30 Day Music Challenge Day 30: Favourite album of all time

So, it all comes down to this. My favourite album of all time. Not an easy call when you own over a thousand albums in your collection. There are so many that could take the prize here, and whenever I write a “top ten albums” list, it changes almost every time.

But my favourite album has been the same for several years, and I suspect it may have permanently lodged itself in that position. What is that album? Why, it’s…

Yes, Abbey Road by The Beatles is my favourite album. I just love it, from start to finish, and I think it contains some of the strongest songs by each of The Beatles, as well as being a spectacularly diverse album. It was as if all of their experience in both the pop music and rock music worlds finally just collided, and this album was the result of that collision.

Other albums which came close for me are Wish You Were Here by Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin III by Led Zeppelin, Whatever And Ever Amen by Ben Folds Five, Woodface by Crowded House and In Absentia by Porcupine Tree. But while these would probably all be top ten albums, none of them quite take the top spot.

What is your favourite album of all time?

8 thoughts on “30 Day Music Challenge Day 30: Favourite album of all time

    • Wow, interesting choice! Actually…I just realised…I don’t own that album! Oh my…it must be the only Wings album I don’t own, I meant to buy it a long time ago but never got around to it. I’m not even entirely sure how it sounds, but from how much you listen to it I suspect I should get my hands on a copy? I love Band On The Run, Venus and Mars and London Town by Wings. I also loved Ram, even though that wasn’t technically Wings…

  1. I’m not a rabid music collector, so don’t have a lot to choose from, in my record collection. Over the past couple of decades, I haven’t been listening to much other than the tunes I grew up with, so don’t feel I am experienced enough to state an opinion. I have appreciated listening to your choices and getting caught up, if you will, on some of the other more recent music out there these days. I guess I’m a bit of an ‘old fogey’ when it comes to music, although I do like a lot of different types of music, but rarely take the time to sit down and explore the music channels to find songs I like. I guess life has become too hectic. Maybe the expression should be more like, “Stop and take the time to listen to the music”, instead of ‘smell the roses’! lol

    • I’m glad you’ve enjoyed some of the music I’ve shared this past month. I think it’s quite common for people to stop exploring music so much as life becomes busier – I only continue so avidly because I’m just a bit obsessive like that. But I do know I’m slowing down, too – a few years ago, I bought over 200 albums in a single year, which is about 4 a week. I probably only buy one a fortnight now, on average. Amazingly, I do go back and listen to a lot of my older music too, around the newer stuff. Sometimes I wonder if I should be working for radio, actually…
      Anyway, thanks for all your great comments through the challenge, too! 🙂

What do you think?

