Sunday Sounds #2

It’s that time of the week again where I share some of the music I’ve been listening to lately. As usual I’ll briefly describe each album, and include a clip of one of my favourite tracks from each one for you to watch and enjoy.

The Double Life EPThe Double Life EP by Bob Evans

When Kevin Mitchell isn’t preoccupied with Australian indie band Jebediah, he’s busy with his solo project in which he calls himself Bob Evans. To date he has released three albums, all of which have become increasingly folky in style, so this four track EP is a bit of a jump in sound, playing with quite different instrumentation on some of the songs while still retaining that unique feel of his music. The single of the EP, “Don’t Wanna Grow Up Anymore”, is a fun song and video as well, but it is worth checking out the other three songs – definitely a cool little piece on the whole.

I Know What Love Isn'tI Know What Love Isn’t by Jens Lekman

I’ve found myself drawn to a number of Swedish musicians and songwriters lately, and this is one of them. Jens Lekman writes mostly guitar based pop music, and a lot of it is quite melancholy both in sound and lyrical theme. While I haven’t heard his earlier albums in full, this album has grown on me with each listen. I love his voice as well – it sounds so unusual but that’s no bad thing. The song I’ve included is the title track of the album, and is considerably more upbeat too when compared to the other songs. I intend on spending more time exploring the work of this talented artist.

Celebration DayCelebration Day by Led Zeppelin

Back in 2007, the three surviving members of Led Zeppelin reformed for a one off show (with the late drummer’s son replacing him), and over a million people around the world went into a lottery to get one of prized tickets to this once in a lifetime gig. Though the band of course no longer have their youth, they are still amazing and still know how to rock better than most musicians half their age. Luckily, the concert was recorded on film and audio, and now has been released on CD, DVD and who knows what else for all the world to see (it even was screened in cinemas). While not every track hits the mark, the majority of this 16 song set is pretty impressive, and a must-see and must-hear for Led Zeppelin fans. I’ve included the video of Kashmir, which was one of the my favourites from this show as they writhe with energy the whole song (especially Plant with his amazing vocals).

What have you been listening to this week? What are your thoughts on these albums I’ve discussed, if you’ve heard them?

 

10 thoughts on “Sunday Sounds #2

  1. LOVE Kashmir, but man, are they old! (that means I am, too but we’re not going there). I grew up with these guys in the late 60s/early 70s, belting out tunes on the radio. Always had to listen to Zeppelin with the volume up full-blast!! Still do. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

    • Hahaha, yeah, they are getting on. Jimmy Page looks more ancient than he really is, Robert Plant would look younger if he shed his facial hair. John Paul Jones…oddly looks pretty good, actually, hahaha.
      I sort of grew up listening to Led Zeppelin as well – my dad played them when I was little, and then in my teens I got into them on my own terms, and started collecting their albums (I think I first bought Led Zeppelin III when I was about 16, 17). From there on it turned into an obsession, and I must confess not only are they my fave band (tied with The Beatles), but I still buy all of Robert Plant’s albums (which have actually been very good this last decade or so). A lot of my music taste owes itself to LedZep, and I think even the fact I often grow my hair long has something to do with my fondness for that era of music.
      Oh dear, once I get started on these guys I can’t stop! Always nice to talk to other fans! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I know asking you to pick your favorite Zeppelin songs is like asking you to pick your favorite star in the heavens, but what are your top 3? I really like “When the Levee Breaks” (Killer drum line); “Since I’ve Been Loving You” (speaks to the jazz-er in me); and “Down by the Seaside” (very under-rated if you ask me, but then again, it’s not traditional Zeppelin).

        • Oooh some interesting choices, I love When The Levee Breaks too, and actually I also like Down By The Seaside, particularly how they change it up about halfway through the song – it fits in very well on that second part of Physical Graffiti.
          My favourite overall is Since I’ve Been Loving You, because I think it shows off the abilities of all four band members at different points, almost as if it were a tug of war between Plant’s howling vocals and Page’s relentless guitar (I especially love the live version on the How The West Was Won live album from their ’72 tour). My next two songs is a lot tougher to decide, I must confess. That’s The Way I think would have to be second – I love that acoustic half of LedZep III and always have, and this song is just so sweet and melancholy and powerful. My third favourite could be In My Time Of Dying…though I dare say that almost goes too long (it is 12 minutes to be fair). No, I think my third favourite is probably I’m Gunna Crawl, the very last song on In Through The Out Door – it seems like such a perfect song to end what would be the last true studio album before they broke up, like it encapsulates everything the band was about in this one song, a song that they really feel their way through, perfect bluesy rock.
          There we go, that took an effort but I got there. Since I’ve Been Loving You, That’s The Way, and I’m Gunna Crawl. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I must confess I’ve never listened much to Led Zeppelin before and I’ve never even heard of Bob Evans and yet here I’m sitting on my couch finding myself really loving the music – I think these short music posts are a hit! Because since there is only about three songs you have time to take it all in and really enjoy it and you get curious for more. Excellent! I’ve listened to Lekman for many years and I agree about his voice, it is sort of strange but in such an awesome way – not easily forgettable ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the post!

    • Well I’m always glad to encourage people to listen to Led Zeppelin, considering they’re one of my favourites! ๐Ÿ˜‰ And of course I always like to introduce people to some of the homegrown talent here in Australia, of which I think Bob Evans is a seriously underrated part. So I am super glad you enjoyed both of their music so much, and I’m also glad to see you knew what I meant about Lekman’s voice – I wrote that and then wondered if I was just talking nonsense hahaha.
      Also good to hear you like the newer structure of these music posts – I think I’m going to stick to three albums/clips.
      Thank you for the lovely comment ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: Sunday Sounds #3 | Wanton Creation

  4. Pingback: Monday Music: New albums by Bob Evans & Devendra Banhart (and an older Rufus Wainwright album) | Wanton Creation

What do you think?

