One year old already?

1st BirthdaySo I’m finally a year old, and really I’ve achieved quite a lot. I mean, already I’m frightfully literate, I’ve been a teacher for two years which throws a number of concepts regarding time and space into question, and let’s be honest here – I’ve somehow turned into a quite handsome young man. I don’t know how all this has occurred in a year, but I’m awfu

Ahem.

So my blog is a year old. Or a year and a day. Actually a year and a day and a bit. But you get the point.

When I started this blog at the beginning of 2012, I had no idea where it was going to go, or what it was going to be about, or what changes it was going to introduce into my life. A year later, I’ve written over 180 posts, covering my tastes in books and music, my thoughts on certain aspects of writing, my adventures in writing challenges, some of my travelling, some of my humour, a few brain teasers here and there, and who knows what else (well, I should, but I forget). I’ve met hundreds of other bloggers in the process, all of whom have amazed and inspired me in different ways, some of them in ways that have quite literally changed my life (they know who they are, when they read this).

If you’re any one of these people I’m referring to, if I’ve dropped by your blog in the past year or you’ve taken the time out of your busy schedules to swing by my page and say hello, thank you so much – you have no idea how much this means to me. It is you people who keep me going, and make me want to stay and keep blogging even when life becomes inevitably hectic, as it has done in recent months.

2013 will be a big year for me, and I’m hoping it’ll be a big year for my blog, too. I will continue with the book reviews, as normal, and I plan on reading more regularly (rather than in the small explosions of reading that occurred last year), so the reviews should trickle in more consistently. I plan on writing a weekly “what I’m listening to” music post, but it will be simpler, shorter and sweeter than the few attempts at this I made last year. I’ll also jump between various other types of posts, such as writing posts, history posts, perhaps some more brain teasers and similar games, and whatever else takes my fancy. I plan on writing a lot more short stories and poetry this year, so some of my writing posts will revolve around these adventures, and I may even put snippets of them up for others to read (this is a definite maybe at this stage, though).

Thank you again for supporting me these last twelve months, and I look forward to another year in this great blogging community with you all!

12 thoughts on “One year old already?

  1. Congradulations on your anniversary.. I look forward to reading your blog in the next year and seeing how you grow. I have experienced similar growth through blogging and the feedback that I have received. Good luck in the coming year.

  2. You’re welcome – congrats on your one-year-blog-birthday. It IS a big deal. Your blog is delightful, and you write like you’re talking to good friends.

    Guess what? You are! I think we bloggers become good friends by reading each other’s post, following each other’s thoughts and writing, and supporting each other. Thank YOU, and Happy New Year.

    • Thank you! I’ve never heard my writing described quite like that, but I like it, and yes I suppose that is kind of the style I’m going for as well. And you’re right, we do all become friends with one another, and I have become quite close to some of my readers too! It’s a wonderful network we have here.
      Happy New Year! 🙂

  3. Happy blog-aversary! It was mine, too, at the start of the month. Isn’t it amazing how much blogging had affected us and how many friends we’ve made as a result? I hope this year is just as wonderful and I’ll try to get by more often than I have, lately. 🙂

  4. Happy Blogaversary! We must be twins, as it’s been a year since I started my blog, too! lol

    I had no idea when I started that I’d be so hooked on blogging. It’s been so amazing, meeting all these wonderful bloggers, including you! I can’t wait to see what you come up with over the next year. 🙂

    • Oh how weird, your first comment ended up in my spam? Did you spam it yourself somehow or something? It seems quite similar to this one 😛 Oh well.
      It’s funny, there’s a big bunch of us who all started the same time and all seem to follow and support each other, which is really quite nice actually! Makes the experience so much more exciting! Thanks for sharing in an amazing first year on the blogosphere! I think the next year will bring some exciting things for a lot of us. 🙂

      • My first comment didn’t show up so I posted it again. I don’t know why it would have ended up as spam, either.

        Anyway, I guess birds of a feather tend to gather together, so it only makes sense we bloggers gravitated to each other. I’m sure the next year will be amazing, too! 🙂

What do you think?

