NaNoWriMo Day 2: Catching up, plus my favourite line for today!

After a slow start yesterday I’ve caught back up now, sitting on around 3400 words, with plans to add another few hundred, maybe a thousand, later tonight. My story has definitely taken a few surprising turns, and it seems I have two main storylines now. The first involves a character constantly changing his identity and profession (he’s gone from being a fake doctor to a fake policeman), and the second involves a drunkard. I’m not entirely sure where any of this is going, but it’s awfully good fun to write.

I must confess, I’m surprised I’ve managed to catch up so quickly, when I’m far from feeling a hundred percent in terms of my health. But it is a good feeling, and bodes well for the rest of the month, I suppose. More importantly, having done this three times before I am fully aware of the likelihood that I’ll drop the ball somewhere in the middle of the month, so the further ahead I can surge now, the easier it’ll be to catch up later in the month.

My favourite line from my writing so far today would most likely be this one, for which I shall provide absolutely no context (because it’s hard to explain):

“I was far too insane to be able to pretend to be insane.”

So that’s it for now, I’m going to go watch some Billy Connolly and let my imagination rest a little while.

How are all you other wrimos out there doing?

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 2: Catching up, plus my favourite line for today!

  1. It’s the suprising twists and turns that make me enjoy NaNo so much. Well done with your word count. I did really well yesterday (7,000) but I’d booked the day off work. Glad there’s the weekend ahead to keep on top of things.

    Debbie

    • Absolutely, there’s nothing like not knowing what’s coming next in the story when you’re the one writing it – it’s a very exciting feeling. Well done on writing 7000, that is awesome! It’s tempting to book time off work, but I know I can stay on top of it anyway – last year right at the end I had an 11000 word day on a Sunday, which caught me up in a single leap. πŸ˜› Hopefully I won’t actually have to do that this year!

  2. All those ‘fake’ guys kind of remind me of the TV series, The Pretender, which I think was a great series. Can’t wait to hear more about what you write. I think it’s fun not knowing where a story is headed until I write it, too!

    If you think you’ll ‘drop the ball’ during this competition, maybe a little sticky stuff on your fingers will help you hang onto the darn thing! lol

    Good luck and keep on writing! πŸ™‚

    • Yes, it reminded myself of that same show, except that show was more serious. I loved that show actually, but ever since it finished on television (which must be going back over ten years now) I’ve never seen it since, not on DVD or anything. But yes, it is fun to not know where a story is heading. I guess I know my main two characters are going to somehow collide with one another at some point, so that’s my more immediate destination, but I don’t know what will happen then. πŸ˜›
      Actually I think after doing 75000 words last year, 50000 this year will seem a lot easier to manage. At least I’m hoping so. πŸ˜›

      • That’s good! I’m sure you’ll manage to do it. πŸ™‚

        As for The Pretender, we’ve got the series on DVD, so it is available in North America. I don’t know about other parts of the world and they may not be compatible with machines built in Europe or elsewhere.

        And I’m sure that YOUR story will have a lot more humour in it! πŸ™‚

        • Ahhh okay, I’ll have to look into The Pretender – sometimes I can play DVDs from other regions. πŸ™‚
          Thanks, I hope my story has more humour in it. That last chapter I wrote today is definitely one of the sillier things I’ve written! πŸ˜›

    • I thought about doing that with my NaNoWriMo too, but my writing is too up and down – some days I write 1000 words, others I might write 4 or 5000. I have this feeling I won’t be doing any 10000 word days this year, simply because I won’t need to (if I can continue to stay on top overall). That’s a cool idea though that you have been doing live postings! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

