NaNoWriMo 2012, or, How I Plan To Lose My Mind In November

As I haven’t yet had a chance to sift through my photos from my England trip, that post will have to wait. In the meantime, I thought I’d discuss the upcoming doom apocalypse madness completely fun and inspiring event known as NaNoWriMo!

What is NaNoWriMo you ask (Well, that’s a little presumptuous of me. But some of you might’ve asked)?  NaNoWriMo is a worldwide event, attracting over 300 000 participants, in which you have to write a novel of 50 000 words (approx 175 paperback pages) or more in just 30 days – all in the space of November.

It sounds insane, and frankly it is insane. Which is part of why I have participated and won (as in, completed) NaNoWriMo for the past three years now. What I love is that for me, and for most people I suspect, November is often one of the busiest months of the year. There should be no possible way to complete such a momentous task, yet I think it is the very pressure of this particular time of year which allows me to do it,  that fills me with some kind of adrenaline for 30 straight days and turns me into a superhero of epic proportions. Last year I pushed myself even further and went for 75 000 words (never again, though).

If you’re a writer and have never attempted this before, I urge you to try. It’s not only fun, but it helps you grow a lot as a writer – I had never finished a novel draft before I finished my first NaNoWriMo, and now I’m looking at novel number four. Sure, I haven’t published any of them yet, but each year they seem to get better and better, both in writing style and the actual story, and I have discovered a lot about my writing, such as the fact that I generally write better without planning.

If you’re not a writer, I would still encourage you to try this, because a month of indulging in one’s creativity like this is an amazing experience, and you might be more of a writer than you first thought.

Either way, check out the official website here, and let me know if you are giving it a shot so I can add you as a writing buddy on it! Also, if you are doing this and happen to live roughly around the Central Coast in Australia, let me know –  we have an unofficial group that meets up during the month, and we’d like this group to grow this year so that next year it could become an official group.

Now if you’d excuse me, I have some wine to drink and some preparation for November to avoid.

29 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012, or, How I Plan To Lose My Mind In November

  1. Definitely going to try and do this as I need a deadline to try and give me the motivation. My novel has barely got off the ground over the last year as I always find other writing projects to distract myself with. I’ve got a screenplay deadline on 7th Nov, but am gonna MAKE myself do NaNoWriMo.

    • Yep, I think the deadline helps enormously. I often always cut it fine with the deadlines too. I know last year on the 27th, with 4 days left, I was only sitting on 56 000 words, which is enough to win NaNo but not enough to reach my goal of 75k, but then oddly the deadline just motivated me, I wrote 11k in that one day and actually hit my goal and wrapped up the story on the 29th, a day early. After finish it three times, I don’t question the fact I’ll finish it anymore – it’s not if I will, but how I will. 😉
      Good luck juggling it with your screenplay deadline! I am sure you can do it if you set your mind to it! 🙂

  2. Good luck – I will do it one year but not this year, I don’t want to start if I know I can’t succeed so no – not this year. Keep us informed of progress – If you have time!!!

    • I will definitely keep everyone informed of my progress! Basically you’ll watch my mind just melt into oblivion, and then somehow magically I’ll bring it all together at the end of the month, as I always do! 😛

  3. Woo NaNoWriMo! I used Camp NaNo to finish one novel draft and I’ve spent the past couple of months editing and refining it, so I think with regular NaNo I am going to work on something completely fresh and different. My username is cspivey1954!

    • I wanted to do Camp NaNo but I just ended up too busy then, which is weird cos being busy doesn’t bother me in November but it does earlier in the year. I always start something new for NaNo, I need to ensure I’m enjoying it and I always get the most enjoyment from starting something new. I’ll add you to my writing buddies later, my user name is Mattius Watsonnius (lame, I know). Getting excited for it! Know what you’re going to write about yet? 🙂

      • I just signed up. A bit nervous about trying to actually use my imagination for a change though! And I have no idea where I am going to find the time for it between all my other projects and that ridiculous time waster called work.

        • Woohoo, really? That is awesome! Don’t be nervous, it is a lot of fun! Definitely try and come along to some of the events I’ll be trying to organise locally too…I’ll keep you in the loop! We’ll be doing some pre-NaNo stuff soon too 🙂

  4. Sounds interesting. I have so many WIPs in my repertoire that haven’t been finished and really should be working on the next novel in my Red River Adventure series. I’m not sure if this is something I can do or not. Maybe if I get the research done, I’ll attempt it. 🙂

    • Yeah, I guess that’s when it’s not a good thing, if you already have lots of WIPs going. I guess I do as well, but I intend to spend a lot of next year editing some of my better stories in my spare time. This year was supposed to be a writing focused year but…well some unexpected things happened. Good things, but things that changed how much time I actually had haha.
      Let me know if you do attempt this of course – it is an awful lot of fun!

  5. I have no idea how I will manage it with a job and a daughter under the age of two, but I am certainly going to go for it! I onlyfound out about NaNoWriMo a few months ago and immediately decided to participate! Good luck to all who are going for the month of madness 🙂

  6. Whoa, 75,000 words??? That’s ridiculous! I’m going to be doing NaNoWriMo for the first time this year. I’m cheating and continuing one that I’m already working on, so my goal is just to add 50,000 words to whatever I’m at as of Oct. 31st. Add me as a writing buddy! I’m “write aubrey write” for NaNoWriMo also.

    • Yeah, 75 000 words was insane, when juggled with a full time teaching job, and it happened to be report writing time, marking time, and also I was juggling a lot of social activities such as weddings and birthdays etc, oh and I think I might have slept at some point that month? It’s funny, you wouldn’t think 2500 words would be much harder than 1667 a day, but it really is. I think it’s how far behind you fall when you miss days, something I tend to do regularly. 😛
      There’s nothing wrong with the way you’re going to do NaNoWriMo, I know lots of people who do that! I think if you can crank out the 50k in the time, you’re a winner. Heck if you can do half of that you’re a winner in my books 😉
      I will definitely add you as a writing buddy! 🙂

  7. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Advice – join in and share yours! | wantoncreation

What do you think?

