Soundwave Sounds

This post is called Soundwave Sounds for two reasons. Firstly, it’s not Sunday, so that usual title for my music posts isn’t really appropriate. Secondly, I went to an awesome music festival yesterday called Soundwave, which travels through many of the capital cities of Australia, and spent 12 hours enjoying some of the world’s best and loudest metal, punk and alternative bands with some 75000 other people. Here are just some of the bands I saw (well, one I didn’t see, but I’ll explain that in a while):

Flogging Molly

The brilliant Irish folk-punk band were surprisingly a show stealer yesterday. Not “surprisingly” because of who they are – they are incredibly talented and have scored a wealth of fans around the world. “Surprisingly” because, alongside several other bands, their instruments didn’t turn up courtesy of floods blocking trucks from coming through (gotta love Australia – always on fire or under water). As a result, they were forced to play a shortened acoustic set on the spot, and while they only churned out half a dozen songs, they sure got the crowd enjoying themselves. If you’ve never heard these guys you are missing out – they have to be one of the most fun bands ever. Check out one of their most well known songs, “Drunken Lullabies”, here (it takes a few seconds for the music to start):

The Offspring

Sadly, The Offspring were one of the bands who I really wanted to see, but couldn’t due to clashes with other bands. While many know these pop-punks for their late 90s hits such as “Pretty Fly For A White Guy”, there’s a lot of us who prefer their slightly older, more rock and punk oriented stuff, from albums Ignition, Smash and Ixnay On The Hombre. My favourite song off the latter of these three albums is “Gone Away”, which is perhaps one of the most serious songs they ever released, so I’ve included the clip for this one here:

Metallica

Metallica were the headlining act of Soundwave, playing for over 2 hours in some of the biggest stadiums in the country. They were full of energy and kept the crowd wanting more the entire time, as they roared through a setlist mostly comprised of their older albums, particularly Ride The Lightning, Master of Puppets and their self-titled album (better known as the Black album). While I haven’t found any decent footage of their show last night, I did find a good live version of their song “Master of Puppets” from a few years ago, which shows just how into these concerts their crowds can get (even if you don’t like this kind of music it’s worth hearing the whole song out, for both the awesome guitar solos, and just seeing the energy of the audience rise right to the very end of the song (I might also add that their performance last night was at least a hundred times better than this one)):

Have you seen any of these bands? What’s your favourite concert experiences?

2 thoughts on “Soundwave Sounds

  1. Flogging Molly sounds very much like a local band called ‘The Dust Rhinos’, with that raunchy, toe-tapping Irish feel. 🙂

    I didn’t think I’d be able to see The Offspring’s video as it seemed to take forever to load. While their name didn’t ring a bell for me, listening to their song, I am sure I’ve heard it before, either here in one of your previous music posts or maybe as background to one of the shows we watch (CSI New York, perhaps?).

    Metallica is a familiar band. While it’s not one I’d consider for easy listening, their tunes are good for those times when I need a lot of energy – like when I’m cleaning the house!

    • There is just something about Irish-sounding music that makes you smile, isn’t there? 😛
      I don’t think I’ve mentioned The Offspring before on my blog? I used to listen to them a lot as a child though, so it’s been fun to listen to them again after all these years.
      Metallica are definitely not a band to relax to, but they’re fun to work out to and to run around just generally being energetic too, as you say! 🙂

What do you think?

