cases and writing pads, and of course DVDs.

I think the reason these two bands take the top place comes down to a mixture of things. Partly it’s because their music is timeless – it’s been 50 years since the first single by The Beatles, and the first Led Zeppelin album was released on an unsuspecting public 43 years ago, yet the music sounds just as amazing and fresh today as it did then. I also think for me both bands have deeper resonances and attachments – while I have childhood memories of listening to Led Zeppelin, and I later ventured out to explore their music more thoroughly as a teenager, my attachment to The Beatles comes from a period in my late teens when I was becoming obsessively curious about music in general, and so it was never a matter of ‘if’ they were going to get my attention, but simply ‘when’. And if I didn’t like these two bands, I doubt I’d like most of the music in my collection.

For The Beatles clip, I thought I’d include one of the songs by Harrison, “Something”, as I have always had a soft spot for the songs he wrote for the band (and quite a few of his solo works too). For the LedZep clip, I’m going to post one of my favourite songs of theirs, the acoustic song “That’s The Way” off their third album, being performed live in 1975.

Who’s your favourite band/artist of all time?

15 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 28: Favourite band/artist of all time

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Music Challenge – The Beginning! | wantoncreation

  2. Jethro Tull. Whether you want lilting, flute led ballads, blues, folksy tunes, hard, driving , powerful songs, or a dose of humor (often dark), they have it all. I was lucky enough to see them perform a few years ago and was amazed at the performance. Anderson is roughly the same age as my dad and he rocked the house. The energy was unbelievable.

  3. I loved the Beatles’ video. They all looked so young and in love, then. How things have changed. (sigh!) Makes me a little nostalgic. I do love their music, though, and you’re right. It is so timeless.

    I don’t remember hearing That’s The One before. I guess I have just heard their more popular songs, the ones that made it to the top 10 on the radio and the ones the ‘oldies station’ plays most often. This one seems to have a different sound than I remember for the band in general. I can see why you like it, though. It must be the guitar solos! 🙂

    • I was thinking that was a great video too, I hadn’t seen it until I wrote this blog post.
      That’s The Way is a great song – the album that it’s from, their third album, has an entire acoustic side. They’re one of those bands where they had very particular kinds of songs which made it onto the radio, but a lot of their other songs vary a great deal in sound – for me this is a good thing! 🙂

  4. I have to agree. I love Led Zepp. I was on a residency where I was isolated for 6 weeks I had to limit my music- it was the beetles that got me through and Leonard Cohen. My favourite this week is George Washingmachine.

What do you think?

