My 200th Blog Post!

200th Blog PostFor my 200th post, I thought I’d do things a little differently to my 100th (where, by memory, I wrote about the performance of my blog). This time round, I’m going to talk about some of my favourite things, many of which connect to my blog and some of which I have mentioned before.

I would love to hear other people’s answers to these questions in the comment section, so feel free to answer some or all of the following questions.

My Favourite Book: Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

Long time readers of my blog will probably have heard me ranting about how absolutely amazing this book is at least a couple of times, if not more. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me laugh some more, and it inspired me to take up writing again after a several year absence of the hobby in my life. It helped remind me of who I am, and why I am this person. Powerful stuff.

My Favourite Album: Abbey Road by The Beatles

It might seem awfully predictable that my favourite album is one by The Beatles, who are also one of my favourite bands (alongside Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Porcupine Tree and Crowded House). But there is just something about Abbey Road that takes my breath away – at 44 years old, it still feels as fresh as anything you could hear today, because it is simply timeless in its ingenuity of song writing.

Monty Python and the Holy GrailMy Favourite Film: Monty Python and the Holy Grail

I am a shameless Monty Python fan, and love all of their films, television series, audio albums, books and so on. Many will argue over which of their films was the best, but for me it isn’t up for argument – I have been watching this classic medieval themed movie since I was young, and can almost quote the entire thing. It still makes me laugh even after dozens of views. Too funny.

My Favourite TV Show: Can’t decide (as in I actually can’t decide. There isn’t some show called “Can’t decide”)

So here’s a list of my favourite TV shows (yes they’re all comedies…surprise!): Monty Python’s Flying Circus; Blackadder; A Bit Of Fry And Laurie; Black Books; The Mighty Boosh; The IT Crowd; 30 Rock (see, not all my comedy taste is British, just most of it); The Micallef Program (an old but classic Aussie show); Harvey Birdman: Attorney At Law; The Simpsons; Spicks and Specks (an Aussie music quiz show), Danger 5. I do watch some serious television though, mostly documentaries. But I honestly can’t decide a favourite here, it’s too hard.

My Favourite Comedian: Billy Connolly

Those of you who saw the first of my comedian posts a few weeks ago will already know this, but Billy Connolly is by far my favourite comedian, and has been since I was a wee lad. If you want to know more about why, see this post I wrote on him.

My Favourite Food: Chicken Parmigiana

A pub classic across Australia (and presumably other parts of the world too), I find myself often craving a schnitzel covered in tomato, herbs, ham and cheese. It’s so simple, and doesn’t sound half as nice as it looks, smells or tastes, but this is just something I find supremely satisfying.

My Favourite Pub in Australia: Hart’s Pub

Located in The Rocks in Sydney, this great little pub is hidden away but much adored by those who have visited before. They serve a large range of local beers on tap, with part of the menu changing every so often as well, giving those of us such as myself who live about an hour’s drive a way a reason to come back. They also have great food, and a great, cosy atmosphere inside. My kind of pub.

The Dove - The World's Smallest Bar

This tiny room, part of The Dove (the main part is much bigger), is officially the world’s smallest bar.

My Favourite Pub in The World: The Dove, London, England

Those of you who read my posts on my trip to England will remember me mentioning this pub. While I still have many pubs in the world to see, for now this is my favourite I have ever visited. Great atmosphere, great beer and food, and I share great memories from my two visits to this place.

My Favourite Tea: Mountaintop Oolong Tea

While I don’t have a favourite coffee as yet (I just love most coffee), I do have a favourite tea. Mountaintop Oolong Tea is a green tea, taken from cold mountainous climates, and it’s a very smooth tasting tea with none of the bitterness that other green teas can have. I have tried other Oolong teas, include one which was supposed to be superior, but none can beat this one for me. If you’re a tea fan, try and get your hands on this one – you won’t regret it.

My Favourite Way To Relax

Either with a good book and a cup of coffee or tea, or just closing my eyes and chilling out to some music turned up loud. From time to time, I find writing a story can be relaxing for me, in a sort of cathartic way.

What are some of your favourite things from this list? I’d love to hear from you all!

14 thoughts on “My 200th Blog Post!

  1. Oh excellent post, Matt. I forgot all about my 100th post, which passed, unrecognized last week. But I’ll have to think of my favorite things now . . . perhaps I will channel Julie Andrews.

  2. I can’t possibly tell you what my favourite book is because so many of them are special in many different ways.

    Favourite film – I love Scent of a Woman even though I happily admit it’s corny.

    Yes Billy Connolly would be up there with favourite comedians but Mike Harding who has now gone rather serious made me laugh until I was begging for it to stop when I saw him many years ago.

    Favourite food – oh dear I’m too much of a hog to have a favourite though Slow Braised leeks with Parpadelle is pretty well up.

    I find it hard to relax but a good book has got to be the best way, especially if I am sitting in the garden under the trees.

    Congratulations on your 200th post

  3. Once again, I must commend you on your great taste! Abbey Road, Monty Python, and chicken parmesan! Have you seen The Ruttles? It combines Monty Python AND The Beatles, so it is full of win 🙂

    • Why thank you!
      And yes I have seen The Rutles, only recently though (within the last year at a guess). I bought it on DVD years ago and then forgot to watch it, but I loved it when I did finally get around to it. It is the perfect blend of two of my favourite things, and Eric Idle is just brilliant in it. I do find it interesting that most people credit This Is Spinal Tap as being the original rock mockumentary, and while I love that film too, The Rutles pre-dates it by several years. 😛

  4. I need to visit The Dove. Congrats on 200 posts. I have to admit I haven’t seen too many of your favorite TV shows. I agree, Catch 22 is one of the best books. I have to reread it for my 1001 challenge and I’m looking forward to it. It’s brilliant is you ask me.

  5. After reading your posts praising ‘Catch 22’, I grabbed a copy at a used book sale recently but haven’t jumped into it quite yet.

    I approve of your favourite album and movie – both wonderful classics (just like me, lol!) and Billy Connoly is hysterical!

    Ironically enough, we had Chicken Parmegiana for dinner last night!

    I would love to visit both pubs you mentioned simply because it means I’d get to vacation in both Australia and the British Isles!

    While I love a good British comedy, I’m not all that crazy about the US comedies. I’d much prefer to watch a good police or forensics drama.

    That Mountaintop Oolong Tea sounds intriguing. I will have to try it sometime, maybe after my own tea cupboard selection grows slim. (And yes, I do have a whole cupboard dedicated to teas!)

    While, lately, I haven’t had all that much time to sit by myself and read a good book with my tea or coffee nearby, that is a wonderful way to relax.

    Thanks for sharing your favourite things and congrats on reaching 200 posts! Thinking back, I was going to do something for mine, but time escaped, I had other things to blog about and promptly forgot to do so – maybe for my 300th! 🙂

    • Funnily enough, a friend of mine who is teaching Catch-22 finally read it, and although she liked it she didn’t love it like I (and, funnily enough, many of her students) seem to love it.
      I love that you have a whole cupboard dedicated to teas! I have a whole shelf, I must admit, but a cupboard is something else!
      Thank you, and thanks for your continual support – it means a lot! 🙂

What do you think?

