Oh look! It’s the Look Challenge! (featuring extracts from last year’s NaNoWriMo)

Before you ask, no, the Look Challenge has nothing to do with eyesight tests. I was tagged in this challenge by the awesome Aubrey from her blog write, aubrey, write and it’s aimed at fellow bloggers who are also writers. All you have to do is search for the word “look” in your WIP, and then copy the surrounding paragraphs into a blog post for others to read, showing snippets of your work without giving too much away. Afterwards, you have to tag five other blogger writers to do the same.

Now firstly, I have many WIPs at any given moment. Therefore I have decided to work with my novel from last year’s NaNoWriMo, if only because I haven’t looked at it or even opened the file since I finished it. Secondly, a search for the word ‘look’ yielded 387 results in my 75 000 word story, which I guess I should have seen coming. So I’m just going to include the first three that grab my attention.

  1.            He looks around for a wife who has long since passed away, and who even longer ago walked away from a husband who remembered her as someone whom she was no longer. I glance around at everything surrounding this man – an eclectic mix of memorabilia from his youth and the odd new-age gadget, though I wonder sometimes why the latter is here, when he has no real understanding of, or appreciation for, any of this rubbish. I avoid his gaze, until the answer makes itself clear. There is no real easy way to answer his unasked question, no matter how many times this comes up.
               “Oh.” He sighs, and looks down at his hands, mystified by the wrinkles and marks and hair that smothers them. “Hmmm. So you’re my grandson, eh? Heir to all that surrounds you?”

  2.             I found my friend, as usual, in the library, reading up on some medical thing the knowledge of which I suspected could in itself be a cause of requiring urgent medical attention.
               “Hey Emily, can we talk?”
               “Uh oh, what have I done?”
               “No, no, nothing. I umm, need to borrow your expertise.” I looked down awkwardly, before performing my best puppy dog impression, causing her to lose her slightly pretentious yet annoyingly attractive composure.
               “Well okay then, but I need it back before dinner time. I have a report to write tonight.”

  3.            “Hello? Who’s down there?” 
               I cursed under my breath, quickly closed the box, pushed it away, and closed the door, leaving everything where it was.
               “It’s just me Grandpa, Charlie, your Grandson. Remember? We were just looking through your photographs.”
               He stopped about halfway down the steps, and looked at me, analysing me, wondering if what I said had any truth to it. His eyes drifted down and saw he had two cups of tea in his hands, and then he returned his gaze to me, smiling.
               “I guess one of these must be for you, then.”
               “I guess so.” I smiled back, deflated.

Okay, now to pass this on to five other bloggers who are also writers! Hmmm, decisions decisions…

mywithershins

Storyteller In The Digital Age

The Preeminent Litterateur

J. Keller Ford

The Hand-Written Life

If you haven’t read these blogs before you must check them out, especially if you’re a writer, as they are full of invaluable insight and are written by some amazing people!

Happy reading and writing!

6 thoughts on “Oh look! It’s the Look Challenge! (featuring extracts from last year’s NaNoWriMo)

  1. I liked the quip about Emily wanting her expertise back before dinner because she had a paper to write. 🙂

    I also thought the scenes between the old man and his grandson were probably very typical of a relationship dealing with dementia or Alzheimer’s disease. I was fortunate not to have to deal with that with my grandparents, but my aunt is experiencing that debilitating disease, now, and listening to my Uncle and cousins talk about their visits with her, it just breaks my heart.

    From what you’ve revealed of you WIP so far, I think it’s worth a second look. I’d be happy to Beta read it for you if you ever get that far with it. 🙂

    Now, off to figure out which WIP I’ll choose from the dozen or so gathering dust on my shelf – probably with good reason, I might add! lol

    • It’s funny, I laughed about Emily’s little quip too – it’s funny how much you forget of what you write sometimes. The scenes between the grandpa and the main character were quite hard to write, but I really enjoyed researching that more last year as I wrote that part of the story (it eventually led into something much bigger). But I was hoping those scenes were at least somewhat authentic – I was really trying to establish the idea that the grandson was the only one left with the patience to deal with it all, and even then he struggled with it.
      Thank you for your kind words and offer – I’ll let you know if I do come back and rewrite it. Next year I’m going to edit and rewrite a couple of my better stories, so this might be one of them. 🙂
      Looking forward to reading your post on this! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Scary October #26 | mywithershins

  3. Pingback: The “Look” Challenge! « The Hand-Written Life

What do you think?

