The England Trip, Part One

Finally, the first of several blog posts on my recent trip to England!

Today I want to share some photos from one of the first places I visited, a medieval deer park called Bradgate Park, in Leicestershire. I’ll explain each photo as I go, and you can click on them to enlarge them too. The quality isn’t great, but neither was my camera…or my photography skills. Anyway, enjoy!

The park is quite beautiful from the outset – this is just after walking through the gates. It was very relaxing, especially for someone who still had jet lag.

This river runs alongside the path for quite a lot of this park. I imagine on a sunnier day it would look quite stunning.

I almost missed this – all the deer hiding a bit further in the forest.

Click this one to see the full size picture – I managed to snap a deer mid-air as it ran around in front of Bradgate House. One of my friends thinks I photoshopped this (I didn’t).

Bradgate House. Built around 1520, this house holds a lot of historical significance, including being the birthplace of Lady Jane Grey, who was Queen for 9 days before being overthrown by Mary I. It is now mostly in ruins, and is considered an “Ancient Monument” according to the sign on the gate.

 

The inside of Bradgate House – unfortunately it wasn’t open on the day we visited.

Okay, so this isn’t exactly Bradgate Park. But I saw it on my first day in England, and was stunned when I realised this nice looking building was actually a McDonald’s – I don’t think we have any that look this nice in Australia.

That’s all for now – I still have over 500 more photos to sort through, but I suspect there’ll be a few more posts on my England trip to come!

Have any of you ever been to Bradgate Park? What are your thoughts on the place?

14 thoughts on “The England Trip, Part One

  1. I have been to Bradgate Park quite a few times in the past as I live just about 45 minutes from the place. You blog post actually made me decide to go there later this week if the weather is ok… I like Bradgate Park though I most often prefer more natural places but that is unfortunately not easy to find in England. It is nice to visit Bradegate Park in the different seasons as the colours change so dramatically. Looking forward to see more of your pictures and read about your visit 🙂

    • Ahhh cool! A lot of my family live in that area, I’m a bit jealous (though to be fair, I live near the sea in Australia, which I know makes many jealous of me…). I’m glad my blog post has inspired you to visit the park again! I can imagine it would look beautiful through the different seasons – I’ll have to visit it in different seasons I think, when I return to England in the future.
      By the way, you have a lovely blog, I just quickly checked it out! Will be revisiting it for sure! 🙂

  2. I am so very glad that you seem to have enjoyed the trip and yes you are right we have some lovely buildings in England and it’s odd to find them being used as shops and such like but much better than either letting them decay or have them wrapped in tissue like some of the ones owned by the National Trust, I fail to understand why a building that has stood for hundreds of years suddenly is too fragile to have people walking about in it, but that’s me on a soap box and I’ll get off now and just say how nice it was to see your pictures and I’m looking forward to the next batch.

    • Hahaha, I agree with you in a lot of ways. There are so many old buildings falling apart in England it seems – if they can be used for something, and hence kept in a half decent condition, that is something!

  3. Amazing that Bradgate House is almost 500 years old! The oldest buildings around here are barely 150. I love how the MacDonald’s ‘M’ isn’t overpowering, keeping the integrity of the neighbourhood without being crass, like here and in the U.S. 🙂

    • Yeah, I am in awe in exactly the same way – the oldest buildings in Australia are only 150-200 years old. I was in several castles and cathedrals in England which date back to about 1100. It boggles the mind.
      That’s what stole my attention with the McDonald’s – it was surprisingly subtle, so much so I almost didn’t notice it there.

  4. Pingback: The England Trip Part 2: Durham Cathedral (and other stuff) | wantoncreation

  5. Pingback: England Trip Part 3 – Alnwick Castle, Barter Books and The Angel of the North | wantoncreation

What do you think?

