A temporary hiatus, an overseas trip, and a bad joke

At the start of this year, I wasn’t entirely sure if I’d get hooked on the whole blogging thing. But, 8 and a half months later, with 162 blog posts written, it would seem I have an answer to that question, as I have averaged 2 posts every 3 days, a figure which really astonishes me. I would never have done it without the wonderful support from all of you amazing people who take the time to read and comment on my posts, so thank you all so much.

I would love it if this really existed, but alas, it’s only from the film Robin Hood: Men In Tights. An amazing film, by the way.

But with a looming trip to England, I must announce a temporary hiatus for the next month, until about halfway through October when I return back to this silly hot country most people know as Australia. I don’t actually leave for my holiday for another week, but I have been flat out busy already this last week, and with the next week even busier, and having just been in a (relatively minor, though still painful) car crash yesterday, it’s just made me realise I need to start this break from my blog now.

I am incredibly excited about this trip, though, of course. For those of you who haven’t been following me long, or read my About page (and if you haven’t read that you really must, people keep telling me it’s rather excellent and/or entertaining), I was born in England, but have not visited it since I left as a four year old, back in 1990. I will be spending the first half of my trip running around seeing family, many of whom I haven’t seen in all this time, and then spending the second half of my trip in London with a special someone (and that is all the information I am going to divulge on this second half, for now). So it will be a busy three weeks, but I am looking forward to it immensely – this is a trip that has been decades in the making, in many ways. I think the enormity of this trip, and all that it means, has only really sunk in these last few days.

So I won’t be posting much now for about 4 or so weeks, though for the next week at least I will be checking and replying to any comments you leave, as I always love and appreciate your comments. Also, I will attempt to stay active on my twitter account – @abritishperson – so you can always follow me on that if you don’t already, to hear about my latest shenanigans. And when I return, I shall have many stories to tell (and some book reviews to write, considering the length of those flights…)

Oh right, so I promised a bad joke didn’t I? Okay, here goes, a travel themed joke. “I’ll tell you what I love doing more than anything: trying to pack myself into a small suitcase. I can hardly contain myself.”

Happy reading and writing my awesome readers, I’ll be back soon!

28 thoughts on “A temporary hiatus, an overseas trip, and a bad joke

  1. It was a bad joke, but it did make me chuckle. Whilst you are leaving a spring Oz to head to England, I shall be leaving a rather sunny & yet dreary England to visit my family in Oz. from your rough guise of the dates, I estimate that our planes will pass. If you see a strange women waving from a Singapore Airline plane, it would probably be safe to say it is me!

    Have a lovely time & “see” you on the other side!

    • Ahhh, isn’t that funny that’ll well probably end up passing each other. I’ll be on Qantas planes both ways I am pretty sure! πŸ˜›
      Hope you have a lovely time as well! It’s already warming up out here. πŸ™‚

        • Ahhh interesting! Qantas ended up being the cheapest for me for the dates I chose (I bought tickets quite late in the process, too). Mind, something has just happened between BA and Qantas hasn’t it? I don’t think they’re, erm, co-operating so much anymore. I don’t think it affects my flights, but I think in the very near future it’ll affect a few things.
          I’ll be packing a couple of extra layers I think, just to be on the safe side. πŸ˜›

  2. Oh wow, you’re off to the great world huuuh? hhaha, I could say come over to my place but I guess that’s a little short trip πŸ˜‰ hope you’ll have the best time ever and you’ll enjoy the flight more than I did once upon a time πŸ™‚ looking forward to your stories though πŸ˜€

    • Yep, just a brief roam around England for a few weeks! It’s going to be a bit of a whirlwind tour, and a big part of it is to meet up with a particular person, but it should be fun! I’m very excited about it, though a little nervous.
      I hope the flight isn’t too bad. I’m considering taking a couple of quite long books for the flight! πŸ˜›

    • Oh yeah, hahaha, it happened on the way to the writing meet-up on Saturday morning! Heading towards Erina near the turn off down Avoca Drive. I’m okay, just sore neck and back from whiplash, but the car is surprisingly okay. It needs work, but not like the last time I was in an accident like this. It’s certainly driveable…I suspect they reinforced the back of my car last time they fixed it haha.
      And glad you liked the joke! πŸ˜›

  3. Hope you have a wonderful time. I am slightly jealous as I would love to go visit some elderly cousins there, that I correspond with but have never met. Enjoy your family visits and the time you spend with that ‘special someone’ (wink, wink, say no more, say no more! lol) πŸ™‚

    • Hahaha, I was waiting for at least one person to jump on the whole “special someone” thing! πŸ˜› But yes, I shall have a lot of fun. It’ll go far too quick, I am sure, but I think it’ll be 3 of the most amazing weeks of my life, too. πŸ™‚

  4. Have a lovely safe trip, try not to drive over there!. Keep London warm for my little girl who is going in Dec. Leave some stock in the bookshops for her. Safe travels, look forward to the blogs when you return. Cheers

    • Oh no, I definitely won’t be driving. I’ll be travelling by public transport and foot for the most part. I’ll try my best to warm up London, take some of this Aussie weather with me (well, except this storm right now). And I won’t be able to buy too many books as they will be too hard to take back with me (also, I already buy my books from the UK online, come to think of it). Thank you so much, it shall be a blast! πŸ™‚

  5. My heritage is Brit mixed Scot and I truly hope Roget across the pond someday for a lengthy tour since I’ve only briefly been to London which isn’t truly England but it does capture the splashiest bits, doesn’t it?

    • Haha, well I guess London captures a certain side of England. But then England has many faces, too! πŸ˜› I’m sure I could spend years over there and still feel like I’d only seen the tip of the iceberg. But for now I’ll be happy with the three weeks I’ll have over there.
      Hope you find the time to do a more extensive tour of the country! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

