Sunday Sounds #6

High Highs EPHigh Highs (EP) by High Highs

Somehow I’ve only just discovered this Aussie duo now, and I don’t know why it took me so long. Much of the world discovered them due to their song Open Season, which appeared on the film Pitch Perfect, and which is from this five track EP (although it appears wrongly labelled on the actual disc, which was confusing for a moment when looking up the clips on Youtube). The duo were based in Sydney although apparently have since relocated to New York, and this is a great little sampling of their song writing – sweet folk-oriented pop songs making use of great singing and catchy melodies, while overall sounding very quiet and soft. The song Open Season has sold me on its own, and the official video for it is really quite nice in its own way. A band I’ll be looking out for!

AscentAscent by Six Organs Of Admittance

This album is the latest work by this eclectic folk band, essentially the work of guitarist Ben Chasny. While their albums are often folky at their core, the instrumentation is experimental, with the songs often drifting through odd instrumental meditations and less conventional sounding songs. This latest album makes an obvious nod toward a certain kind of 70s sound, particularly the psychedelic and prog-rock music from that period, and the space themed album cover suits the style of music almost perfectly. The song I’ve included is the opening track Waswasa, which is noticeably more rock-oriented than their normal stuff (though don’t worry if you’re a long time fan, there’s still plenty of quieter songs on here as well).

OddfellowsOddfellows by Tomahawk

Tomahawk are a quirky metal/rock supergroup, featuring Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mr Bungle, etc), Duane Denison (The Jesus Lizard), John Stanier (Helmet) and Trevor Dunn (Mr Bungle, etc). Oddfellows is their fourth album, and is full of energetic songs that are all just a little bit strange in their own ways. Patton’s vocals range from dark and husky to the soaring vocals known from some of his more pop-oriented song writing, which adds a lot of layers to the album. I must confess, my favourite song is the single Stone Letter, which is also one of the cleanest and least heavy sounding songs on it. This album is hit and miss, and definitely isn’t for everyone, but if you’re a fan of Patton, or if you’re looking for something different and don’t mind music a little bit heavier, this might be for you! I also happen to be seeing these guys at a music festival next weekend, and I suspect they’ll be pretty good on stage. Anyway, here’s the clip for Stone Letter:

What have you been listening to this last week? 

8 thoughts on “Sunday Sounds #6

  1. As I’m sure you’d have guessed I’m really liking the sound of High Highs! Even the dreamy cover caught my imagination 🙂 I have to say though that I really liked Tomahawk, but I think Oddfellows is my favourite so far.. this is the kind of music though that I only listen to when I’m in certain moods. I have yet to decide about SOOA’s music.. I like it but have yet to listen some more to it 🙂 Great post this week!

    • Yep, when I said there was a band you’d really like on this post, it was the High Highs in particular I was thinking of – I look forward to seeing what they have to offer in the future! 🙂 Glad you liked them!
      Oh so you’ve listened to Tomahawk before, in your younger years? Yeah, I’m the same, I have to be in the mood for this kind of music generally.
      SOOA are an interesting band, I think you would like their stuff though. Listen to an older album of their, “Luminous Nights” – I think that would be more up your alley.
      Thanks 🙂

    • Ah awesome, thanks! 🙂
      They’re a great band, and they have a ridiculous amount of albums (about 20 to 30 over the last 15 years). I only have three, this one, Asleep On The Floodplain, and Luminous Nights, the latter two of which are both a bit folkier but still very unusual sounding. One of those bands I discovered by accident – I saw one of their albums once in a shop, liked the cover art and liked the name of the band even more, and just took a complete gamble without hearing them first. It paid off, it seems! 😉

  2. I really enjoyed Open Season’s folksy quality, a much more gentle type of music to Six Organs of Admission & Tomahawk, both of which were reminiscent of the type of music from my youth. 🙂

    • It’s funny, I have been trying lately to mix up my music posts so that they’re not just three bands who all sound the same (especially considering my tastes can be quite eclectic). I think this particular week the three bands sounded pretty different. Sadly, Tomahawk ended up being quite disappointing when I saw them live on the weekend, but at least it was at a festival with other good music.

What do you think?

