Sunday Sounds #7

The World WarriorsThe World Warriors by Velociraptor

Velociraptor are an awesome garage-pop band from Brisbane, largely inspired by the sixties music scene. They take their love for times past one step further with this 8 song EP, with its clear 80s arcade-game themed cover art, not to mention this theme transferring into the video clips they’ve made for several songs off this short album. There’s a lot of energy here, and considering they’ve gone from a 3 piece to a 12 piece band, I can safely assume they would be amazing live. The song I’m including is a fun clip called “Riot” – even if you don’t like the music, it’s hard not to enjoy the film clip:

My Head Is An AnimalMy Head Is An Animal by Of Monsters And Men

I’m not entirely sure if I even need to introduce these guys, considering their enormous success over the past year around the world (the clip I’m posting up has 50 million views on Youtube, to give you some clue as to the size of their popularity). The folk/pop/rock band from Iceland released an album that is at once catchy and quite intelligent, rarely becoming repetitive throughout (something which is an issue with some of these newer folk bands, not naming any names (oh okay, Mumford & Sons. There, I said it)). They have an enormous following in Australia, gaining number one status with their album, and almost topping the Triple J Hottest 100 list for last year (they came second). Their biggest single, “Little Talks”, has a pretty cool clip too:

Variations On A DreamVariations On A Dream by The Pineapple Thief

Those who read my list of favourite albums from 2012 will remember me mentioning these guys then with their latest album. Variations, however, is one of their oldest albums, initially released in 2003. At this point their sound was much more progressive, and a lot less hard rock, with several songs on the album hovering between five and ten minutes in length, slowly building layer upon layer. There is something similar through all their albums though in the way that the songs are written, and there is always a certain beauty to them which has drawn me in (this was the first album of theirs I heard, and I was an instant fan). This song, “Part Zero”, while showing their influences quite clearly, is a good example of how the album sounds on the whole:

What have you been listening to this week? What do you think of the albums on my playlist this last few days?

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sounds #7

  1. The first clip was definitely a ‘riot’! lol I loved their special effects. 🙂

    The snowy scenes in the next clip will give you an idea what the weather is like here, today. (rather blustery!) 🙂 It, too, has a video game feel to it.

    While the first two songs were very peppy, Pineapple Thief has a very different sound to it. The beginning was much more laid-back with an almost sad quality, but the bursts of notes part way through certainly wakes things up a bit and the beat picks up to where I was bopping my head a bit in time. 🙂

    • There’s nothing like a low budget to bring out creativity in people – that’s what I find myself thinking when I look at a lot of Velociraptor’s clips. 😛
      The Pineapple Thief is definitely quite different to the first two bands I mentioned, and they fit in with these sort of more recent prog rock bands such as Porcupine Tree, Anathema, Amplifier and so on, who all take various cues from 70s prog rock such as Pink Floyd, King Crimson and so on. I just like it – it’s clever, thinking music, but still with feeling. 🙂

What do you think?

