Blog Tag!

A couple of weeks ago I was tagged in a game of Blog Tag by 12 Novels in 12 Months, a very inspiring blog for those who write, and frankly, I would imagine for those who don’t write, too. This looks like a lot of fun, so here goes!

The Rules:

1. I must post the rules
2. I must answer the questions the tagger listed for me
3. I must create (or reuse (I’m going to create though (oh look I can keep doing this all day (weeee)))) 11 questions for those I tag
4. I must tag 11 people
5. I must let them know they’ve been tagged

So, quite simple, and they make great use of the number 11 (a number which will always remind me of the film This Is Spinal Tap).

The Questions (that I’m answering):

1. If you could re-live a moment in your life when would you choose and why?

Probably when that genie appeared and granted me wishes, and I spent them all getting a bathtub full of yoghurt. I became sick of it after only a few spoons. I guess I wouldn’t re-live any moments in my life, because they have all contributed to who I am today and where I’m going, and to change any of them in any way might change my present self too. I don’t particularly regret things, at least not in the long term. I often wish I could go back and re-do some of the courses I did in the earlier parts of my university life (I started when I was only 17, and was somewhat distracted by the usual things 17 year old boys are distracted by – girls and alcohol). But I much prefer teaching myself things in my own time now, anyway.

2. What is your first happiest memory?

When I built a ladder to the moon and met Thomas The Tank Engine up there and he was wearing a sombrero and Even though I’m only in my twenties, my memory of my childhood is pretty vague. But I seem pretty happy in a lot of my childhood photos, especially the ones where I was just naked for no apparent reason, so I suspect there’s a trend there.

3. If you could have dinner with 3 dead historical figures who would you choose?

King Edward III of England (so I could continue my story about him), Shakespeare (so I could find out more about his writing process), and George Harrison (because he was cool).

4. After a long, difficult day, what is your favourite way to unwind?

A cup of coffee, and either a good book, relaxing music, or watching something funny on television (often a funny series or stand up comedy does the trick). Or if it’s a Friday, wine or cider. Or hanging out with friends. Or cooking an awesome meal. I think essentially it all involves food and drink, and doing something to take my mind off things.

5. What is your favourite singer/band to listen to while writing?

I don’t really have  a specific favourite while I’m writing – it just depends entirely on my mood. For anybody interested, right now I’m listening to the album Draw The Line by David Gray, which is quite a relaxing album and maybe a good example of the sort of music I do listen to while writing.

6. If you sold your novel for 100,000 (dollar/Euro/Pound/etc.) what would you do with your advance?

Hold onto it while laughing maniacally that some silly sausage actually paid money for it. Probably travel.

7. What did you want to be when you were little?

A writer, a teacher, and a ninja turtle. I can safely tick off two of these, now. I am yet to become a writer though. Actually in all seriousness I could tick all three off…I have photo evidence somewhere that I’m a ninja turtle. No it is not a childhood photo. I REGRET NOTHING.

8. What is one thing that you need with you when you write (on your desk, on your body, etc.)?

Oxygen. Duh, what kind of a  A drink and a well rested imagination (lately a severe lack of quality sleep has made it difficult to write).

9. Would you rather write using a computer, typewriter or pen and paper and why?

I haven’t written with a typewriter yet, though I’d love to buy an old one and fix it up and get it working again. As for the old computer versus pen and paper debate, for me it depends what I’m writing – generally I write poetry and squiggle down ideas with pen and paper, but short stories, novellas and novels I tend to write on my laptop.

10. What are 3 things that invariably make you smile?

Family, friends, other people smiling (including strangers…ever had a stranger smile at you and just not been able to help but smile back?).

11. What does your favourite colour remind you of?

Puddles. The ocean’s roar. Also a quote from the second series of Blackadder, when Edmund is listening to Percy compare the shades of blue of the ocean and sky, and he responds “So what you’re trying to tell me, Percy, is that something you have never seen is slightly less blue than something else you have never seen?”

The blogs (I’m tagging):

Mywithershins

Green Paw-Paw

The Tiger’s Eye

Enchanted By Books

Robin Coyle

Sarahjanelives

Books Speak Volumes

Lea At Sea

Bitsnbooks

Obscured Dreamer

A.J.Jenner

The Questions (I’m asking):

1. What is your name?

2. What is your quest?

3. What is the air-speed velocity of a swal

1. What is your favourite recipe (as in, what food does it make – you don’t have to provide the ingredients and method (unless you really want to))?

2. What is your favourite thing to spend money on?

3. What time of day do you read/write the most?

4. Do you prefer summer or winter, and why?

5. What is your favourite holiday destination?

6. What is the best book/film/album you’ve read/watched/heard this year so far?

7. If you could be anybody for just a day, who would it be and why?

8. If you could have one superpower, what would it be and why?

9. What’s your favourite Olympic event (oooh topical)?

10. What were your best and worst subjects at school?

11. What’s one thing you want to learn before you die (e.g. a musical instrument, a language, how to perform brain surgery, e.t.c.)?

Well, that’s it folks, hope you enjoyed this little game! I actually had fun writing it (and being silly, in case you didn’t notice).

22 thoughts on “Blog Tag!

  1. As usual you made me smile and laugh with your answers. 🙂 I’m a little disappointed that I don’t get to answer the question – What is the air speed velocity of an unladen swallow? Can’t pose a question that begs another question…I get it. African or European? Haha 😉

  2. Hahaha! XD
    You’re a Ninja Turtle? I’m a samurai! I’ve got a katana and everything! Look. *does fancy air-slicing with supercool sword*

    I’m going to get to answering my questions real soon, okay? I know I’m going to have fun with this. 🙂

    P.S. I’m with you on answer six. 😛

    • Hahahaha, actually I have film footage of me fighting someone with a samurai sword, both of us dressed in superhero costumes…. (we made an action film parody at university). Someone walked past us as we filmed it and didn’t see the camera and thought we were having a real sword fight, was kind of funny. 😛
      That’s okay, just answer the questions whenever you have time, I understand you’re busy (so am I haha) 🙂

  3. Pingback: Blog Tag and I’m It « The Tiger's Eye

  4. thanks for the tag! loved your answers. darnit, i am in the middle of a move and about to be without internet, so barely have time even to read all the blogs i follow (which i find far more awesome than mine< including this one). i am loving the answers i have seen so far though. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Tagged again (three times) – 33 more answers to questions you’ve asked me | wantoncreation

What do you think?

