Bouddi National Park and Maitland Bay – A great start to the year

I began the new year with every intention of lazing around indoors, watching movies. However, some friends of mine were determined that I would go outside with them and share the sunshine, and I’m glad they dragged me out as it was a great (though tiring) way to start the year.

I thought I’d share some photos with you all – this place is about a half hour’s drive from where I live, and reminds me what a beautiful part of the world I live in.

A part of the bushwalk trail  to the beach - most of it is downhill, mostly steps, so the walk back up at the end of the day was a bit challenging. But it was worth it.

A part of the bushwalk trail to the beach – most of it is downhill, mostly steps, and it takes a good half hour to walk, so the walk back up at the end of the day was a bit challenging. But it was worth it.

I really liked this view. As we walked through the park, we kept humming the theme song of Jurassic Park. Don't judge us.

I really liked this view. As we walked through the park, we kept humming the theme song of Jurassic Park. Don’t judge us.

This photo didn't turn out very well, but this is near the bottom of the trail - the beach is in the background of this picture, behind the trees.

This photo didn’t turn out very well, but this is near the bottom of the trail – the beach is in the background of this picture, behind the trees.

This is Maitland Bay. Due to the difficulty in actually getting to this beach, it was very quiet even on a public holiday (when most beaches in Australia are packed to the brim).

This is Maitland Bay. Due to the difficulty in actually getting to this beach, it was very quiet even on a public holiday (when most beaches in Australia are packed to the brim).

Another photo of Maitland Bay. The water was beautiful to swim in, and I think we only saw one potentially dangerous thing in there (...what?).

Another photo of Maitland Bay. The water was beautiful to swim in, and I think we only saw one potentially dangerous thing in there (…what?).

I just thought this tree looked really grotesque and cool.

I just thought this tree looked really grotesque and cool, particularly the way the branches all curl around one another.

This sign, at the entrance to the park, was too funny not to photograph.

This sign, at the entrance to the park, was too funny not to photograph.

Now at 9pm I find myself utterly exhausted, but it was a great way to spend the first day of the year!

Happy New Years everyone, and all the best to you all in 2013!

8 thoughts on “Bouddi National Park and Maitland Bay – A great start to the year

  1. What a beautiful hidden spot, this country never ceases to amaze me. But hell! I can’t remember how the Jurassic Park theme goes. It’s driving me mad! I’m going to google. Happy New Year!

    • I know, it really is a beautiful country! I’m amazed how many places nearby in my local Central Coast I still haven’t discovered, and I’ve lived here over a decade.
      Happy New Year to you too! 😀

  2. I think I need to spend next New Years in Australia… where it’s warm. A day at the beach to celebrate the new year sounds spectacular.
    Happy New Year!

  3. What a wonderful way to spend New Year’s Day! We had a fair bit of blowing snow. No lovely beaches where we couldn’t bathe ‘unclad’ or twisted trees reminding me of Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit around here! 🙂

    • It was a nice way to spend New Year’s Day, even if I was pretty tired and sore both before and after! 😛 But yes, it was one of those days where I remembered how lucky I really am to live here.

What do you think?

