My favourite comedians #3: Dylan Moran

Another one of my favourite comedians is the grumpy ranting Irishman, Dylan Moran. While Moran mostly spends his time performing stand-up comedy tours and occasionally appearing in movies, he first shot to fame as the character Bernard Black in the massively successful British comedy Black Books, and it is from this part of his career I feel it’s best to start this blog post.

Black Books was based in a second hand bookstore in the outskirts of London, around three main characters – Bernard Black (Moran), the Irish drunkard bookstore owner who smokes and drinks too much and is rude to customers and his friends, Manny (Bill Bailey) who is his bumbling assistant at the shop, and Fran (Tamsin Greig) who is an old friend who frequents the shop. All three characters are wildly different, and together are simply hilarious with story lines ranging from accidentally drinking a seven thousand pound bottle of wine meant for the pope while house sitting, to attempting to write a children’s story while drunk. Dylan Moran created and co-wrote the series, as well as playing the key role which seems to embody a lot of his on stage persona. If you’ve never seen this show, you absolutely must – there’s only 3 series and 18 episodes in total, but every episode is pure comedy gold.

His stand up comedy grew in popularity after the success of Black Books, particularly due to Moran’s likeness to his alter ego in terms of his grumpy, cynical way of looking at the world. As with many great comedians, it’s not just what he says that is funny, but the way he says it, the way he mumbles as he explains his point of view and suddenly springing to life when you least expect it. The next clip is of him discussing the idea of potential, and why we shouldn’t touch it, and while it is incredibly negative and not what most people would agree with, the way he conveys his opinions is very funny.

Lastly, I want to include a very short clip of one of his shows where he discusses Australia, and how ridiculous he thinks the country is. What makes me laugh about it is that in the last few weeks we have been hit by hundreds of bushfires, record breaking temperatures, cyclones, and now severe storms and mass flooding, and I find myself wondering if Moran actually has a good point in this clip. Anyway, enjoy.

Have you seen Moran’s stand up or Black Books before? If so, what are your thoughts? If not, do you think you would watch it?

18 thoughts on “My favourite comedians #3: Dylan Moran

    • You know what they say, great minds think alike! πŸ˜› But I do find it interesting that quite a number of fellow bloggers seem to share my taste in comedy, considering that I tend to have a lot in common generally with these bloggers. I sense a study in comedy coming up…
      Sadly, I am yet to see Dylan Moran live, despite his coming to Australia at least three times. Next time though! πŸ™‚

      • My friend works at one of the theatres he performed at, and she was doing the seat check while he did his sound check and he yelled at her to get out of the room!

        She said it was awesome because he really is a jerk like Bernard Black haha.

        I have to see him next time, no matter what.

        • That is so cool, I love that she thought that was awesome! I guess there’s not many people who you’d get excited about them acting like a jerk, but Dylan Moran is one of the few! πŸ˜›
          I’m hoping he’ll tour this year. It’s been a while… πŸ˜€

  1. Yes oh yes Black Books – the scene where he is looking for his passport and drags all the books from the shelf is one of my all time favourites. It’s the pure mania – gets me every time. Another big yes from me on this choice.

    • Hahaha yes I remember that scene, that is hilarious. It’s such a brilliant show, and I know so many people who have yet to see it (my girlfriend included now that I think about it), though I am slowly rectifying this by trying to share it with as many people as possible. Glad to see you agree on this one too! πŸ™‚

  2. Dylan Moran is so funny – the writing a children’s book episode is one of my favourites ^^ Also, I can’t completely disagree with his comments about Australia. I’m from Australia and even I wonder why people live there sometimes! (I am sheltering in Japan at the moment, hoping China doesn’t declare war and I have to move home…)

    • Ahhh, I hope you liked it! He definitely has a unique style πŸ˜›
      I’m keeping safe for the most part – the craziness seems to have died down for a while, but I feel very sorry for some of the towns up north that have been completely ravaged again, so soon after the floods of two years ago. We got some minor flooding here but nothing too serious, definitely didn’t claim lives like it did up north. :/ This country is crazy! Thanks for your concern πŸ™‚

  3. Black Books is one of my absolute favorite shows. Every episode is so good, it’s impossible to pick a favorite. I love when that happens!

    It never occurred to me that Dylan Moran might do stand up. Now I’m off to find some to watch!

    • It’s true, it is such a brilliant show, definitely a rarity to find a show this good the whole way through.
      Ahhh, he’s been doing stand up for years now. He has four DVDs out of different performances, “Monster”, “Like, Totally”, “What It Is” and “Yeah yeah”. Pretty much imagine Bernard Black, but more sober and verbose, and that’s Moran’s stand up! I think the DVD performances are on Youtube in full actually – personally I think he becomes funnier with each new one. πŸ™‚

        • Ahhh cool! I think I’ve watched Like, Totally the most out of the four of them! It might just be my opinion about him getting funnier with each one. Or it might be because he’s getting older – I think other comedians often become funnier with age, such as Billy Connolly who really hit the peak of his comedic prowess in his 50s and 60s.

What do you think?

