England Trip Part 3 – Alnwick Castle, Barter Books and The Angel of the North

It’s been quite a while since I last blogged about my England trip, which now feels like it was a long time ago itself, but I still have many more photos to show you all. These photos are mostly from a day trip up to Alnwick (pronounced Annick) Castle, stopping by a really cool book store on the way. Again, I’ll explain as I go. Enjoy!

1 - Barter Books

This is a book store called Barter Books, and it’s in what used to be an old railway station. There is a lot around to remind you of the history of this building, and the shop does (in a way) barter books, as well. It also has a café with a fireplace, which I quite liked (considering how north, and thus cold, this is).

 

2 - Barter Books Trains

In one of the main rooms of the book store, there is an entire train set running along the top of all the bookshelves, complete with bridges to connect the tracks. The trains are kept running all day, from what I could see. There are also quotes by authors everywhere, often just underneath the tracks. How can you not be charmed by this place?

3 - Alnwick Castle from afar

This is Alnwick Castle, seen from afar (this picture was taken from the car as we drove around). From here you can see some of the restoration works being currently undertaken. It has been in the same family for several centuries (if I remember correctly), and they live there for half the year (the day we came here was the last day it was open for 2012, which was lucky timing).

4 - Front of Alnwick Castle

The main entrance to the castle, though we had to walk the long way around due to, well, what you can see directly in front of us in this picture. It’s amazing to think the people throughout history who would have approached seeing more or less this very same view.

5 - Awesome lamp

How cool does this look?

6 - Interesting device

This is inside a dungeon where prisoners were likely to have been kept. The atmosphere in this room was definitely creepy.

7 - Harry Potter Shot

Does this scene look somewhat familiar to anybody out there? Harry Potter was also filmed in this castle (I seemed to accidentally do the Harry Potter tour of Northern England). That group of people there are all crowded around somebody in a Hagrid costume…

8 - Sir Henry Percy

I just thought this statue of Sir Henry Percy looks really cool. He was born here and was the most famous soldier of his day. He was killed in The Battle of Shrewsbury in 1403.

This enormous tree house is just outside of Alnwick Castle.

This enormous tree house is just outside of Alnwick Castle.

Lastly, The Angel Of The North truly was an astounding spectacle. At 20 metres high and over 50 metres in wingspan, this huge steel structure is really something to behold. Many of the locals were against when it was first built in the late 1990s, but I suspect opinion might be swaying as it brings in more tourism.

Lastly, The Angel Of The North truly was an astounding spectacle. At 20 metres high and over 50 metres in wingspan, this huge steel structure is really something to behold. Many of the locals were against it when it was first built in the late 1990s, but I suspect opinion might be swaying as it brings in more tourism.

Well, that’s it for this post! My next post will most likely move on to the time I spent in London.

If you missed them, there was also a Part 1 which looked at a few places I visited in my first few days, and a Part 2 which focused on Durham Cathedral.

10 thoughts on “England Trip Part 3 – Alnwick Castle, Barter Books and The Angel of the North

    • Thanks! Yeah I didn’t know that about Alnwick Castle until I was there, but they make the most out of the Harry Potter link during the months it is open to the public. I figure why not, Castle’s are pretty expensive to keep in good condition.

  1. super pictures. I loved the Henry Percy one. From what I remember if a soldier is on a prancing horse it is in recognition that he was killed in battle. The thing was inspiring anyway and makes me want to write about Knights and Damsels. Thanks for these – Diane

  2. Antony Gormley is my favourite sculptor. I would love to see this, we have a mini version he did in the sculpture gardens at the National Gallery Canberra. Love the bookshop yum.

  3. I love that a train runs through the barter bookstore and the quotes beneath the tracks must be very inspiring. Alnwick is an amazing castle! How fun that they filmed Harry Potter there. 🙂

    • Barter Books is one of those quirky little places that I’ll probably never forget, even if I never visited it again. If I owned a bookstore, I would want it to have cool things like that going on, not just books on shelves!
      Alnwick was an amazing castle, and it was very hard not to go overboard with the photos I posted (I took about 50 all up of the castle). I would love to revisit it one day, though there are so many castles to see in England, I should spend time visiting new places next time I visit.

  4. That is such a cool bookstore! I love it.

    And very nice pictures of the castle. What a fascinating place 🙂 We don’t have castles here…the idea of people still living in one feels like such a fairy tale! Haha

    • I know right? I think this is one of my favourite bookstores ever! Just so quirky!
      It did feel like another world, being in these castles. It’s funny trying to explain to my Aussie students I teach how it felt to be in buildings from the medieval era, to explain the thoughts and emotions running through me at the time. You have to experience it first hand I think, it’s quite an amazing feeling! 🙂

What do you think?

