NaNoWriMo: It’s finally over!

Winner-180x180Actually, I finished it about this time last night, more than a day early. But wow am I relieved.

The ending was as ridiculous as the beginning, and the bad guys met their demise through a scene involving guns, a sword, a helicopter and two pelicans. While the final chapters were fun to write, it was perhaps the most tedious novel I have written thus far, and the only thing I might salvage from it is a few good ideas and intriguing characters who I think deserve to be in better stories.

Now to have a weekend of relaxing, beginning with tonight as I drink whiskey and wait for this storm to hit and cool everything down (looks like Australia is getting a real summer this year), and then continuing tomorrow night with my fellow writer friends who completed NaNoWriMo with me, as we hit up a neat little local wine bar around the corner from where I live, conveniently within stumbling distance.

How has everybody else gone with NaNoWriMo? I have seen a lot of winners on my writing buddies list, but I have also seen a lot of people who while they didn’t finish, they still reached impressive word counts, which raises an important point – if you even attempted this challenge this November, you seriously rock!

Anyway, time to go relax! When I’ve recovered in a couple of days, I will try and return to more regular blogging. (No, really, I will (fine then, don’t believe me (oh please believe me, I’ll give you a dollar))).

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: It’s finally over!

  1. Congratulations on winning! I must say I’m curious as to what the pelicans were doing with your bad guys, haha.
    I attempted NaNo this year, but due to work and several computer crashes, I only made it to 15k. Still planning on pushing through with this novel though!

    • Thank you! 🙂 The pelicans were the cause of death for the ultimate bad guy. I won’t say why or how, but it was mostly for comedic effect.
      15k is still good, you should still be proud! It’s a start, and a significant start at that! 🙂

    • It is an awesome feeling, isn’t it? You’ll find it’ll change your perspective entirely now you’ve done that! You’ll be like “2000 words? Pah! I can write that over my morning coffee now!” 😛
      Well done on having finished it – the first time is always the hardest. Hope you have a relaxing weekend! 🙂

What do you think?

