A Few Changes – new layout, new ‘about’ section, and a drawing

As you might have noticed, I have made a few changes to my blog page today and I thought I’d just point them out briefly.

The most obvious change is my layout. I decided to clean up the look of my blog, but have tried to keep the menus on the side because I like them there, to be honest. The header image is a local one – taken from Ettalong beach, on the beautiful Central Coast of Australia (where I live). The sea will always be a big part of me, and I will probably always need to live within driving distance of it, so I felt it was an appropriate image to put on what has become a much more personal blog (or at least, it’s a blog about stuff I like, rather than just books now, though I still like to focus on books).

Now, the other changes. I have updated the quotes page with a few quotes, but more importantly, I updated my “About” page. That page has long been one of my most popular (the old blurb is still there, under the new one), so it was hard to know how to “update” it. So I just rambled on in a silly fashion again. Surpriiiise!

Anyway, feel free to go check it out, and let me know your thoughts on the new changes – do they work? Be honest as well!

Because this post is a little short, I’ve drawn an awesome picture of myself, complete with totally necessary labels, just for you. I used Microsoft Paint, which I believe is what all the professionals use now? Except I don’t have a mouse so it was kind of hard to draw. Anyway, enjoy!

I know, I know. I'm quite the artist.

I know, I know. I’m quite the artist.

16 thoughts on “A Few Changes – new layout, new ‘about’ section, and a drawing

  1. Microsoft Paint truly is the state of art and I must say, you have managed to master the art entirely! Great work! ;P Take care and don’t get blown away by sharks or eaten by the wind.. I mean.. err.. eaten by sharks and blown away by the wind 😛

    • I know right?! I bet they didn’t have programs like Microsoft Paint back in the 90s, when I was growing up! *looks into the distance ponderously* 😛
      Nah, I think eaten by the wind actually suits quite well, if you see what the wind can do sometimes. 😛 But honestly, we’re not that dangerous here. We’re not. I mean, at least 10% of us live to an old age….(actually, we have one of the highest life expectancies in the whole world, I think we’re the country with the second or third highest life expectancy, which goes to show Australia isn’t dangerous. OR Australians are so relaxed the dangerous things can’t be bothered with us).

  2. That pic is awesome hahaha! You’re inspiring me to try one on for myself….i think i might be tempted to add a hook for one foot and a wheel for the other… And have lazers for eyes and a gorilla chest (see my vest! -Monty Burns) for a torso. Loving the new layout too! Very clean looking and just easy to follow! (Not that your other one wasn’t)

    • Hahaha, it’s funny because I genuinely got to the end of writing that post and thought “it needs a picture. It’s boring without a picture. But what the hell kind of picture do I put on it?” And then about thirty seconds later I was opening up Paint. And about several minutes after that I was uploading it. I really don’t have a mouse, just that little pad thing on laptops under the keyboard so it was really hard to draw 😛
      Your idea for your picture sounds awesome! If you draw it and don’t load it up on your blog, you have to show me it still! Especially now you have that Simpsons scene in my head.
      Thanks, I’m liking my new layout. I needed to clean it up, it had been needing it for a while. That and the new about section and everything has left it feeling a lot fresher, and left me feeling more inspired to blog now! 🙂

    • Thank you! 🙂 It’s funny, I think a few people have been tempted to draw themselves in a similar fashion 😛 I’d love to try and draw myself properly with pencil, but I haven’t drawn for many many years. But it is something I should get back into, it’s very enjoyable if time consuming.

  3. Love the drawing, and you’ve reminded me that I need to update my about page. Been meaning to do that for awhile. Love the photo–beautiful place to live!

    • Thanks! I had been meaning to update my about page too, and I actually was intending to make mine serious this time. But it’s like this other ‘me’ just appears and takes over every time I try to write it. 😛
      It is a stunning place to live, I’m surrounded by beaches and lakes and things like this. I can see it from my bedroom balcony even – it is something I am very grateful for, and will sorely miss when I do leave the area one day (though my family live here so I’ll always have a reason to return).

  4. Your header makes me really jealous! I would love to live somewhere by the sea. The scenery is awesome – and the salt air would probably do wonders for my sinuses! lol

    Your sketch of yourself is very cute – just like you! lol

    The look of your blog is much brighter and I think it represents you better. Now, I’m off to check out your new ‘About’ page. 🙂

    • Yeah, I’ve gotten a few comments about my header along those lines! I am very lucky to live here, and it’s occurred to me that even if and when I do move overseas eventually, I would still need to live near the sea. It’s too big a part of me now I think, it wouldn’t feel right for me to live too far from it (I mean I can see it from my bedroom window, so you know…). But yes, I live in a beautiful area. Even right now when I think we’re about to be hit by a ferocious storm that is already flooding half the country hahaha.
      I’m surprised how popular that sketch has proven to be. Best three minutes I ever spent. 😛
      Thank you, I’m glad you like my new layout – I think you’re right, it does represent me better, and it suits the blog more seeing as though I’ve branched out beyond just books and writing now. 🙂

What do you think?

