The Return of The Other Watson

After such a dramatic title, I feel I should write the rest of this in an epic narrative style. But I am somewhat jetlagged, and have gone from beautiful 10 degrees (celcius) England to 35 degrees Australia, so my body is a little befuddled to say the least.

But yes, I am back in Australia, home from home you could say, after what was quite an amazing and life changing trip overseas. I spent a week and a half travelling between the Midlands and Northern England visiting various relatives and several historic sites, before heading down to London for a week and a half to meet up with a very special person (who knows who she is, when she reads this (perhaps one day I shall tell the rest of you about that part of my life, as it is shaping up to be quite the story in itself…but for now it is a tale staying under wraps)).

I have never done so much in such a short space of time, so that it kind of felt like I had been over there for months, even though now I am shocked to suddenly be back in Australia. But it felt great to reconnect with my birth country, as well as many of the other things that happened on the trip. And some of those things (again, can’t really explain right now) have helped set some new directions in my life, including visiting that side of the world again early next year (you must all be thinking “stop all this secretive half-telling rubbish”).

But for now, I need to get my head down, work hard to save up lots of money, and also get through the remaining two and a bit months of the year, which are shaping up to be as hectic as always.

Also, I am officially returning to my blog. I don’t know how often I will post, as I will be busy, but I have a lot to write about – several books to review, quite a lot of music to discuss, I might do a few photo posts from my England trip, and of course in just over two weeks NaNoWriMo is starting, and I am bracing myself to attempt and win my fourth NaNoWriMo in a row.

I hope you have all kept well in my absence – I have genuinely missed the blogging community, and am looking forward to returning!

Happy reading and writing!

16 thoughts on “The Return of The Other Watson

    • Hahaha. I think I could sum it up with a conversation I had with an aunt, when she asked me if I felt like a foreigner being back in England, and I told her “In the 22 years I’ve lived in Australia, I’ve always felt like a foreigner. But even though I left England when I was 4 and haven’t been back until now, it feels like home immediately.” I love Australia, and Australia is home to me too, but there is something about the UK which just grabbed me! Plus, I prefer the cooler weather. This heat is ridiculous, it’s not even summer yet and I’m about to burst into flame, haha 😛

    • Hahaha, it definitely could be a mystery romance novel of sorts. There were a few classic moments that I realised were very romance novel or romance film, and when I’ve told them to the few people who do know about all of this, they all reacted in that same way they would if it were a film or novel.

  1. Welcome back. Glad to read you had a fantastic trip (as well as a wee bit mysterious). I have to say, I’m a little jealous. 🙂

    Although I have never been there, most of my ancestry links back to the UK so I feel like it’s as much ‘home’ to me as Canada is, especially since so much of what I read as a child was written by English authors. Immersing myself in their worlds makes me feel as though I grew up there, too! 🙂

    • Haha, I love a bit of mystery! One day I will reveal everything, a part of me is dying to now, but alas, I cannot. 😛
      Ahhh, with both your ancestry and growing up with British literature, I think you would love the place! You must make the trip there one day! 🙂

  2. Great to have you back blogging. Sounds like the trip was amazing you secretive you.. ^^, I am definitely looking forward to photos and more blogposts. And Paintlater – it does sound like a romance novel in the making doesn’t it? Wonder what he’s up to…

    • Haha, did you miss my blog? 😉 I am indeed the secretive one…but all shall be revealed in due time! I still need to sit down and sort through the 543 photos, a good chunk of which I cannot post on here as they would reveal too much (now that just sounds saucy) 😛
      And maybe one day I’ll write a romance novel loosely based on this? Or perhaps a memoir? Time will tell 🙂
      P.s. you make me laugh 😉

What do you think?

