Which comedians and actors do you think could write a great book?

I have discussed actors and comedians who write books on my blog before, from mentioning Stephen Fry numerous times (most recently was my last post), to the members of Monty Python who have written books, to my surprise at how much I enjoyed Steve Martin’s fiction with his art-world based book, An Object Of Beauty, a review of sorts that I wrote in my very early days of blogging. There are many others who I have read but have not yet blogged about, including Dawn French, Hugh Laurie, Mark Watson, Shaun Micallef and more, who have all written novels that pleasantly surprised me.

So what I want to know from you, my dear readers, is who, from the world of comedy and acting, do you think would write a really entertaining book (either fiction or non-fiction)? Is there an actor or comedian who you think would have a great imagination for a novel, or who would just be entertaining writing some sort of non-fiction work such as a biography or a travel book or something along those lines?

For me, the list is long. Comedians who I think could write great novels include John Cleese, Rowan Atkinson, Dylan Moran, Bill Bailey, Jim Carrey, Robin Williams, Ross Noble (his would be pretty bizarre, I suspect) and many more. There are many actors too, I guess, but I have found generally that the comedians I have read thus far have incredible imaginations, hence my fixation on them.

What are your thoughts on this topic? 

8 thoughts on “Which comedians and actors do you think could write a great book?

  1. About two months ago, I was shocked to discover that David Thewlis had written a book. I picked it up and I LOVED it. Were it not for Sandman, that would’ve been my choice for favourite book of the year.
    It’s interesting to see how the way he writes is so different from the characters he plays. If Gary Oldman, or Tom Hiddleston were to ever write a book, I’d definitely pick it up. Not because I like them as actors, but because they continuously bowl me over during interviews with how intelligent their answers are, and I like their take on things.

      • Haha, I’d have to agree with you on that one. =)
        Do you watch Sherlock? Your comment just reminded me of Irene Adler (the person who plays her) saying, “Intelligence is the new sexy. “

    • Yeah, I think that’s what sparks my curiosity about some actors and comedians, is seeing them in interviews and seeing just how down to earth, intelligent and creative some of them can be. And as you say, the way they write and think often is very different from the sorts of roles they take on! 🙂

  2. I’m sure I would love a book written by Zooey Dechanel or Matthew Gray Cubler. They’re both so weird and quirky, but smart as well. I bet they’d be great authors.

  3. Ross Noble – great suggestion! Not sure if he would have the attention span for a novel, but maybe short stories?
    Tilda Swinton has always seemed like a very interesting person to me. I suspect she’d be a terrific writer.

    • Hahaha this is true, I think if he wrote a novel it’d be all over the place. Shaun Micallef’s novel was a bit like that…it did have an ongoing story, but it was very silly and wandered off into some strange places (not to mention he put in footnotes…very silly footnotes haha)!

What do you think?

