Blog of the Year Award 2012

Blog of the Year Award 3 star jpegTo be nominated for an award with a title such as “Blog of the Year” at all is pretty nice, especially for a blogger who is still in his first year, and who still feels he has a lot to learn in the art itself. But to be nominated for this award three times before I even have the chance to write my post on it leaves me a little speechless. So Keri from My thought exactly…!, Susan from Mywithershins, and Jenny from J.Keller Ford – thank you for nominating me for this, for being so wonderful and supportive over this year, and for being so inspiring with your own blogs.

Now, as usual there are rules (which I am simply going to copy and paste, rather than rewording them as I so often do (I’ll put them in italics so you know when it’s me writing again, so to speak)):

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award

2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.

3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)

4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them

5 You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience

6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…

6 stars image

Yes – that’s right – there are stars to collect!

Unlike other awards which you can only add to your blog once – this award is different!

When you begin you will receive the ‘1 star’ award – and every time you are given the award by another blog – you can add another star!

There are a total of 6 stars to collect.

Which means that you can check out your favourite blogs – and even if they have already been given the award by someone else – you can still bestow it on them again and help them to reach the maximum 6 stars!

Okay, I’m back now. So having been nominated three times, I have three stars now, which is pretty awesome, and for which I am exceedingly grateful.

But now onto the blogs I wish to nominate. These are blogs that I have been following for the majority of the year at least, and many have helped inspire me countless times over my (relatively) short blogging experience.  I also won’t write about their blogs – if they’re on this list, you should just go and check them out, it’s that simple. Many of them have similar interests to me, but some are more personalised, as well. Also, I am including the three blogs who nominated me on this list, which I would have even if they hadn’t nominated me!

My Thought Exactly…!

Mywithershins

J. Keller Ford

Got My Book

Books Speak Volumes

The Tiger’s Eye

Storyteller In The Digital Age

Green Paw-Paw

Diane’s Stories Site

The Hand-Written Life

If you haven’t seen these blogs before, hop to it and check them out, as they all have something amazing to offer, and are all written by some very talented and interesting bloggers.

Hope you are all keeping sane at this busy time of year, and also that you are keeping safe! And also also that you are finding time to relax, read, and so on. And also also also that you are finding time to be awesome. And also also also also…okay I’ll stop.

22 thoughts on “Blog of the Year Award 2012

  1. Thank you for re-nominating me. I now have 3 stars as well. 🙂 I am truly inspired by your blog, you make me laugh and I think you have a marvelous way of sharing your life’s journey with the rest of us. Good luck in the future and I look forward to another fantastic year of reading your posts.

    • Thank you, that’s very kind of you! I am glad I can make people laugh (even if it’s just because my humour is so daggy). Good luck to you as well – bring on 2013 I say! I suspect it holds great things for a lot of us! 🙂

  2. Thanks, Matt. Your blog has been one of my favorites since I started blogging this year, and I am so honored that you’ve chosen me as a Blog of the Year!

    • It’s nice to be at this end of the year and still see so many of us who did start and meet earlier this year still going strong! I think the little community we have definitely helps drive me on, yourself included of course! 🙂

  3. Thanks for nominating me. I think that makes 3 stars for me, as well! I have so enjoyed reading your blog and getting to know you and your sense of humour. Hope you have a wonderful holiday season. Hard to believe Christmas Eve is only a week away – and as usual, so much to do! Take care and congratulations on all your nominations. 🙂

    • Thank you! It has been a great journey, blogging and meeting so many inspiring people from all around the world. And to think the journey has only just begun, in the grand scheme of things…
      I know, the holiday season has a habit of sneaking up like this. But I am ready for it, and the only thing I have to do is survive to the end of the week, and then I have my summer holidays and will be off work for a few weeks, which is just lovely! I need a rest, this has been a full on (but incredible) year.
      Hope you have a wonderful holiday season as well! 🙂

      • Thanks! I had to chuckle when you mentioned going on ‘summer holidays’, when I’ll be going on a ‘winter break’ in a few days! lol One of these days I’ll have do get down and experience your topsy-turvy world for myself! 🙂

        • Yeah, I find it funny hearing about people being disappointed on your side of the world about the snow melting, while we’re complaining here in Australia that it hasn’t cracked the 40s (in celcius) yet heat wise (I suspect it will very soon though). Australia is definitely worth a visit, it’s a beautiful country and I think it’s not quite what a lot of people expect, too.

  4. thank you so very much, I have two nominations now which is pretty thrilling. I hope you have a lovely Christmas Season and all the very best of everything in the New Year – cheers – Diane

  5. Pingback: Blog of The Year Award 2012 « The Hand-Written Life

  6. Erm. Hi. Looks like I succumbed to the whole can’t-keep-my-first-blog-running tradition. 😛
    Anyway, I’m glad you got nominated for this thing thrice (you totally deserve it) and I love the blogs you’ve chosen, as well. (Hey there, Literary Tiger, Inkeri, Susan!)
    I’m thinking of starting a new blog this year, see how that works out. I’ll be sure to go through all the posts I’ve missed since then. Happy New Year! 🙂

    • Why hello there stranger! :O How have you been? Where have you been? You know some of us have been missing you, right?
      Seems like a lot of people do that though, where they run out of steam and then start all over – maybe starting a new blog will be a breath of fresh air for you! I plan on changing the design of mine very soon, but I’m quite happy with the way it’s plodding along on the whole. Definitely make sure you link me (and others) to your new blog as soon as you do start it though, yeah?
      It’s lovely to hear from you again 🙂 Happy New Year to you too!

  7. Pingback: 1 Year Anniversary and Blog of the Year Award « The Tiger's Eye

What do you think?

