The England Trip Part 4: London

I spent about half of my time in England in London, and found myself visiting lots of places. Out of the hundreds of photos I took, the following are a few that show some of the places that meant a lot to me as we travelled. Many of them aren’t your typical tourist destinations, but little places we found when roaming around.

We visited these cafes and restaurants in Covent Garden on more than one occasion (particularly before seeing The Lion King Musical and Swan Lake, both of which were in the area). This group of classical musicians were particularly entertaining - as people walked by they would swarm around and play just to that person, with varying results. The Opera singers who sung here were amazing as well.

We visited these cafes and restaurants in Covent Garden on more than one occasion (particularly before seeing The Lion King Musical and Swan Lake, both of which were in the area). This group of classical musicians were particularly entertaining – as people walked by they would swarm around and play just to that person, with varying results. The Opera singers who sung here were amazing as well.

The Tower Of London was one of my must-see destinations, simply because of the rich history of the building. It was fascinating and definitely worth the time and money. While I enjoyed the galleries inside, the building itself perhaps interested me the most.

The Tower Of London was one of my must-see destinations, simply because of the rich history of the building. It was fascinating and definitely worth the time and money. While I enjoyed the exhibition inside, the building itself interested me the most.

I'm pretty sure this was Hampstead Heath, though my memory might be playing tricks on me. Anyway, I thought this view was just stunning. The whole area was amazing and we spent a long time walking around, until we were soaked with rain. At which point we found ourselves utterly lost, of course.

I’m pretty sure this was Hampstead Heath, though my memory might be playing tricks on me. Anyway, I thought this view was just stunning. The whole area was amazing and we spent a long time walking around, until we were soaked with rain. At which point we found ourselves utterly lost, of course.

This is now my favourite pub in the world. It's sort of hidden in Hammersmith, right on the Thames, and had an amazing atmosphere inside, plus some great drinks, and the world's smallest bar. We ended up visiting a second time on our last night in London. One day I will definitely return here.

This is now my favourite pub in the world. It’s sort of hidden in Hammersmith, right on the Thames, and had an amazing atmosphere inside, plus some great drinks, and the world’s smallest bar. We ended up visiting a second time on our last night in London. One day I will definitely return here.

This tiny, sectioned off part of The Dove is officially the world's smallest bar. What you see in this photo is it - this is the whole room. It was almost always full, and so we just drank in the main parts of the pub, but I still loved the fact that this pub owns this record.

This tiny, sectioned off part of The Dove is officially the world’s smallest bar. What you see in this photo is it – this is the whole room. It was almost always full, and so we just drank in the main parts of the pub, but I still loved the fact that this pub owns this record.

We stumbled across this place by accident, and instantly fell in love with it. What was meant to be a quick drink turned into a several hour stay, drinking most of the whiskey they had. They regularly have poetry readings in here, and the place is filled with poetry books and poems on the walls and that kind of thing. A lovely place that I would also like to revisit.

We stumbled across this place by accident, and instantly fell in love with it. What was meant to be a quick drink turned into a several hour stay, drinking most of the whiskey they had. They regularly have poetry readings in here, and the place is filled with poetry books and poems on the walls and that kind of thing. A lovely place that I would also like to revisit.

We didn't manage to see anything here, but it was nice to finally see The Globe with my own eyes, if nothing else. As an English teacher, I absolutely had to see this.

We didn’t manage to see anything here, but it was nice to finally see The Globe with my own eyes, if nothing else. As an English teacher, I absolutely had to see this.

This sign is hard to read, but it lists fruit cocktails that this particular pub sold, and at the bottom says "possibly one of your five a day". I love the sense of humour some of these places have in England.

This sign is hard to read, but it lists fruit cocktails that this particular pub sold, and at the bottom says “possibly 1 of your 5 a day”. I love the sense of humour that is so prevalent throughout pubs in England.

I could have shared so many more photos of so many other places that I adored, but I’ll end it here. I also think I’ll end this England Trip series of posts here – a lot of the remaining photos are more personal ones that might not be as interesting to others as they are to me, and I feel like I’ve managed to cover the main places I visited in England (that I have decent photos of, at least).

Have you visited any of these places in London? If so, what are your experiences?

16 thoughts on “The England Trip Part 4: London

  1. Looks like you had a great time! The pubs look fantastic; if there’s one thing I regret about my four-month stay in London a few years ago, it’s that I didn’t spend nearly enough time in pubs!

    • Yeah, I love English pubs. Having grown up with British parents (obviously, being a Brit myself), all I’ve heard growing up in Australia is how the pubs here are crap compared to the ones in England, blah blah blah. But actually they’re right, the pubs in England are just beautiful. Places you actually want to sit and drink in. We need more of that in Australia.

  2. great to see these pictures, I love London. We don’t go there very often it has to be said but whenever we do we have a super time. The museums and art galleries are always worth visiting but I have never seen that Poetry Place and will look for that. Thanks again for sharing these little memories. You certainly do seem to have made the most of your trip.

    • Yeah, it seems a lot of people in England don’t often travel to London. I guess though it’s the same with Sydney – I live an hour away so I visit quite often, but you get much further out from Sydney than this and you find people who have never visited the city.
      It was a very full on trip, and so much more happened than I can reveal in these posts (all in due time though). But yes, it was life changing for me in a lot of ways. πŸ™‚

  3. Oh how I love London! Great pics by the way! I loved Covent Garden….so fun to listen to some of the beautiful music there. Sounds like you are having a great time! Keep the pics and postings coming πŸ™‚
    Cheers!

    • I love London too – if only I didn’t live on the other side of the world! Grrr. I think Covent Garden was one of my favourite places, I could live there quite happily if money wasn’t an issue!
      Glad you’ve liked the pics and posts πŸ™‚

    • Oh yes, you must visit! It is totally worth the trip (and I am probably as far away from it as you can get down here in Australia πŸ˜› But the 24 hour flight was totally worth it!). And thank you, my travelling companion took better pics, but to be fair she had a better camera. For a cheap one I’m pretty happy with some of my pics. πŸ™‚

    • It’s funny how I didn’t realise I really wasn’t visiting the typical tourist destinations in London until I wrote this post – so many of these photos are of odd little places we discovered. Looking at the photos makes me just want to be back there, in The Dove drinking pints of beer. Rather than being here, melting in the increasingly hot Aussie summer πŸ˜› Oh well, one day…

  4. Oh gosh, I just love that third shot. What an absolutely beautiful place! I would love to get lost walking there as well.

    Never been to England, but you’ve definitely made me want to visit even more! I’m glad you had such a wonderful trip, and I hope you’re able to make it back to some of your favorite haunts sooner rather than later πŸ™‚

    • Ah yes, that is a beautiful place. I could have written a whole post on just that one place, I had enough photos to do so. πŸ™‚
      I’m glad I’ve stirred a few people to want to travel to England from these posts (maybe I should seek payment from their Tourism boards?). I will definitely have to visit England again soon – I feel magnetised now I’ve been back once. πŸ™‚

What do you think?

