NaNoWriMo 2012 – It Begins!

Actually, here in Australia it began about 15 and a half hours ago. But I was asleep, and then I woke up feeling ill, dizzy and with a splitting headache.

But after calling in sick for work, trying to rest for the morning to get my health to a functional state, and then spending the early afternoon finishing off stuff for work anyway (am I dedicated or what?), I finally started on my NaNoWriMo story a little while ago.

So far I’ve written 600 words, which I scribbled down in 15 minutes. I am quite happy with this actually, as I wasn’t expecting to be able to write so fast right from the start, especially when I’m still feeling quite sick. But I also have to remind myself that I need to write another thousand words tonight, and that I also write quickly for the first couple of days.

I also managed to use the word ‘fornicality’ in my opening sentence, after one of my fellow English teachers dared/requested that I do so. We argued about whether the word is a real word or not, but we had no problems agreeing on its meaning. The opening sentence included this fragment of dialogue showcasing the word:

“I’m afraid you’re suffering from a bout of fornicality,”…

The opening scene seems to actually be about a fake doctor, and I haven’t a clue where any of this is leading, but it seems to be fun, and is probably heavily influenced by the amount of comedy I have been both reading and watching lately.

Anyway, back to it! And good luck to all you other Wrimos out there, whether this be your first time or hundredth time doing this!

11 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012 – It Begins!

  1. Sounds like you’re off to a running start, despite the state of your health – which I hope drastically improves during this hectic writing time. In addition to the coffee, remember to drink lots of juice or vitamin water to keep up your energy and immune system, as well, since lack of sleep could send your body into a tail spin. Good luck and write on, ‘WriMo! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, and that’s a very good point – I need to stay on top of my health in terms of eating healthy foods and drinks too, so I can avoid getting sicker during this month. I’m still feeling pretty yuck today but I’m back at work, and am hoping to go home and knock out 2000, 2500 words tonight if I have the energy. Then if I can surge forwards over the weekend, I might be able to get a few days ahead which will be good!
      Thank you so much for the support! πŸ™‚

  2. Good luck! Bring on the caffeine drip! This is definitely going to be one long, sleepless month… Oh, and your first sentence is absolutely brilliant. Anybody who manages to incorporate such a bizarre word, or non-word as the case may very well be, within the first ten words is off to a flying start! πŸ™‚

    • Oh yeah, this month is going to be looooong – it always is! And thank you, I’m glad you liked my first sentence! It definitely helped set my first couple of pages onto quite a bizarre and funny path πŸ˜›

    • Thanks! πŸ˜€ And how exciting, I remember how nervous and excited I was the first year I attempted NaNoWriMo. I still get excited now, but not really nervous – I seem to have total faith in myself when it comes to this each year, which is slightly alarming actually, but anyway.
      Mine is going well so far, though at nearly 4000 words I still am not entirely sure where my story is going or what the point of it is. But I’m enjoying writing it, and the one person I’ve let see any of it thought it was okay, which is nice.
      What’s your username on the site? I’ll add you as a writing buddy! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

