NaPoWriMo 2013: Week One Round-up

NaPoWriMo 2013I was off to a smashing start for this year’s NaPoWriMo, in which I write 30 poems in 30 days. The 1st of April was a public holiday for us in Australia, and so I had the whole day to run around getting various things done and still have time to write my first poem for the month. I wrote it quickly and with ease, a series of haiku ending in a senryu, and while I’m not overly keen on sharing it on here, I was fairly happy with it for the first poem I had written in some time.

Then the 2nd of April came along. The 3rd and 4th quickly followed, the 5th whooshed by, and the 6th snuck past me while my eyes were closed mid-sneeze (I’m a violent sneezer – I once sneezed so hard while standing up that I fell back into a chair. And by ‘once’ I mean it happens all the time).

But today, on the 7th of April, I woke up…feeling pretty awful actually. But anyway, fast forward to this afternoon, and I decided now was the time to catch up on this poetry, before it really is too late. And so I picked up the little writing pad I’m using for NaPoWriMo this year, and a pen, and I started scribbling down some poems, until a couple of hours later I was suddenly caught up (much to my own surprise).

The poem for day 2 was just a simple, quick haiku about a wintry day by the sea. Day 3 was a longer, free form poem about how life can feel like it is speeding away at its own pace and there’s nothing you can do but run along with it and see what happens (a feeling that I’m sure we all get from time to time). Day 4 was a silly limerick about a drunkard. Day 5 was inspired by a wedding I went to on that day. Day 6 was a villanelle for and about my girlfriend (and she will be the only one who will ever see/hear it), and today’s poem was a series of six haiku that were all vaguely based on some record breaking hot days from this summer that has just ended here in Australia.

So I’m all caught up, and ready to fall behind by a week again. But luckily I have one more week of teaching and then the kidlets (well…teenagers, they’re hardly kidlets) go on holidays for a couple of weeks, so I’ll have plenty of time for poetry writing later in the month.

For my fellow NaPoWriMoers, how are you going? What about those of you doing other writing endeavours such as Camp NaNo? I would love to hear from you all!

13 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2013: Week One Round-up

  1. Sounds like a fun afternoon. I had to complete a poetry module in the first year of my BA and while it was a lot of fun I don’t think poetry is my bag. I kept thinking how Wordsworth et al probably didn’t sit at their kitchen table, looking visibly pained, with their fingers in the air counting off syllables. I guess I’m just a prose kinda gal.

    • Ah yes, I did a couple of poetry units in my BA as well, and then I did another one in my post-grad creative writing course (that I never finished because I switched to a Masters of Teaching halfway through). The ones in my BA sort of put me off poetry too, but the lecturer I had in my post grad course was both lovely and also a published poet, and I found he gave me the right advice to help me not only gain confidence in writing poetry but also to enjoy it.
      It’s funny how you mention the counting syllables thing – I find with both the haiku and the limerick, I’ve written so many I seem to feel them more than count them now, especially the limerick which has a musical quality about it. But writing in poetic forms can be tedious – I remember a quote I’ve read somewhere, along the lines of “This morning I took a comma out of the poem. This afternoon I put it back in”…I think this sums up the process pretty well sometimes.
      I like poetry when I’m in the mood, but I definitely feel more natural with prose, so I know what you mean! πŸ™‚

      • One module isn’t enough to really get the hang of writing poetry and I know I didn’t give it enough of a chance, but I think it does make an excellent hobby and I may well have another go at it some day for my own amusement. It is certainly one of the most immediate and enjoyable ways to get in touch with one’s creativity, and I’ve always thought that poetry is the second greatest way to access what another person is feeling – after music.

        • That’s a good way of looking at it – it really is a very cathartic creative form, much like music. I think I enjoy writing poetry more since I stopped studying it on an academic level, so maybe you might find the same one day! πŸ™‚

    • Ahh awesome! Well, if you’ve done it once, you can do it again! I regularly let myself fall a week behind every time I attempt NaNoWriMo – last year I didn’t (as in, I kept up consistently) and I was bored and my story was rubbish. So I dare say it’s good to fall behind! πŸ˜‰

  2. I’d love to participate in NaPoWriMo again. I managed the whole ’30 poems in 30 days’ challenge on my first try, but I had much free time on my hands back then. I was happy about it, even if I had unintentionally skewed the formats of the pantoum and villanelle (I tried). I’m afraid school has completely shot my creative side, so I haven’t a single thing for over two years. But some day, maybe…

    Good thing you were able to catch up on all your poetry count. I know that can be a daunting task sometimes, especially if writer’s block shows up — ick! Have a fun time NaPoWriMo-ing! (:

    • Sometimes there’s nothing wrong with tinkering with the formats – just pretend it was intentional hahaha! I do know how you feel though – I found uni drained me creatively for many years. Teaching tires me a lot and eats up my time and energy, but I still just find time to write, maybe out of desperation to keep it up! πŸ˜›
      I find I work better under pressure – I never really get writer’s block and if I do it’s because I have no pressure or motivation to finish whatever I am creating. Although you’re right, it can be quite daunting to have to catch up like that. But I kind of like the challenge πŸ™‚
      I hope you eventually get back into writing poetry, there really is no feeling quite like it! πŸ™‚

  3. A villanelle? Impressive! I’ve chosen to post poeticals everyday during National Poetry Month. I miss their April Script Frenzy where I would write a script; poetry is always a part of my writing. Happy break– just returning from mine.

    • Thank you! Personally I love villanelles – it’s my favourite poetic form!
      I know, I tried Script Frenzy 2 years ago and loved it. I was saddened when they stopped doing it officially, though I suppose they’ve kind of covered it with Camp Nano. I would like to attempt a script again actually sometime soon.
      Thanks, I will enjoy my break…if I can survive the rest of this week πŸ˜›

  4. Pingback: Oops I did it again…, or, The Procrastinator returneth (another NaPoWriMo update) | Wanton Creation

What do you think?

