The England Trip Part 2: Durham Cathedral (and other stuff)

One of the highlights of my trip to England was visiting Durham Cathedral, up north. Considered to be one of the greatest pieces of Norman architecture, this nine century old cathedral is astonishingly huge, and very beautiful. I was lucky enough to visit on a day the choir was singing too, adding to the atmosphere of the place, as I felt history seep out at every nook and cranny.

Here are a few photos, along with explanations as last time. Enjoy!

To get a feel for how big this masterpiece is, look at the adjacent buildings on the side of the picture. To climb to the top you need to climb 325 steps (and yes, I did climb them, as you’ll soon find out).

This is the Cathedral seen from quite a distance – there aren’t many places in Durham where you can’t see this spectacle.

This is the view from the very top of the cathedral, after climbing all 325 steps up. The view is definitely worth it, even though the climb did nearly finish me off. The last half of the steps become very narrow, so if somebody was coming back the other way it was a tight squeeze. Presumably, this would have been for the sake of defence, once upon a time. Definitely climb this once in your life – you won’t regret it!

Some of you may recognise this picture from a certain quite famous movie series, based on a much loved book series.

Just a random photo I took while in the town of Durham. The place is beautiful and just has such a nice atmosphere about it. For me it’s simply novelty to be somewhere with such old buildings.

This is Melbourne Cathedral, and like Durham Cathedral up north, this one is also about nine centuries old. It’s much smaller though, but still quite stunning.

Somewhere in Melbourne (I think) I took this photo. I don’t think this house is anything important, but I just thought it looked quite spectacular by the water, surrounded by green.

My next post in this series from my England trip will look at Alnwick Castle, as well as one of the coolest bookstores I’ve ever visited.

If you’re curious about Durham Cathedral, and would like to know more or see some pictures of inside the building (as photography was forbidden inside much of it), visit the official site here. And if you missed the first part of my England Trip series of blog posts, you can find that here.

15 thoughts on “The England Trip Part 2: Durham Cathedral (and other stuff)

  1. You are so very lucky. Durham is on my travel list. The cathedral is stunning to look at in pictures. I can only imagine the sensations I would feel seeing it in person. Thanks for sharing.

    • Ahhh, you absolutely must visit Durham then, you will love it if you’re already interested in it. I only vaguely knew about it, so it kind of knocked me off my feet! I am very lucky indeed, both to have seen it and also to have family up that way. πŸ™‚

  2. I love old buildings and old “holy” places do often have a wonderful atmosphere. The house is beautiful and would be a great place to write a fiction piece about I think. Great pictures thanks for sharing them. – Diane

  3. You may want to mention that Lord Melbourne of the Melbourne in Derbyshire is the person behind the naming of Melbourne Victoria. There is a plaque in the cathedral.

    • Ahhh there you go, I think I may have known that but forgotten (so much happened on that trip, it’s coming back to me in pieces, as if it were one long inebriated adventure (it wasn’t (mostly, anyway))). I’ll have to edit the post later and squeeze that little tidbit of information in. πŸ™‚

  4. Wonderful pictures, Matt! I’ve been so busy lately that I have had a hard time keeping up with everyone’s blog (and my own), but I’m so glad i stopped here this morning. I really like the last one of the house near the water. I’d love to live there! πŸ™‚

    • Oh don’t worry, I’ve been exactly the same with the blogosphere. I came back from England and my blog hiatus a few weeks ago now, but have been so busy with work and now NaNoWriMo that it’s just hard to find the time to keep up with people’s blogs.
      I agree, the house near the water is stunning! There were lots of places like that in England πŸ™‚

    • Exactly, I’m sure I could see a castle a day and still not get around to seeing them all before more of them fall down. It’s sad, but motivates me to see more as soon as possible, too.
      Glad to hear you liked the photo! πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, it’s exactly the same where I live! The architecture in England just blew me away, so incredibly beautiful! Definitely worth visiting just for that (though there are plenty of other reasons, too)! πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: England Trip Part 3 – Alnwick Castle, Barter Books and The Angel of the North | wantoncreation

What do you think?

