30 Day Music Challenge Day 29: Favourite song of all time

Originally the final day of this challenge was going to be my favourite song, and the second last day was going to be my favourite album. But it’s occurred to me recently that I value albums as a whole a lot more than I do single songs, so I thought I’d swap them around as I feel my favourite album is a much more significant question (to me at least) than my favourite song.

My favourite song is of course hard to decide. I have a number of favourites, such as Under The Bridge by RHCP, and Distant Sun by Crowded House (actually, about half of their songs). It’s not a song by The Beatles because they have too many songs I love to ever possibly decide.

But if I had to nail it down to just one song, I think it would be “Since I’ve Been Loving You” by Led Zeppelin. Why this song? Because, more than any other song by them, I feel this one balances out all the members of the band perfectly – Plant, Page, Jones and Bonham all come together to create one of the sexiest, bluesiest (it’s totally a word), most awesome rock songs of all time. All four often spoke of how feeling music is just as important as thinking it, and I think when you listen to this song in it’s entirety you can see why.

What’s your favourite song of all time?

8 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 29: Favourite song of all time

    • Ahhh Van Morrison…he has had some great songs, especially around that early to mid 70s period (Tupelo Honey has grown on me a lot). I also like a lot of his more recent albums – I really liked Magic Time and Keep It Simple, and especially loved the first song off Magic Time, Stranded I think it was called. πŸ™‚

    • Hahaha, I must admit I struggled with this one. One occurred to me today as I was listening to it – a Pink Floyd song called High Hopes. I don’t even know why, there’s just something about that one which grabs me, particularly the beginning of it which is the sound of bells, and the fade-in of a slow, melancholy piano. It’s just beautiful! πŸ™‚

  1. It’s good to see that those years of “blast your eardrums out” whilst mum was out actually had an impact. I remember telling you to listen to the Bass, listen to the drums, it all has produced a true music critic. I am so proud!!
    The Other Watson’s Old Man

    • Yep, it all made an impact on me. I can’t play to save my life but my good ear for music definitely owes a lot to the way you brought me up! πŸ™‚ So thank you for that, and the nice comment!

What do you think?

