Can’t sleep, NaNoWriMo will eat me!

Well, not really. This is how I am supposed to feel at this time of November, but oddly I don’t this time.

It’s been a strange month for me, and life keeps throwing things at me in desperate attempts to derail my NaNoWriMo efforts. Despite this, my writing has been strangely…consistent. I’ve never fallen more than about three days behind, and when I do I tend to catch up pretty quickly. Three days ago I finally caught up to where I should be, then didn’t write for two days, so today I wrote 5000 words and caught back up again.

This is a good and bad thing. It’s nice not to be stressed about being a bazillion words behind where I should be, but on the same note that manic rush towards the end of the month, during which I normally pull at least one 10 000 word day, is often a fun part of the whole experience. It feels like something is missing this year because I’ve stayed on task.

Perhaps due to this lack of adrenaline rush this year, I also feel my story is lacking a certain wow factor. Or rather, it’s the biggest piece of crap I have ever written, and I hope I never have to read it ever again. There’s been some interesting ideas, but really I’m looking forward to finishing it and moving on to something entirely different.

Five more days left. Just a little over 8000 words remaining. This just may be the most boring end to a NaNoWriMo ever.

Meanwhile, I know I haven’t blogged as much as I planned this month, but as I mentioned earlier life has been rather on the busy side. But I do intend on blogging a lot more in December, including finishing off my posts from my England trip, some more book reviews, and some posts on my favourite books, movies and music from 2012.

Until then, I wish the best of luck to any fellow NaNoWriMo participants scrambling to finish their novel in the next few days!

9 thoughts on “Can’t sleep, NaNoWriMo will eat me!

    • That’s exactly right! I’m bound to have gained and learned something from writing 50000 words, even if its rubbish. I think I’m just disappointed because this will be my 4th successful NaNoWriMo, and the first 3 years my stories became progressively better, so suddenly writing crap has taken me by surprise. But there is something in that, too.

  1. I’m having mixed feelings about finidhing up NaNo this week. Having bravely, or foolishly posted my daily offerings meant subjecting my writing to more vulnerability than the usual critique sessions. I hope to begin the tedious editing process within the next couple of weeks.
    Happy Pages,
    CM

    • I know how you feel! I just finished my NaNo a couple of hours ago, but I’m not overly keen to show people, not this year. It was all over the place – I just am not happy with it overall. But there were some interesting ideas I suppose…I’m going to spend the next couple of months polishing some old stories, I think.
      Hope you manage to get it finished without too much trouble! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Friday Extra! – Blog of the Year Award! « My thought exactly…!

What do you think?

